We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - old and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beware - old and dirty”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel is dirty, tied and very old. Rooms are basic and have 1950s metal windows that don't shut, hard uncomfortable beds, tiny bathrooms with brown tiles that have been painted over with white paint, aircon as noisy as a jet engine and all fixtures and fittings are cheap, nasty and old. Restaurant is dire. Buffet breakfasts are adequate. Dinner buffets are avoided by most guests once they've had a look. So everyone goes for a la carte and the kitchen and waiting staff can't cope. Meaning 45 min wait for food to arive. We ate out in Hazeyview after night one which has some quite reasonable places - although the reception staff try to tell you otherwise. Seems a little pathetic they can't share local restuarant tips with holidaying guests. All the general staff try hard but have no/limited training. The General Manager should be re-titled the Invisible Man. Am sure he's heard all the guest complaints many times before so chooses to avoid guest contact. Grounds are well kept - unlike the hotel. Think carefully before booking this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmjm133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    306
    88
    27
    24
See reviews for
440
206
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent one night at Sabi River, breaking our trip before heading into the park. Well the resort is pretty as its on the golf course, but the hotel is really old. Think its the oldest one in the group. Its in need of an upgrade, but the rooms were ok and was the service.. Waited for ages for bath towels as there was nothing in the room. We had dinner at the main restaurant which I thought was shocking, cold food etc. Breakfast was much better. Otherwise for a night to stay over it was ok, wouldn't have been happy there any longer

Room Tip: Ask to face the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirls45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were very disappointed with our first stay in this hotel - the rooms were old, shabby and well worn and the portion size of food served when we ordered dinner from the AlaCarte menu were so small that we considered ordering another meal to share. Very dissapointing

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneJhbSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a lovely surprise Sabi River Sun was! The bungalows were very nice. A lovely verandah with a braai area. An excellent resort for a family. Everything you would need in the kitchen, comfortable beds. The golf course looked great, wish I had taken golf clubs. The resort was situated close to Hazyview.

Room Tip: No 63 is at the end of the row where the hippo's leave the pool to go to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZeldaCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was my second stay at my sister's Time Share bungalow - I first stayed there in 2008. My only disappointment was the reduced number of Hippos in the Hippo Pool. On my first visit there were over a dozen or more hippos more most days - this time the numbers were half that total. The bungalow was well equipped and had the mostly wonderful view over the Hippo Pool. I especially enjoyed my morning run around the perimeter of the resort. Because of the make up of our party I had to sleep in the loft which is probably where children are expected to sleep. The single bed was comfortable but which ever bed was used (there are two single beds in the loft) you have to get out of bed to turn the light on and off which means moving about in the dark as there are no bedside lights. The light switch was also at the top of the stairs which is not a good place to be in the dark. The stairs could also be considered slightly dangerous because the turn on the stair at the top is not well light or clear. On my first day there I very nearly fell down the stairs - afterwards I was very cautious and careful. However it is a wonderful location and very handy for trips into Kruger Park and other notable places. I live in the UK and I hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow away from the hotel to get away from the crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENNYWREN778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

the resort is centrally situated to places of interest such as two entrances to the Kruger National Park +-10 km away. the resort views from rooms are majestic!the Sabi river is flowing through the resort;night Hippo viewing on the resort itself,splendid golf lawns,mountain bikes available to explore the resort wonders. the hotel meals caters for all. resort is child friendly which is an added bonus. kids are engaged at all times.for the fitness fanatic make sure to pack your gear for awesome 5km run/walk on marked routes.if you want to explore real adventure visit the Elephant Sanctuary 3 minutes away and for shopping there is a big shopping mall 4minutes away.truly enjoyed the resort splendour and surrounding activities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed in one of the bungalows for 7 days. Beautiful gardens and golf course. Abundant bird life. The hippos and crocodile that live on the estate are a wonderful attraction and it's amazing to watch the animals up close. The bungalows are neat and clean and wonderful for family stays. There is plenty to do in the resort and also the surrounding area. Phabeni Gate to the Kruger Park is a very short drive from the resort. Breakfast boxes are available at the main restaurant to take with on an outing to the Kruger, but do note they are quite expensive. All in all a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Bungalows near the hippo dam or 18th hole have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing