We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, thank you!”
Review of aha Casa do Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
aha Casa do Sol
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice, thank you!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We enjoy the stay as it was excellent host, good food and tide rooms. Compare to other hotels in this area we prefer this place. Play park for kids was a good bonus. And swimming pool area are clean and beautiful view around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julialex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    125
    44
    24
    6
See reviews for
52
143
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The hotel is set on beautiful gardens about 5 minutes outside of Hazyview. The driveway leading into the hotel was very washed out from rainstorms prior to our arrival, but otherwise, no complaints. The service was second to none. They accommodated our late arrival by holding dinner for us and delivering it to our suite on arrival. The suite was quite large with spacious sitting area and comfortable bed. Very clean. The hotel grounds/gardens are exceptional. The hotel was quiet and relaxing. The complimentary breakfast was very good. Fresh fruit and pastries along with juices and coffee. The restaurant menu for lunch and dinner offered a wide variety of choices you can't go wrong with. Wish our stay here had been longer. We will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler - Nadine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel is set in lovely tropical gardens with two delightful pools. The suite we booked was spacious with large well furnished bedroom and sitting area. It also had the benefit of a huge private sun terrace overlooking the sabie road hills. The hotel is ideally situated 5km from Hazyview - with its large selection of restaurants - and only 15km from the Phabeni gate entry to the Kruger Park.
A tip. If you book on a room only basis try Summerfields Kitchen (2km away towards Hazyview)for a delightful, excellent value breakfast set on a deck overlooking the Sabie river.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

You should not visit this hotel by rain, as from 15 rooms in 5 rooms the water comes down the wall. It needs desperately renovation and is neglected. It is a pity, as the location is perfect and the gardens are to die for. Food is excellent. Beiing part of a big tourism company, it seems it suffers from a very tight budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to us and we weren't disappointed. I booked a suite and it was a good sized bedroom / lounge combo with a private terrace and lovely bathroom.
We stayed on a dinner, bed & breakfast tarrif and I was expecting dinner to be quite dull. However, all food there is very good, though simple. Friday night was a big buffet and Saturday was a la carte.
The reception organised our game drives and there is a nice spa with well priced treatments.
Overall - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed for 1 night in December en route to the Kruger Park and also because the hotel is conveniently next door to the elephant sanctuary which we had booked to visit.

Quiet, quaint Spanish style setting. Lovely pool area and lush subtropical gardens. Ate in the restaurant in the evening and food was excellent! Staff pleasant and helpful.

Could not ask for more for our overnight stop over.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was spacious and had 2 balconies, separate lounge to the bedroom. Lovely bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renphil_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed in Casa do Sol 3/4 times in my life...few years ago the overall quality was very good. Now the service is shocking. Food quality poor and no custormer care. Dinner is buffet with very little choice. We ordered our wine, that came almost at the end of our dinner. One of our rooms was booked for 3 pax, they added a caoch that was very small and not confortable at all for an adult.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattytyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.8 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
354 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
1.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.3 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aha Casa do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aha Casa do Sol

Property: aha Casa do Sol
Address: Sabie Road R536, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#6 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — aha Casa do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your aha Casa do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Sol Hotel Hazyview
Casa Do Sol Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing