We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel as part of a tour - the main focus of the stay being a game drive through Kruger Ntnl Park. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms we were assigned were along a courtyard. Our room (with thatched roof) was large but quite dark. The packed breakfast one morning (we left at 5 a.m.) was ample and the buffet breakfast the other morning, and the buffet dinners both nights were excellent with wonderful variety. All in all, a great stay at another great Protea Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear "sicamous",

Excellent feedback! The TEAM and I are thrilled to hear we have been able to create a pleasant and comfortable stay when visiting the Kruger Park area. Your kind recommendations of the quality service received by our TEAM members and the great facilities and surroundings at our hotel are much appreciated!!

Warm regards,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    113
    51
    25
    11
See reviews for
61
90
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, NY
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a tour.
It is a very nice thatch roofed lodge with nice grounds about 10 minutes from Kruger Park.
The room I was given was off a courtyard. It was extremely large; actually too large, and nicely decorated. It was very dark - even when all of the lights were on.
Service and food were o.k.
Average breakfast. The buffet dinner with several hold and cold choices was good but not great.
I would have preferred to be in the park. Spoke with some people on other tours that had acomodations in the park. They loved seeing the animals close up at their hotel. There was nothing so special about this hotel which would compensate for perk of actually being near the animals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear "RScharfer9",

Thank you for your honest feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate your constructive criticism on some of our services and facilities. We will discuss your comments with the management TEAM and see how we can improve on these point.

With regards to our location, we are indeed not located within the Kruger Park but in close proximity. The advantage of this, is that our guests are also close to all the other sights and attractions with the Hazyview area. If based inside the Kruger Park, it does limit the activity options when visiting our beautiful region. But I understand that each guest will have its preferences on where to stay.

We do hope you will consider staying with us when next in Mpumalanga. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel once more.

Yours sincerely,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Beach, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights.The key was the proximity to Kruger Park.The room was large and comfortable.It was also very clean.The bathroom had a very large walk-in shower. The breakfast were quite nice and the meals at dinner were very good and varied.The grounds were beautiful. The service at lunch was a bit slow but seemed consistent with any place we ate throughout SA.This appears to be the norm.All staff were most friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainelytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear "Mainelytravel",

What a lovely review!

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while traveling through the Kruger Park area and for sharing your kind recommendations with your fellow trip advisor users. We will certainly celebrate your comments with all TEAM members at the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Warm regards,


Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The property is beautiful and the food is excellent. However, you need to check your room before accepting it. I ended up staying in the fourth room offered because three prior rooms had major issues like non-working air conditioning, etc.

That said, the front desk and housekeeping workers were wonderful and I felt like they were good friends before the end of my stay. I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there, again. But, I would check the room first. lol

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms are up to par. Some are excellent and some are not, so check it out before acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear "Westgalady",

Thank you for the kind recommendations of our beloved Protea Hotel Hazyview!

We are of course extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your compliments on the service received by our TEAM members. We do regret that you have experienced some issues when checking into your room. Our rooms have recently been refurbished and are generally of a great standard and in working order. Clearly, you have experienced something different which is not of the standard you can expected. We will investigate the issues noted and will address this immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Hazyview soon!

Warm regards,


Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotels setting is stunning; the landscaped gardens were lovely and had a very tranquil feel to them. The rooms were themed like a safari lodge and this added to the experience of the hotel. Similar to other Protea hotels I stayed in they were well furnished, comfortable and very pleasant to stay in. The bathroom was also of a high standard.

There was an internet terminal in the main lobby which was fine for checking emails or the football scores! Service was also very good as in all other Protea hotels.

I was not overly impressed with the buffet dinner, but I am not a fan of buffet meals. The breakfast was very good though.

The hotel is an easy 15-20 minute drive to Kruger National Park and this is a good hotel to base yourself for a Kruger adventure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear "Martia_C",

Thank you for the "Beautiful Review"!! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our beautiful property in the heart of the lowveld. We will certainly celebrate this with the entire TEAM at the hotel.

We regret to hear that we were not able to impress you with the food on offer on our dinner buffet. I will discuss your criticism with our Chef in our weekly meeting and inform him at the same time that you did enjoy the breakfast offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Your sincerely,


Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel. It is a nice country hotel
Check in was quick and easy, no hassles. The lobby is not huge, but is welcoming.

We then made our way to our room. To get to our room, we had to pass the courtyard where the conference centre, bar and restaurant were situated. This set up is convenient because everything is close by.

The room itself was nice, reasonably spacious, with a nice modern bathroom with a huge shower. But we were disappointed to note that we did not have a double bed. My wife quickly went to reception to ask if there was another room available, and there was, but it was not as nice as our room, having a shower in the bath, and the room seemed a bit smaller, so we opted to stay in our original room. We did ask that they put one of those mattresses over the two existing mattresses to convert the bed into a king size bed. It seemed they did not know what we wanted, but they did try, even if it was not so successful. It is a bit strange that they did not know how to do this, as it was not a problem at another Protea hotel just down the road.

I needed a large ice bucket, and this was provided from the bar with no problem. Josiah was extremely helpful in knowing exactly what I wanted, and even helped me by carrying it the room for me. Josiah is a shining example of what the staff at this hotel is like. All the staff were very polite and friendly. But we then experienced another glitch on our return from the Kruger Park the next day. The ice bucket and a dirty glass were still in the passage outside our room. Housekeeping had replaced only one towel, and not provide two towels, and the surplus bedding had not been removed. A quick call rectified this.

I did find that the noise from an adjacent room's A/C unit was a bit intrusive. Something that needs to be looked at by management. It did not keep us awake, but was not always pleasant.

We only ate one breakfast at the hotel, and it was standard buffet breakfast fare. Tasty and filling, but nothing out of the ordinary. However, the lady that did my omelette was very generous with my cheese filling, giving me what I wanted.

The hotel is also well located, just a few minutes drive into Hazyview, and well located for exploring Mpungulanga. But best of all is its close proximity to the Kruger National Park, and 3 of the entrance gates. The hotel has very pretty gardens, nice pool and kiddies play area. There is also sufficient parking.

This hotel has great potential and will move up from being just a nice hotel to great hotel if attention to detail is improved. Things like booking a married couple into a twin room rather than a double, for example, and the issues mentioned above.

We had a pleasant 3 nights at the hotel, and would definitely book in again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brutus_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear "Brutus_8",

We appreciate your honest but more importantly - detailed feedback. Especially the recommendations around the service received by our TEAM members will be shared and celebrated!

Our apologies for dropping the ball on some of the room standards and for not fully addressing some of the issues experienced. I will run the TEAM through the feedback provided and ensure a full understanding on how to deal with these situations is established.

Lastly, I have asked the Maintenance Manager to check the aircon settings as the noise polution experienced is not a normal or acceptable standard, hence requires to be fixed. Thank you for pointing this out.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,


Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at the Hotel the evening of August 1st under the booking name of Cowley. Just booked in, and as it was a little late, went to Perrys Bridge in Hazyview for supper so didnt make much use of the facilities.
On our return all seemed ok, but we did notice that the fridge in the room was empty, lights were not plugged in and there were no towels to have a shower.
All resolved eventually, but one would think that this sort of " detail" is checked by Housekeeping before allowing someone to occupy the room

Room Tip: Simple check of room once you arrive to make sure all that is supposed to be there is, and that what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear "Gerald D",

Greetings from the Protea Hotel Hazyview TEAM!

Thank you for your constructive feedback and our apologies for the facility lapses experienced. Although its a hotel and brand standard that the in-room bar fridge is empty and not serviced as a mini bar, we regret to hear the towels in your room were lacking and some of the standing lamps were not plugged in.

I have already shared this with the management team and will ensure this will be focused on going forward. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Vanessa Hoover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
3.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
813 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
340 reviews
3.6 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.6 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Address: 1 R40 Road | 38 km from White River, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the adventure capital of the Mpumalanga Lowveld, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview is nestled on a hill overlooking the beautiful Sand River Valley. The rooms are alluring and spacious offering all the conveniences that one expects to make this a home away from home. All our rooms overlook lush gardens that have an abundance of birdlife, adding to the feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Not to mention several spacious family rooms that provide a comfortable area for the family to relax and unwind. Lying by the pool with a sundowner, whilst admiring the stunning views of the valley and watching the kids play on the nearby trampoline and jungle gym is perfection at its best. The chefs have prepared a wide variety of dining options to ensure that we cater optimally to healthy appetites and provide special meals for our young visitors. Additional facilities include conference venues, guest internet, Boma and a children's play park - so bring your game. Nearby attractions include the Blyde River Canyon, God's Window and Pilgrims Rest to name a few. For the adrenalin seekers, exciting adventures such as hot air balloon rides, river rafting, quad biking and many more can be arranged. Guests may also experience open vehicle day and night safaris in search of Africa's "Big Five" and lesser known "Little Five." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing