We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High five for The Big five.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
DK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“High five for The Big five.”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What a place.....

Great rooms.
Great view.
Super staff.
Clean and nice.
Great breakfast.
Great dinner.
Close to Krüger National Park.
Great game drive, the guide find the big five on two drives.
Next time in this area, we will stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NartoursDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    179
    49
    10
    13
See reviews for
117
272
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

A delightful small camp where the staff could not be more helpful or friendly in a lovely position over looking Kruger park. We stayed in one of the luxury tents with a veranda on the edge of the Sabie river. A very relaxing place to stay and just a short drive to the gates of the Kruger park. Would not hesitate to recommend this very reasonably priced lodge.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sydneyolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2013

What a wonderful find, the setting, Service, Luxury Tents are out of this World....more than a three star est. The setting on the Sabie River is so relaxing and a perfect launch into the Kruger National Park (you look into the park) the sounds and smell of the bush at night take you too another world.....will be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Hammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here after our second day in the Kruger Park and really enjoyed the stay! We were given the non-luxury tent but for us it was more than luxus and just perfect. The bed was really comfortable and the restrooms are just behind the tent, you do not have to walk in the dark as some commented here. The food was excellent and with an amazing view to the river just 20 meters from our table we were able to see hippos! The pool is small but nice and the location of the hotel just great! Staff were very friendly and helpful! We highly recommend this location! It is also only 15 minutes from the entry to the Kruger.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Sabie River Bush lodge is well located close to the Kruger National Park. The lodge is located on the river and wildlife can be seen from the pool deck. During our stay we saw hippos, elephants and lots of birds just by sitting next to the pool with a drink in hand. The staff are extremely friendly and they even washed our car before we departed. So far all excellent. On the negative side, the food was really average: more like home cooking than what you would expect at a lodge. The rooms are nice enough and with the aircon the room was very comortable temparature wise. The lodge is also good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a tented room, make sure you book one with an en-suite bathroom (there are some rooms where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge in Kruger National Park is an amazing place. The staff of hotel,the rangers, the food and the rooms are excellent.\

I would suggest to go in October. It is not hot and you get to see a lot of animals

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arvindsaraogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We enjoyed this place set in a beautiful spot. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will recommend you certainly to other friends. Its a good place to start for the Kruger Park since the Kruger Gate is only 19 km away. We also booked a full day tour and were able to see many, many animals, among them even a leopard - however no lions. Which is a pity - we could not fulfill the big five. Our guide did his best though also by giving us a lot of interesting information. We hope to come back one day - if only to finally spot a lion...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Hi Suzzane. Thank you for your business we really appreciate it. Missing out on the Lion is defintely a good reason to return to Sabie River Bush Lodge. Thank you for the time taken to review Sabie River Bush Lodge, we always appreciate reviews as we believe that they are the best marketing tool that we have and the best learning tool.
Hope to see you and your travel partners back at Sabie River Bush Lodge, yes travel partners please bring your friends.
Regards
Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
10.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
12.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
15.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
345 reviews
12.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
479 reviews
17.0 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabie River Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabie River Bush Lodge

Property: Sabie River Bush Lodge
Address: R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabie River Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the majestic Kruger National Park lies Sabie River Bush Lodge, a bush lodge where you can "recharge your soul" and experience the African Bush. Situated a mere 19kms from the world famous Paul Kruger Gate and 13kms from Phabeni Gate, this is the place you want to be! Sitting on our raised pool deck enjoying great, friendly service and a cocktail with an African twist, one can view the BIG 5 and some of our smaller, yet beautiful, wildlife. With an extensive bird watching opportunity, there is no better place to sit back, relax and take in the natural beauty of the African Bushveld while all your needs are taken care of by our staff! Join us on a guided safari in our open vehicle into the Kruger National Park for a chance to get closer to the amazing animals the Kruger National Park boasts home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sabie River Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing