We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed!”
Review of aha Casa do Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
aha Casa do Sol
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed in Casa do Sol 3/4 times in my life...few years ago the overall quality was very good. Now the service is shocking. Food quality poor and no custormer care. Dinner is buffet with very little choice. We ordered our wine, that came almost at the end of our dinner. One of our rooms was booked for 3 pax, they added a caoch that was very small and not confortable at all for an adult.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattytyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel is definitvely nice, but with a bad weather (Experienced in October 2012) there is nothing to enjoy.
Watch for small frogs, they tend to enter your apartment.
Nice room, but a bit old.
The food is very good, probably the best of everything.
Due to bad weather there was a shortage in electricity and we had to wait to get how water.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanoLion78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent 2 nights at Casa do Sol while on a tour of South Africa. It set the bar very high for the other hotels we stayed at!

The rooms are incredibly spacious suites - large bedroom area, sitting area and HUGE back yard/terrace/patio for a hotel. Everything was very well appointed.

Food was exceptional and the service staff as so gracious and accomodating. The outside terrace was simply beautifula and tranquil.

I would love to have stayed at Casa do Sol the whole trip!-

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooze1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We went to Casa Do Sol for the second time in 2 years.Our previous visit was May 2010 and I can start to say that this hotel is now even better than 2 years ago.
+ Quality of the food improved very well, both with higher number of guests (week-end), where we got a very nice buffet, as with lower number of guests (sometimes on week-days) where we got a-la-carte choice. Also the breakfast was very nice.
+ The service improved because more of the personnel speaks English and they are all (apart from an occasional exception) very kind and customer-minded.
At one evening we had very important guests in the house (ANC ministers or so?) but even then we were treated to the same standards as these VIP's.
If we can get a similar value-for-money deal in future we will certainly go back again.
Next to the hotel itself is the location, which is close to 3 Kruger park gate entries (Paul Kruger Gate; Phabeni gate and

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frans_1Aalst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

It was pity to arrive in the hotel late afternoon. Our stay was only for one night so we did not experience much of it. The gardens are beautiful and the swimming pool area a small paradise with amazing plants. We were happy to see a gazelle going around the hotel area while having a short walk after arrival in the hotel.
The hotel has a character (Spanish architecture) and so all the rooms and details inside. It's not the top edge of luxury but everything is well combined together harmonically and still very very good. Our dinner in the hotel was delicious and the personnel attentive. I would stay again in that hotel for even more days it happened to be in the area! It worths it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skybluem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed with my family in this lovely property in May 2012.
Whatever said is less .
The courtesy of the staff is beyond comparison.
We have travelled a lot but have never experienced such a high level of care and dedication.
KEEP IT UP!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

went there for a week long conference, thus only had lunch there and used the conference facilities, very good and can recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 460TheBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
2.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
3.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
17.1 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 2 in Graskop
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aha Casa do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aha Casa do Sol

Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#5 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#5 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £58 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — aha Casa do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your aha Casa do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Sol Hotel Hazyview
Casa Do Sol Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing