We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High five for the big 5!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of African Safari Adventures

African Safari Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.19*
and up
Full-Day Kruger Park Open Vehicle Safari from Hazyview
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are an independent owner run tours & safaris operator offering day safaris to the Kruger National Park and scenic or cultural tours in Mpumalanga. We have been in the business since 1992 and all our guides have a minimum of 15 years experience as a field guide or game ranger. We use open safari vehicles or comfortable, air-conditioned vehicles. In addition to our day tours we also arrange escorted, tailor-made tours in the Kruger, northern Zululand, Mozambique & Swaziland or self-drive holidays anywhere in South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“High five for the big 5!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

What a safari! Within 3 hours we have seen the big 5. Was it luck? Maybe a bit, but probably the 6th sense of guide Dirk worked fine as well! Right time, right place. Black rhino, white rhino, leopard, lion, buffalo, elephants and buffalos. All packed in this day safari. The best value for money deal during our 13 months world trip. Extremely happy with the wide knowledge of guide Dirk. Good sense of humour has this guy! We liked the power li(o)n(e)s as well. We extremely enjoyed it! Recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank FlipFlopHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“Dirk is the BEST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Happened to be in South Africa on business. Booked an overnight tour from hotel Numbi and Garden Suites right in Hazyview next to the Kruger Park. Got the best guide you can imagine! Dirk, thank you very much! Knowledgable, committed, experienced, friendly and charming. Got to see 4 out of the Big Five. Were lucky to see a lions pride fresh from killing a water buffalo right on side of the road. Almost managed to see a leopard with cubs, but, alas, bad lack. Postponed till next time. But also saw many more of the Kruger Masters, starting from lovely tiny-greeny and fearless chameleon visiting us in the car and ending up with 17 hyenas in the den with cubs. Stayed overnight in the Pretoriuskop Camp with an amazing braai from Dirk. One of the best lifetime experiences! Highly recommended tour company!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sasha_the_Russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This company truly understands hospitality and Kruger Park.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Had the best safari ever thanks to Tracey and company. She put together an excellent itinerary and her guide Dirk executed it beyond our expectation. He has a life long working knowledge of Kruger park and its camps and its plants and wild life. And is eager to share his wealth of information. The service we enjoyed the most was the "Kruger under Canvas" experience. Tent camping was our favorite part of the trip. Thanks in part to Theo the camp manager. And to Tracy's home cooking and Dirk's traditional braai (bbq). Very professional company with a lot of flexibility to insure a wonderful safari experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tracey Meaker is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Before leaving Aus I tried to book a tour of Kruger Park starting from Hazyview. I contacted African Safari Adventures and unfortunatley they were already booked out on the days we were going to be in Hazyview. But thanks to Tracey we had the most amazing tour ever! She spent alot of time and effort referring us to a great company. She also helped us with recommendations on accomodation and other attractions.

We ended up doing a Full Day Tour and a Night tour of the park and saw all the Big 5 except Leopards and heaps of other animals. We also did a Panoramic tour with ASA and that was amazing as well.

Tracey really went above and beyond to make our trip and time in the Kruger amazing. I would definetly recommend her and ASA. Thanks again Tracey!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome, incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Perfect day with the big 5 all showing up as hoped. Possibly due to the relative chill, multiple lions, and others all making the adventure come alive. The guide was so worth having so all 4 of the family could use the bought binoculours to the full to spot all in the bush.
Definitely great to do a day tour starting early (5.30 am in our case) short whizz to the gate, get papers and then use the experience and advice of the guide who was networked with colleagues (Elvis and several others around the park) via internet, text or shortband radio...
Lots of other animals, birds and input about trees, shrubs and history.
Stopped for breakfast which was self funded but worth it, and a continued day which just got better and better.
Recommend dressing for the 4 poss seasons at this time of year and believe or not we got a bit cold but were saved by the 2 blankets we each had. The way to see the animals is by being at the back of the vehicule and scanning left and right. The driver covered the front of the road.
Worth every rand of the trip.
lucky enough to only have 4 total within the open van.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 115Tes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed African Safari Adventures also viewed

 

Been to African Safari Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing