We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Weekend Recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long Weekend Recharge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just minutes away from the Kruger National Park, the Blyde River Canyon and other tourist attractions... Overlooking the Sand River Valley, beautiful gardens and well maintained grounds.
The hotel has a resort-like atmosphere with comfortable and decent sized rooms.
Hotel staff are friendly, professional and very welcoming. Definitely worth the four stars!
The surrounds are so beautiful that you don't really spend a lot of time in your room, BUT when you do, it's an absolute pleasure and you won't need a lot of convincing to go back for a second or third visit.
Would recommend it for any kind of travel / holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Melinda J,

What an excellent comments! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community.

The TEAM is thrilled to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is indeed very centrally located allowing for easy access into Kruger, the Hazyview precinct as well as many other tourist attractions such as God's Window and Blyde River canyon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,


Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    109
    49
    24
    10
See reviews for
59
83
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with exotic flora and has a very well maintained look around it. It was enjoyable taking dips in the pool and enjoy the crisp morning air. Judging by the number of tour buses, appears to be a base for tourists en route to Kruger and Panorama route. I did not spend much time in the room as I was out for the day on business but the rooms are huge, beds are comfortable and there is a choice of pillows. Two points of concern- the design of the shower is problematic in that unless one tucks in the shower curtain over the bath, it leaks water onto the floor. The other concern is the lack of a bar fridge to store water/ drinks or medication.
Although we checked in late, the kitchen still rustled up a meal for us. However the meals are mainly buffet style and as a result are rather bland. The breakfast spread is good and varied enough but only having one person at the egg station slows down the service during peak times. For a 3 star hotel, it rates very well.

Room Tip: The outside rooms that are not in main building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceT2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear JoyceT2612,

The TEAM and I are very excited to hear we have been able to offer you a comfortable experience while staying in the Hazyview area for business. And thank you for pointing out some further points of improvement on our room facilities as we will most certainly bring these items up with senior management. And next time when staying with us try out our new a la carte menu as I am sure you will enjoy the variety of choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

At your service,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

this hotel has very good looking grounds. there were friendly bugs in some of the rooms and the lady that knocks in the evening to spray was quite a suprise. the higher rooms seemed to have fewer bug problems.

Room Tip: try for a room up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear 1douglas,

The TEAM and I truly appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to provide us - as well as all fellow TripAdvisor users - with your kind feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the Kruger Park area.

The hotel is indeed strategically located, close to various Kruger Park gates as well as the quaint town of Hazyview. Our newly refurbished rooms provide all the comfort required for a relaxing but more importantly, adventurous trip to the Mpumalanga region.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Protea Hotel Hazyview ticks all the boxes of a 4star hotel although it is a 3star. Rooms are superb, newly refurbished, the food is delicious and the staff are wonderful - helpful and friendly.
There are virtually no stairs, except down to the pool, so people in wheelchairs, walkers and the like can go everywhere with ease. The gardens are a delight - interesting sub-tropical plants and all well kept.The Kruger Park gates are 12km and 15 km from the Hotel and the Panorama starts about 10 km away.
Quiet and relaxing, what more could you want.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The family rooms are huge - two queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear chrweb,

Just a short note of appreciation for your kind comments! Its great to hear we have lived up to your expectations when visiting the Kruger Park area. The detailed feedback on the service received as well as your positive food experience will be celebrated with all TEAM members.

We cant wait to hosting you again soon upon your return to Hazyview...

Warm regards,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I recently stayed here after a long absence and was pleasantly surprised. The location is really handy for exploring the Kruger Park area and it is conveniently situated time-wise from Johannesburg.
The rooms are great and have been very nicely decorated. Good linen and beds with international electrical plugs at a work station table. Nice big comfy couch. A gripe was that the TV was fixed to the table and this was in line with one of the beds so no watching TV from the couch. My bathroom had a problem with the shower glass leaking water all over the floor but after reporting it, I am sure it will be repaired (not a big job). Because I am a light sleeper, the roof noises (expasion and contraction of the metal roof and the noises of animals running around on the roof all night) did keep me up almost all night.
Dinner was good and although the serving staff were not very friendly, it was much improved the next morning at breakfast (which was exceptional with a wide selection of food, fresh orange juice and good coffee). Gardens very nice (except for pestilential monkeys) and plenty secure parking.

Room Tip: Mybe get a room without a metal roof - the noises could deprive you of sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Garth J,

Thank you for the detailed and constructive feedback! Its much appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed our refurbished rooms as well as the revamped breakfast offering. Apologies for the inconvenience caused by the local group of monkeys paying the hotel a late night visit. We do hope this will not deter you from coming back to us soon..

At your service,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Spent two nights in Hazyview, nice hotel, great base for going to Kruger National Park. Food was good, buffet style, enough choices. We had box breakfast as we had to leaving at the crack of dawn to go to Kruger, very well packed breakfast/lunch...

It would have been nice if the hotel had wifi...

The room was a decent size, clean and nice bathroom..Nice and cozy bar separate from the restaurant/buffet.

I highly recommend it...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castafiore002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Hi Castafiore002,

A short note of thanks for your kind recommendations of our hotel. We are excited to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the Kruger Park area. With regards to your comments on the WIFI services, the hotel actually does offer WIFI in the public areas, however not yet in the rooms. This is currently investigated to identify whether we can extend these services in guest room areas as well.

Greetings to everyone in New York and we look forward welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were there with my wife in July this year.
This hotel is very noisy, specially if your bedroom is in the corridor ... Try, if possible to take the bedroom with terrace, they are not in the main part of this hotel, but around the swimming pool, far from the noise.
And take your time for the breakfast, they are very slow to clean your room, when they don't forget to give you clean towels.
Concerning the food, nothing special, basic food, for a basic hotel. And, don't ask waitress to keep your bottle of wine for the next dinner, they will "lost/drink" it :(
Thx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThierryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear ThierryIT,

First of all our apologies for the various service lapses and for not meeting your expectations. I can assure you that your experience does not reflect the service and product standards we strive to offer each and every guest.

We are happy to inform you that we will introduce our new a la carte menu next week, to further improve our food offering at the hotel. Your constructive comments around the speed of service at breakfast are appreciated and will be discussed with the TEAM at the hotel.

We do hope that your recent experience will not deter you from returning to the Protea Hotel Hazyview upon your next visit to the area and allow us the opportunity to restore confidence in our hospitality offered.

Warm regards,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hazyview hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
3.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.0 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
3.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.6 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Address: 1 R40 Road | 38 km from White River, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the adventure capital of the Mpumalanga Lowveld, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview is nestled on a hill overlooking the beautiful Sand River Valley. The rooms are alluring and spacious offering all the conveniences that one expects to make this a home away from home. All our rooms overlook lush gardens that have an abundance of birdlife, adding to the feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Not to mention several spacious family rooms that provide a comfortable area for the family to relax and unwind. Lying by the pool with a sundowner, whilst admiring the stunning views of the valley and watching the kids play on the nearby trampoline and jungle gym is perfection at its best. The chefs have prepared a wide variety of dining options to ensure that we cater optimally to healthy appetites and provide special meals for our young visitors. Additional facilities include conference venues, guest internet, Boma and a children's play park - so bring your game. Nearby attractions include the Blyde River Canyon, God's Window and Pilgrims Rest to name a few. For the adrenalin seekers, exciting adventures such as hot air balloon rides, river rafting, quad biking and many more can be arranged. Guests may also experience open vehicle day and night safaris in search of Africa's "Big Five" and lesser known "Little Five." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing