We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lions Rock Golf Lodge
Ranked #11 of 22 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lucky for us”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Thank Heavens we ignored the nasty reviews and decided to visit Lions Rock for ourselves.Critique, when constructive, good or bad can be and is helpful to both owners and potential visitors, but vicious and seemingly vindictive remarks are both unhelpful and frankly pointless. We found the chalets spacious, spotlessly clean and well furnished, with nice clean linen and comfortable beds. The spa bath and separate shower a pleasant feature. All areas have tiled floors and nice bright rugs.The setting is peaceful, picturesque and very private. Marion & Bruce, we found delightful hosts,both extremely helpful and very friendly. It is refreshing to find hosts who believe in "service with a smile" and ensure it put before profit. Marion and Bruce's combined efforts for the fabulous breakfasts would befit any 4 star establishment world wide. Nothing was too much trouble for Marion & Bruce through out our stay, even to the point of arranging travel and booking of the local restaurant and also ensuring our last nights BBQ went without a hitch. Our friends had the "Bridal Chalet" which was exactly as pictured as was ours, both excellent. Finally, Bruce made their cinema room and bar available for us in the evening, what a star.
Our only regret is that we could not stay longer, as our return flights loomed too soon.
We will return to Lions Rock as both the chalets along with Marion & Bruce ended our holiday on a high.
Good times were had here, a BIG thank you Marion & Bruce
Daphne & Bob Spain

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    3
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

First of all I must say, we have stayed in several dirty and unpleasant places in our lives before, but it was cheap and we knew for what we paid for. This time it was over expensive and extremely poorly maintained.

My family and I (with kid) decided have a luxury holiday and selected two venues for Easter weekend (28-30 April). 4 nights in 2 hotels around Kruger Park was enough. First 2 nights was in Lion Rock Golf Lodge.
We were only 30 minutes early and they said we cannot check in to the room as it was still being CLEANED. Its ok, we can wait... but payment the owner required settlement of right away even without us seeing the room. We paid in full and waited for check in. The invoice and keys was not given to us (I don’t why??), but finally the owner allowed us to have a rest in the room. And we felt more at ease.

First impression when I went to the room: was bad dead smell, poor old furniture, dirty room with granny style design, old dirty curtains, cheap carpets, old bed and poorly maintained bathroom. Where is my Luxury room which I paid R3,600 for 2 nights? This was not a 4* star Luxury, as they advertise, it barely 2* room! The kitchen in the room was so dirty and had such a bad smell that I could not stay inside. I looked around the Lodge for some better available rooms. I don’t mind paying double, but I can not sleep in a dirty place.

Finally the owner woman saw me outside and asked if she could help. “Yes you can, please do you have available a better room?”. She was extremely surprised that I asked for this. We went to the room and she started shouting at me in front of my husband and kid, that I have bad taste and don’t understand that this is LUXURY, and I have bad manners for asking something better for myself! She was continuously screaming at me and started acting: she was copying how I walk and how I wave to her (she mention that I waved to her like to the maid, when asking her to come inside the chalet). She started shouting at my husband and that time I also started losing my temper. Why someone would shout at me? Do I pay for this as well? I just wanted, if not LUXURY just at least a clean room!
I started to look closely at this room, maybe I really don’t understand about LUXURY??? The old tube TV was dirty and with dust, furniture absolutely dusty. When I open the bed covers there was on the sheets some fish moths running away from the bright sun light. There was sand on the bed and stains all over the bedding. Linen was not white colour, it was a GRAY colour!!!
Our bedding was not change and room never replace! I surprise how this people get their 4*. I never had been staid in such horrible place in SA! It was terrible Easter Weekends!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julialex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at Lions Rock in April 2013 for 4nights and would like to inform travellers that we really enjoyed our stay. The host Bruce & Marion been so friendly and helpful and we loved the breakfast each morning specially the fresh croissants! Our room was very clean and acceptable, comfortable bed and linen with a luxury spa bath & separate shower in the bathroom. We also had our own private sparkling swimming pool. Looking forward to stay at Lions Rock soon and definitely for more than 4nights!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RecpLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Thank you Marion and Bruce for a wonderful stay at your lovely lodge. Thanks for being such good people and thanks for making our stay as comfortable as possible.We will be back sooner than you thought.
Francois and Elmarie Bester.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I decided to 'treat' ourselves with a night in Hazyview following a couple of days in the bush in Hoedspruit. We found this establishment on Where to Stay and chose it due to the '4 star rating'. What a disapointment. We were in the "Honeymoon suite". In summary - OLD decor (looks like the owners decided to move all their old furniture that they don't want anymore into this room), Bedding VERY old fashioned (who doesn't know that the standard for bedding is white and duvets - NOT A BEDSPREAD), 'spa bath' which is so old an dirty I didn't touch it, no toilet paper, and to top it all, no extra blankets. Breakfast was included, but we could not get ourselves to eat as we were scared what we'll get. I wouldn't pay R250 a night to stay and they charged R1,500!!! Marion, you should be ashamed of yourself

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We last stayed at Lions Rock in May 2012, having stayed several times over the last few years and have never been disappointed.

The accommodation is excellent, clean, very spacious with wonderful views and excellent value.

The location is only 20 minutes drive to Phabeni Gate and handily placed for the scenic panoramic route.

Marion and Bruce are very friendly, will help with suggestions of places to visit or recommend places to eat etc if required but will leave you alone if that’s what you prefer.

Probably the best thing about Lions Rock is that it is one of those places you will have to go back to – and we will!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We have stayed at the Lions Rock Golf Lodge on 4 occassions during the past 3 years. The lodge is ideally situated close to the shopping Centre in which our stores are situated - close to work. The cottages are tastefully decorated and fully equiped to meet our self-catering needs. The view from the Lodge is spectacular even though we are only at the Lodge early in the mornings and late at night. The private splash pool with every cottage is so ideal especially in the hot summers. There is no need to worry about sharing a pool with other visitors allowing you to relax on your own. The reception at the Lodge is always warm and friendly. Marion and Bruce are friendly and kind people and always go far beyond the extra mile to make their guests feel welcomed and at home. A complimentary breakfast basket was available in our rooms every morning even though we were only charged bed only rates. We will most definately make use of the Lodge in the future. The Lodge is definately a home away from home. Warm regards Mandi de Sousa, Maggie Viviers and Lorraine Simango

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi-Leigh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
837 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 22 in Hazyview
187 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Rock Golf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Rock Golf Lodge

Property: Lions Rock Golf Lodge
Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lions Rock Golf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 28 hectares,4 Stars, TGCSA - B&B,on the main road, Lions Rock is set amongst the mountains of Hazyview, with the Sabie River running through to Kruger National Park.Luxurious chalets, each with private swimming pools, spa baths,spacious showers, king beds,kitchenette, bar-fridge, microwave, tea/coffee,TV/DSTV, comfy lounge area and veranda with views of Sunrise or Sunset. Parking at chalets. Rates include a delicious breakfast, golf on the 9 hole par 3 Mashy Golf Course. Viewing Sport and Movies in the Theatre Room, by appointment. Massages are available, and assistance with reservations for dinners - nearby, plus Kruger National Park, Panorama Route and Adventure Activities/Elephant Whispers and much more. Many eateries nearby for dinners.Chalet options are Twin Beds, King beds, and LION KING CHALET with loft room sleeps 2 adults + 2 children. Two of the king chalets sleep 2 adults plus 1 single. Children 7 years plus.Tranquil walks down to the Lions Rock River Rapids and fishing in the dams - bring own tackle. Peaceful and relaxing 'Getaway'. Choose the Lions Share! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lions Rock Golf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing