We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unpleasant accommodotation with dirty beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lions Rock Golf Lodge
Ranked #10 of 20 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most unpleasant accommodotation with dirty beds”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

First of all I must say, we have stayed in several dirty and unpleasant places in our lives before, but it was cheap and we knew for what we paid for. This time it was over expensive and extremely poorly maintained.

My family and I (with kid) decided have a luxury holiday and selected two venues for Easter weekend (28-30 April). 4 nights in 2 hotels around Kruger Park was enough. First 2 nights was in Lion Rock Golf Lodge.
We were only 30 minutes early and they said we cannot check in to the room as it was still being CLEANED. Its ok, we can wait... but payment the owner required settlement of right away even without us seeing the room. We paid in full and waited for check in. The invoice and keys was not given to us (I don’t why??), but finally the owner allowed us to have a rest in the room. And we felt more at ease.

First impression when I went to the room: was bad dead smell, poor old furniture, dirty room with granny style design, old dirty curtains, cheap carpets, old bed and poorly maintained bathroom. Where is my Luxury room which I paid R3,600 for 2 nights? This was not a 4* star Luxury, as they advertise, it barely 2* room! The kitchen in the room was so dirty and had such a bad smell that I could not stay inside. I looked around the Lodge for some better available rooms. I don’t mind paying double, but I can not sleep in a dirty place.

Finally the owner woman saw me outside and asked if she could help. “Yes you can, please do you have available a better room?”. She was extremely surprised that I asked for this. We went to the room and she started shouting at me in front of my husband and kid, that I have bad taste and don’t understand that this is LUXURY, and I have bad manners for asking something better for myself! She was continuously screaming at me and started acting: she was copying how I walk and how I wave to her (she mention that I waved to her like to the maid, when asking her to come inside the chalet). She started shouting at my husband and that time I also started losing my temper. Why someone would shout at me? Do I pay for this as well? I just wanted, if not LUXURY just at least a clean room!
I started to look closely at this room, maybe I really don’t understand about LUXURY??? The old tube TV was dirty and with dust, furniture absolutely dusty. When I open the bed covers there was on the sheets some fish moths running away from the bright sun light. There was sand on the bed and stains all over the bedding. Linen was not white colour, it was a GRAY colour!!!
Our bedding was not change and room never replace! I surprise how this people get their 4*. I never had been staid in such horrible place in SA! It was terrible Easter Weekends!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julialex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    3
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at Lions Rock in April 2013 for 4nights and would like to inform travellers that we really enjoyed our stay. The host Bruce & Marion been so friendly and helpful and we loved the breakfast each morning specially the fresh croissants! Our room was very clean and acceptable, comfortable bed and linen with a luxury spa bath & separate shower in the bathroom. We also had our own private sparkling swimming pool. Looking forward to stay at Lions Rock soon and definitely for more than 4nights!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RecpLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Thank you Marion and Bruce for a wonderful stay at your lovely lodge. Thanks for being such good people and thanks for making our stay as comfortable as possible.We will be back sooner than you thought.
Francois and Elmarie Bester.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I decided to 'treat' ourselves with a night in Hazyview following a couple of days in the bush in Hoedspruit. We found this establishment on Where to Stay and chose it due to the '4 star rating'. What a disapointment. We were in the "Honeymoon suite". In summary - OLD decor (looks like the owners decided to move all their old furniture that they don't want anymore into this room), Bedding VERY old fashioned (who doesn't know that the standard for bedding is white and duvets - NOT A BEDSPREAD), 'spa bath' which is so old an dirty I didn't touch it, no toilet paper, and to top it all, no extra blankets. Breakfast was included, but we could not get ourselves to eat as we were scared what we'll get. I wouldn't pay R250 a night to stay and they charged R1,500!!! Marion, you should be ashamed of yourself

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We last stayed at Lions Rock in May 2012, having stayed several times over the last few years and have never been disappointed.

The accommodation is excellent, clean, very spacious with wonderful views and excellent value.

The location is only 20 minutes drive to Phabeni Gate and handily placed for the scenic panoramic route.

Marion and Bruce are very friendly, will help with suggestions of places to visit or recommend places to eat etc if required but will leave you alone if that’s what you prefer.

Probably the best thing about Lions Rock is that it is one of those places you will have to go back to – and we will!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We have stayed at the Lions Rock Golf Lodge on 4 occassions during the past 3 years. The lodge is ideally situated close to the shopping Centre in which our stores are situated - close to work. The cottages are tastefully decorated and fully equiped to meet our self-catering needs. The view from the Lodge is spectacular even though we are only at the Lodge early in the mornings and late at night. The private splash pool with every cottage is so ideal especially in the hot summers. There is no need to worry about sharing a pool with other visitors allowing you to relax on your own. The reception at the Lodge is always warm and friendly. Marion and Bruce are friendly and kind people and always go far beyond the extra mile to make their guests feel welcomed and at home. A complimentary breakfast basket was available in our rooms every morning even though we were only charged bed only rates. We will most definately make use of the Lodge in the future. The Lodge is definately a home away from home. Warm regards Mandi de Sousa, Maggie Viviers and Lorraine Simango

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi-Leigh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

My wife and I, along with two friends, were driven into Lions Rock Golf Lodge by our tour operator's representative just after 8pm one evening after a day of travelling from Victoria Falls. Tired and hungry our hosts not only phoned a nearby bar to ask them to keep the kitchen open but drove us to it and collected us later. Our hire car wasn't due till the morning.

Bruce and Marion Robertson were excellent hosts during our whole 5 nights stay. Varied and sumptuous breakfasts were enjoyed each day that would happily have graced a 5 star establishment. Sadly, bed and breakfast only at Lions Rock but that meant that we could go out every night to dine at a different restaurant, again kindly booked by our hosts. They also booked our night safari at the nearby Kruger National Park.

Lions Rock sits on the hillside overlooking the Sabie River valley with distant views to Kruger, about 20 minutes drive to the nearest gate. Each lodge is spacious and well appointed with its own modest swimming pool adjoining the patio. Very welcome for cooling down after a day in the heat, or just lazing around to admire the views.

There's lots to do in the area, be it a game drive in Kruger, or local sanctuaries, or visiting some of the dramatic scenery such as can be found in the Blyde River Canyon with its many waterfalls. Perrys Bridge and Hazyview are about 5 minutes drive away and there are plenty of hotels, restaurants and bars there, as well as closer to the lodge.

The nine hole par three golf course has short and long holes to challenge you. The greens still need some work but it was a useful loosener before we headed off for Sun City.

At the end of our stay we were all sad to be leaving Lions Rock but delighted that our Internet research had discovered it amongst the many possible lodges in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kestrel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.3 mi away
Kruger Adventure Lodge
Kruger Adventure Lodge
#25 of 40 in Hazyview
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bush Baby Glen
Bush Baby Glen
#9 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 20 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.5 mi away
Laughing Waters Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Rock Golf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Rock Golf Lodge

Property: Lions Rock Golf Lodge
Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lions Rock Golf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 28 hectares,4 Stars, TGCSA - B&B,on the main road, Lions Rock is set amongst the mountains of Hazyview, with the Sabie River running through to Kruger National Park.Luxurious chalets, each with private swimming pools, spa baths,spacious showers, king beds,kitchenette, bar-fridge, microwave, tea/coffee,TV/DSTV, comfy lounge area and veranda with views of Sunrise or Sunset. Parking at chalets. Rates include a delicious breakfast, golf on the 9 hole par 3 Mashy Golf Course. Viewing Sport and Movies in the Theatre Room, by appointment. Massages are available, and assistance with reservations for dinners - nearby, plus Kruger National Park, Panorama Route and Adventure Activities/Elephant Whispers and much more. Many eateries nearby for dinners.Chalet options are Twin Beds, King beds, and LION KING CHALET with loft room sleeps 2 adults + 2 children. Two of the king chalets sleep 2 adults plus 1 single. Children 7 years plus.Tranquil walks down to the Lions Rock River Rapids and fishing in the dams - bring own tackle. Peaceful and relaxing 'Getaway'. Choose the Lions Share! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lions Rock Golf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing