We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabie River Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

the room is certainly not luxurious, but there's not one complaint about it. it's got a very decent size, very clean. the staff is the best, extremely friendly and available since the minute you arrive. the restaurant is quite charming, facing the river. the flaw is that food is not very good, so if you want great food, eat out (but still a very friendly service). the big disappointment is the pool, looks grose in a way you don't want to go in, very dirty.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the river, and the tents are much nicer than the room (if you're willing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abobrinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    150
    43
    11
    12
See reviews for
99
239
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Located just outside Kruger, between the Paul Kruger Gate and Numbi Gate, is Sabie River Lodge. It's located at the Sabie River and at the highway, which you might hear during morning traffic, but it didn't bother us. The view from the large tents is marvelous. We stayed at Tent 4, there are only two of these luxurious tents with inside and outside showers / bathroom with a view, it has air-condition too! Both luxury tents are located next to each other but although we had neighbors we didn't hear a them, we did hear a lot of (wild) life, especially frogs during the night. We had a package deal with breakfast and dinner which was fairly good. Our last night there were some problems with a group, which caused a delay in the service. The waiters were just too polite to a group of young people from the States. Waiting for our dessert took 30 minutes, which was a bit annoying. But hence we were in Africa and things go differently, and again the staff (all of them) are very very friendly which makes it easy to forgive some slower service. Staying at the lodge (at the deck, at the pool, at our tent, walking around) was just amazing. If you're lucky the wild animals (in our case Elephants and Buffalo) just visit the river at dusk. Although we found the price of the day trip Game Drive quite steep we did enjoy it and were just with a small group (just 4 adults and a kid) which made it even better!
In total we stayed 28 days in South Africa, Sabie River Lodge was our best stay and we were lucky we had 3 nights here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gpj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Sabie River Bush Lodge is in a great location - on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the Kruger National Park, halfway between Hazyview and Paul Kruger Gate. We stayed in the river frontage tents which are located at the far end of the property overlooking the river. We had hippo and buffalo sightings during the night which was a great introduction to our week in the bush. The cost of our stay was very reasonable and included dinner and a packed breakfast. The staff were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable. Sydney in particular, provided outstanding service. I would highly recommend this lodge to people looking to escape to the bush in a luxury setting without the price tag.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbbrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

we stayed here for one day and we liked the tent very much.
staff was friendly and flexible (got the dinner at our private terasse)
tent was very clean and they do the do the very best to keep them bug and moskito-free.

just the price for dinner and breakfast are compared to the price for the night very high at average quality.

but if you serve yourself (kitchen and everything is for your promise) this location would be perfect.
we didnt spotted any animals in the river but the big game drives are not too fare away.

sum up, nice location, reminds me a bit to a camping site (toilets / shower shared with other)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whale w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of
October! We ideally wanted to stay in Kruger park but every where was booked up. We stayed in the luxury tents and it was just great! We loved the room, the food and the staff. I would highly recommend staying here! You get great views of the park without staying inside and it wasn't a long drive to and from the park each day! We really liked the outdoor shower which over looked Kruger! I would stay there again 100% we loved the luxury tents! Thanks to all the staff for making our visit great!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireyBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

As we did not want to stay inside the KNP, we booked one of the smaller units at the SRBL.
The Lodge is located ideally to the Kruger`s (about 20km before Kruger Gate) without paying the enormous rates of the Lodges inside the park. Our room was clean and tidy, maybe a bit small. Wi-fi does not work properly inside the units but people seemed to have range on the sun-deck and within the bar area. The sun-deck facing the river is amazing - really spacious and well equipped. We did not see too many animals though - Lower Sabie Rest Camp certainly has much better views, if you are after that.
Staff is very kind and helpful and the food is really good.

We enjoyed our stay and certainly did not regret not having stayed inside the park!

Room Tip: The smallest units do not face the river and are rather tiny but come at a sensible rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this establishment in July this year. Lodge management are on the ball.
We were well received and immediately felt at home. The rooms great and well maintained. We really enjoyed our meals.
The lodge is located in a beautiful area surrounded by not too far from the Kruger, and there plenty to do in the area.
All in all – we’ll be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
10.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
13.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
13.2 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
15.9 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
12.5 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabie River Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabie River Bush Lodge

Property: Sabie River Bush Lodge
Address: R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabie River Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the majestic Kruger National Park lies Sabie River Bush Lodge, a bush lodge where you can "recharge your soul" and experience the African Bush. Situated a mere 19kms from the world famous Paul Kruger Gate and 13kms from Phabeni Gate, this is the place you want to be! Sitting on our raised pool deck enjoying great, friendly service and a cocktail with an African twist, one can view the BIG 5 and some of our smaller, yet beautiful, wildlife. With an extensive bird watching opportunity, there is no better place to sit back, relax and take in the natural beauty of the African Bushveld while all your needs are taken care of by our staff! Join us on a guided safari in our open vehicle into the Kruger National Park for a chance to get closer to the amazing animals the Kruger National Park boasts home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sabie River Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing