We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Gecko Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hazyview
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gecko Backpackers
Gibbston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very convivial and pleasant place to camp. Good showers, excellent and well-equipped kitchen, nice location in luxuriant vegetation. Very friendly staff. Nice area for camping in the vegetation. Close to, but just out of Hazyview (first camping place you reach on the road back to Sabie).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We, a fam. of 5 from CH, stayed 2 nights and we can recommend it to any fam. It's budget, it's clean, it's close to many great "things to do" and when we were there the new owners just took over since 6 days. We loved the proposed "braai", the ease of phase and how easy things where to organise or how easy it was to get information about the surroundings. Also, great kitchen, everything we needed was there. All the best, we will try to drop by again.

Room Tip: The fam room for 5 is next to the biliart/outside terras. When we said that we wanted to sleep at 22...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blub d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The only good thing about this location is it's location, as it is close to Kruger.

When we arrived we met the replacing owner, as the actual owner of the place was in another country for the time being. We picked this place because we needed something close to the Kruger gate so that we could get up early in the morning and head on into the park.

Unfortunately the replacing owner decided to have a very (!) loud party (very loud music, I'm not kidding) that night with a couple of friends (and maybe a guest or 2). Even with noise-cancelling earplugs in the sound was too loud to sleep through, until deep in the night.

Besides that the beds were very uncomfortable and the male shower area had no lights (at least we couldn't find it).

Finally the beers at the bar (with the music) was way overpriced and fluctuated every half hour.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
227 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a typical Southern Africa type backpackers and a good base to visit the Kruger National Park and surrounds at a reasonable price. Younger independent travellers looking for company should be very happy here. However, those looking for luxury and privacy in nature will probably not enjoy it.

The lay out reflects organic growth and access to rooms will be difficult for people having difficulty walking and dealing with stairs.

A pleasant atmosphere and friendly management. Camping ground is very nice.

Room Tip: The quality of the rooms follows the prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertusJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

When we could not find campsites in Kruger we googled nearby communities and found Bush packers in Hazy view. This old estate has a Robinson Crusoe feel, and the grounds are like a botanical garden. The manager did a great job advising us on where to find what in the Hazy view area, and made the evenings fun and inviting. We camped in our tent and cooked in the backpacker kitchen, but meals were also available. One morning we could see monkeys in the trees above the main house, which was great as we enjoyed breakfast! We got up early another morning and drove the twenty or so minutes to Kruger, checked in at the gate, and saw a lion on a kill and wild dogs ! We'll be back on our next trip to Kruger area for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malonetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gecko Lodge
Gecko Lodge
#10 of 40 in Hazyview
188 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macker Riverbend Cottages
Macker Riverbend Cottages
#17 of 40 in Hazyview
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Backpackers

Property: Gecko Backpackers
Address: R536 Plot S13, Sabie Road | Kiepersol, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing