We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Both Worlds: Tranquility and Activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Cuckoo Ridge, located at the picturesque Sabie Valley, offers a choice between staying indoors to enjoy the beauty, at literaly, your door step or partaking in the many nearby activities. Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Clement M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

One of the most amazing venues we have ever stayed at! The accommodation was immaculate.... beautiful airconditioned rooms with a lovely big bathroom, well stocked mini bar & the best part the breakfast / pool area! Thanx so much to Joan and her friendly staff for a very pleasant stay, we will definately be back soon

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I cannot think of anything to complain about. It was better than home from home. From the furnishing to the mini bar at Paradise, to the wonderful owner and staff. I will not hesitate to return. 150 %

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

"Bed & Breakfast" does not really describe the experience of staying with Joan and Alan at Cuckoo Ridge. From the time we arrived we were treated as valued guests and our comfort mattered very much to them. The rooms had everything you would need for a comfortable stay, the pool was great for a dip after a day's sightseeing and the breakfast on the terrace each morning a real pleasure. Joan and Alan take great pride in their garden and are hapy for guests to share the wonderful space they have at Cuckoo Ridge. We arrived as guests and felt that we left as friends. South African hospitality at its very best.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank budgieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Its rare to get the best of everything in life - but I have to say Cuckoo Ridge is one of those rare places. My fiance and I spent 6 days there and it was no doubt the best accommodation choice we made. The scenic view, the sense of tranquility, excellent service from the owners and staff, and the delicious packed breakfast, made staying at Cuckoo Ridge one of the best highlights of our holiday. Thank you Alan and Joan! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabin and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Booked into Cuckoo Ridge B&B as a gateway sleepover to the Kruger Park. As all travellers know, it is such a lovely feeling to be pleasantly suprised or 'over-whelmed' when you arrive at your accomodation. Cuckoo Ridge host greeted us warmly, showing us to our private unit consisting of large bedroom, lovely bathroom with monsoon shower and large bath and deck with a view. The amenities are modern, very clean and comfortable. Views are lovely too!

The room had ample information about local activities and Hazyview actually has a lot to over in a nearby location. There are restaurants, quality tourist shops, animal encounters and adventure activities. Unfortunately we only had time for a local restaurant - which was nice.

The complimentary breakfast was delicious - full continental and cooked breakfast served to you on the main deck with lovely views of the pool, barbecue area and well kept garden. These facilities are all free to use, of course.

In summary, this place was bliss for a travelling couple. I found it a nice change to my previous 'backpacking' grade accomodation and well worth the money.

ENJOY!

PS. It is just before Hazyview if coming from Jo'burg. Signposted and easy to find using a GPS system but if you hit the town centre, you've gone a little too far!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The place is beautiful and we had a very nice time there. We arrived during the night and were received by the owner with a very good welcome drink.

After a very good night of sleep we were "surprised" by the astonishing view of the valley during the morning. Actually it can be seen from the bed, amazing!

The rooms are really well built and wisely designed. The varandas are very private and well equipped with confortable chairs. We regret not staying longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EeGfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.4 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.4 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#4 of 25 in Hazyview
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#1 of 25 in Hazyview
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dreamfields Guesthouse
Dreamfields Guesthouse
#6 of 25 in Hazyview
234 reviews
4.2 mi away
Laughing Waters Guest House
11.9 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 41 in Hazyview
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: R536 Sabie, Hazyview Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range: £75 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Mpumalanga in the picturesque Sabie River Valley lies Cuckoo Ridge Country Bed and Breakfast where four star luxury accommodation in private tranquil settings awaits you. Large individual chalets offer privacy, luxurious appointments, King or Queen Beds, en-suite bathrooms for pampering, private lounge and a private covered deck overlooking breathtaking views of the Sabie River Valley. Only twenty kilometers from the Kruger National Park, entering through Phabeni gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing