We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“tired but comfortable”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This a a lovely setting for a hotel/timeshare but the quality of the rooms really let the side down. When we arrived at the location we were very impressed with the public areas including the golf course, bar, dining area and reception, but the actual hotel rooms can only be described as tired!
The rooms are spacious including two double beds, but expecting four people, even children, to share such a tiny cupboard space and even tinier bathroom would be expecting too much! Is it too much to ask for a separate shower or too chose a shower in your room over a bath? Who still uses shower curtains in their home let alone in a hotel room? Think of the hygiene.

The staff are excellent and very helpful and the location is within easy drive to the Phambini gate of the Kruger National Park. Kids activities are arranged all the time to keep them busy and their are 5 pools in the complex. Maybe more tennis courts could be built as the three that they have are always busy.

The food, apart from breakfast, is just okay. The spa on-site is good and I had one of the best massages there that I have had for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    301
    86
    26
    23
See reviews for
431
202
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour and first impression with the golf course and timeshares was great. Until you are taken to your hotel room. The rooms were very dated, not kept up at all.
The food was just ok. Service was limited. Most people made you feel you were bothering them.
Women in convenient store was really put out to let us pay for our items.
Wouldn't recommend this at all unless you are a golfer and staying in the timeshares.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTraveling56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for the first time in April. We'd heard a Lot, but were not sure what to expect. Well, our expectations where met and exceeded. The units are spacious, comfy and equipped well. The surroundings are peaceful and one can only relax at this resort. We
Also hardly saw our boys! They checked in at meal times and for the rest ran around with all the activities and friends they had made. We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We just love this resort. The time share units are brilliant, we have also stayed in the hotel and that was great too. The staff are friendly, the golf course is pretty good and if you are looking for a launch pad to view the Kruger park you can't go wrong.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank emmettgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at Sabi Sun in April this year for a week. This was an RCI exchange, so I can't comment on the value for money, but we found the place to be excellent. Its a golf resort, but you don't have to play it you don't want to. We had a bungalow over looking a fairway down onto the dam where the hippos played. The unit wast excellent. Clean and well maintained. Watching the hippos come out of the dam at night was great as well. This is also an excellent base to do some self-driving in Kruger as its less than 15 minutes drive to 2 Kruger gates. We also organised some professional game drives from the resort.Hazyview is a good base from which to explore the mountain area to the north. Great new shopping centre near by also in case you left something home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayHobit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Sabie River Sun chalets are modern, comfortable and well kept. A golfers dream to play golf every day! The hotel is great with friendly staff. The animal and bird life just in the resort is wonderful and the hippos will keep one entertained with all the family disputes! Children of all ages are riding their bikes around the resort and they have a wonderful sense of freedom. There is something for everyone. Really recommend a stay here.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location, setting and service at Sabi River Sun is all excellent. Here one can do everything one wants or alternatively do nothing at all but relax! The chalets are comfortable and the facilities at the resort are everything one could wish for. Having the hippo's right in the dam on the property just added that finishing touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing