We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Nearby Hotels
US$136
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$422
US$297
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highgrove House(Hazyview)
US$235
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
61
135
59
31
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
135
59
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstir frynice hotelbuffet dinnerkruger national parkhotel lobbybuffet styletour groupoutdoor poolthatched roofbig roomeach morningspent two nightsrooms are cleanwi fibeautiful groundscomfortable staynumbi gate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located about 15 minutes drive from both Numbi and Phabeni gates in the Kruger park and is a ideal place to base yourself if you want to explore the park . Rooms are new recently refurbished and the meals we ate at the hotel where great with the GM Simon always around making sure service levels where excellent . The grounds are well kept with a nice solar heated pool . Free wifi can be found in the bar area and lobby . I did hear some fat lazy slobs complaining they had too leave there bedrooms for the wifi . It's free , stop complaining . Overall a excellent choice to stay at if you want to visit the surrounding attractions .

Stayed: May 2014
Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear 666,

Thank you for taking the tie to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. It's through your valued comments and feedback that we can improve and maintain the standards one would expect at a Protea Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights. breakfast was nothing special but had all the basics. The staff was friendly however ,my father in law is in a wheelchair.and they gave us a room at the end far from everything after a long negotiation they moved us a little closer. We did not eat supper at the restaurant. We did how ever visit the Blyde River Cruise and it was a great trip and beautiful scenery

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noeleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Following the advice of friends who stayed here a few years back,we booked a week-end at the Protea Hotel,Hazyview.Entering the gate we already knew that this was not our kind of place.The Hotel is seriously overdue for upgrading and renovating.Public areas are dark and dismal,walls are dirty with bird and insect droppings.Our room was a disabled room-even though we are NOT disabled.The room had a very strange smell,the "sliding door" would not slide,the seating area at the back of our room had an almost empty cement dam(?) full of smelly water-with empty plastic containers fastened to rope drifting on it.We asked for a refund.The receptionist gladly agreed.He didn't seem at all surprised-even though he told the on-duty manager that we wanted a refund as we wanted twin beds instead of a double.We didn't bother to correct him.We did'nt want to.Protea Hotel Hazyview is definitely not a home from home as they proclaim to be.

Room Tip: Read reviews-do not trust pictures!I did...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissH0llyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2015

Dear Jo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advsor. It's through your valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standrads that we strive for and one would expect at a Protea Hotel.

Really great to see that overall you enjoyed your stay, appreciated the food and would recommend us, thank you.

Regarding the maintenance issues, ocasonaly items do get overlooked and if you have time please bring these to my attention so I may have them resolved.

Thanks again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We are travelling SA with Gate 1. We spent the am at Kruger (up at 4am!), We opted out of the afternoon option. We tried to visit Jane Goodall's Chimps or the Elephant Whisperer but it didn't work out. So we put on bathing gear, coolers, books and headed for the loungers on the lawn near the pool.
It was so peaceful and lacking of harassment we felt privileged!
As the late afternoon set in we took advantage of the playground too. Loved the trampoline built level with the grass. Also walked with 2 guinea fowl.

Room Tip: Those on the tour who got thatched roofs complained of flying insect guests!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasternCanadaKoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Protea Hazyview Hotel over the Easter holiday. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Other services are somewhat lacking. F&B is generally average and the lack of entertainment is a missed opportunity. Overall a place to stay. Full stop.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews