We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel on golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel on golf course”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

By comparison with other places we stayed in on a tour of South Africa this probably rates 3.5 stars as the rooms were a bit dated. But the bar and pool area and the extensive grounds which include a golf course and large lake are very attractive. The river which runs beside the site has hippo and crocodiles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POSH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    308
    88
    28
    24
See reviews for
441
207
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Will definitely return!!! A wonderful experience in a chalet Africa at its best wonderful birding and a beautiful Golf course!! The reception staff were not as helpful as we would have expected BUT the rest of our stay was very relaxed and special. Our only major problem was that wifi was not working!! But probably the problem of a service provider.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Small room, though 2 double beds. Balcony not big enough for 2 people to use together. Bathroom clean but rather shabby. Breakfast OK. The setting is lovely with walks, if you avoid the flying golf balls, down to the water where you can see crocodiles and hippos - and if you time it right in the evening you can see the hippos being escorted out of the lake!
We were only staying one night which was fine but felt too big and rather impersonal.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I visited this resort for the purpose of organising a work conference. The rooms could do with upgrading. The bathrooms are not up to standard. Having viewed the conference room the first thing that caught my eye was the dirty carpets. Resort may be perfect for golfers but certainly not up to standard for conferences

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The resort is beautifully located along the Sabie river. The rooms need an upgrade and the wall are not soundproof, resulting in one hearing your neighbour very clearly. Also the children of quests are running in the passages until late at night. The breakfast is excellent and also is the room service. The hotel also provide interesting dinners like potjie and one evening also T-bone steak, very we'll prepared. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent a week at the chalets which are very spacious and comfortable and which had lovely views over the hippo pool and golf course. They accommodate six people, with one room being in a loft room, two bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. With such an abundance of trees, in particular the fever trees, the birdlife is prolifc and wonderful to watch. I particularly enjoyed my morning walks, but watch out for flying golf balls!

The chalets are self catering and well equipped for cooking and serving food. The patio is particularly enjoyable and has table and chairs outside for dining. Each chalet has its own barbecue (braai) facilities meaning that you can cook your food right outside your chalet. There did not appear to be a shop for provisions on the premises, but there are many at Hazyview, about 2km away.

The Kruger Gate to the Kruger National Park is about 40km away, and easily accessible by car.

There is also a hotel on the property, and the golf course is apparently one of the best in the country. One skill you have to get right here, is to be able to hit the golf ball over the hippo pool and not into it, as you will not be able to fetch your lost golf ball!

We did not have children with us, but I noticed that it is lovely for them, with many places for them to ride bicycles safely, and organised activities to keep them busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinaRocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having spent a week in a Sabi River Sun time share chalet, I enjoyed all the sport the resort offers, particularly the golf course which is planted with indigenous trees and being along the Sabie River has interesting bird life. The hippos which live in the Langspruit in the middle of the resort provide endless entertainment. The chalets are comfortable and serviced, there is entertainment for the children and something for everyone in a safe environment. Great to be so near the Kruger Park. Lovely in the winter months.

Room Tip: The chalets on the far side of the Langspruit are quietest and have the most bird life around them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llarter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing