We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Desperately in need of upgrade.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabi River Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Desperately in need of upgrade.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Booked 3 nights but left 1 day early.
Rooms extremely old although clean.
Fantastic facilities/ entertainment.
Menu limited & kitchen staff unaccomadating.
Staff Service slow/terrible.
Bathrooms in BAD condition.




  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    266
    78
    24
    22
See reviews for
374
188
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Needs better managers. Food was poor. Staff was friendly. Great entertainment for children. Tap water was extremely dirty!
Rooms were spacious. Enjoyed all the local attractions and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witbank, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

the check in was so smooth and fast and the rooms are clean and neat,the staff was helpful throughout our stay,we stayed in room 200 and the only problem with it is that you can hear everyone passing,the hotel offers alot of entertainment and kids were kept busy throughout our stay.The place is so beautiful one wished could stay more days with hippos and crocs in the close proximity.I would really love to go back again and spend more time but this time on their chalets because they are so breath taking.To the management and staff of Sabi sun thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Rudolph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed in a isx sleeper, very spacious,clean and neat. Bathroom is neat and well maintained.Staff was always friendly and willing to assisst. On arrival was surprised with welcome drinks and a snack(could be that it was a week before Christmas). Near to kruger park and attractions. A truly stay in resort if you have done the attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were given party packs for our kids. These were filled with crayons, coloring in book, blowing bubbles and sweets.

The itinerary for the kids was typed up and displayed on a chalk board. From a reptile show to a clown show, to bingo at the pool - much fun was had by all.
One day a golf cart arrived at the pool with about 20 blown up beach balls. These were thrown into the pool for the kids.

An amazing hamper was left in our hotel room. This had nuts, sweets, a perfect mango and jams from the area.

We stayed in room 234 at the hotel. This was just perfect if you have kids. This is the closest family room to the pool.

Our hotel room was clean and even had the Disney TV Chanel.
Breakfast - well now we can complain... Because we ate too much and gained a few extra unwanted kilograms!

The staff were all friendly and always keen to keep the kids happy.

I always like to go to a new destination every year but I am very tempted to return again next year as we had so much fun.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have been to this resort many times and have found the place to be well run and relaxing. There is also a lot to do in the area with most tastes being catered for. On a few occasions, however, we have had issues with sewage problems-overflowing tanks and the resultant smell. This particular problem we have had on two separate occasions, albeit whilst in the same unit (38).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Wade V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent a family week at the resort in December.This being the second time in approximately 10 years we've stayed at the resort is was good value.The resort is very well maintained and the 6 sleeper chalet was well equipped and comfortable.It seems that it has been renovated in the last few years.the resort is a good base to tour the rest of Mpumalanga . The golf course seems to be a favourite past time on the resort . We hired bikes for one day and was able to cycle around the resort which the kids enjoyed. The restaurant served good food.

Room Tip: The chalets close to the lake can get quite noisy with birds and frogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abduragiem I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.3 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing