We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A well run time share resort with beautiful grounds and very good staff.
We did not use the hotel facilities on this occasion but in the past have had good meals in the restaurant.

The golf course is in excellent condition.

We were sad to see so few hippo this year and hope they will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Margaret P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

The resort is beautiful. The grounds are very well maintained. The place is big, so you can go for a walk in a different part of the resort every day and see new things. You can go for walk, run or cycle. We don't play golf, but enjoyed looking at the golf course and the players. As the chalet is on the course, the views are amazing. We also managed to see a bit of the hippos in the river.

We booked the self catering option. The unit is very spacious. 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms and 2 extra beds in the loft. Kitchen had the necessary equipment (apart from coffee making) but we we prepared for that. No hair dryers, but apparently you can get one from housekeeping. Outdoor area is big and we spend most of our time there.
On the negative - no coffee making, no amenities in the bathrooms and the place is not the cleanest. It needs good clean and they must do something about the thatch roof as it messes on the beds and one gets the impression that the linens were not changed. Also in the kitchen - mittens have seen better days and there was no dish washing liquid or soap. Another negative is that the resort did not provide any information about what's available in the resort. There was no menu for the restaurant or any contact number or price list for the spa. Internet was non existent.

The restaurant was not the greatest. We chose the buffet option. It was a bit pricey for what they have to offer. Service is slow, considering most people choose the buffet and they had to bring drinks only.

All in all we had very good time. The area has so much to offer. If management pays attention to the few small things that need to be fixed and make sure that the place is properly cleaned, it will be worth visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very filthy place no cleanliness dirty sheets dirty pillow slips with full of birds dropping will you sleep on it?place is full is dust every where bad showers no water coming basins are cracked is this you call 5 star they don't provide you any shampoo I made a mistake to change from Kruger park lodge to sabie sun

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
3  Thank Imranaslam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this resort last month, March 2014. The timeshare unit was a spacious thatched-roof duplex cottage, and had a good view of the beautiful golf course. We liked seeing the man in the golf cart leading his border collies around to chase off the noisy Egyptian geese. The resort is right down the road from Hazyview, with good restaurants (Kuka, Topolino's) and shopping. The internet is slow, but is sometimes available in the chalets, or you may take your laptop up to the lobby area to get wi-fi reception. You get one free hour of internet per day, and thereafter you have to pay. Alert! There is no coffeemaker in the condo, which is a major deprivation for American guests. There are also no hair-dryers, or even a place to plug one in in the bathrooms. Our only negative experience was at the resort restaurant. Though the restaurant had a great ambience and good food, it was terribly understaffed and the service was quite poor. Waiting half an hour to get our initial drink and then a full hour to get our food, then being overcharged on our bill was unpleasant. Otherwise we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wherewasI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were recently holidaying in Mpumalanga, and after a few great days in White River, moved on to Hazyview.

We booked the last few days of our holiday at a resort just outside Hazyview, which, according to the web site and reviews, was 4 star luxury.

When we got there, it was a dump, and there was no way we were staying there. Needless to say we paid 4 star rates up front, and when we told the owners we were not prepared to stay there, they did not even offer our money back!

I could just see us having to cut short a wonderful holiday.

We decided to drive down the road to the Sabi River Sun resort, and see if they could possibly accommodate us, bearing in mind that we were right in the school holidays.

When we got to the hotel, and told the attendant at reception our sad story, he really when out of his way, and found a room for us. He told us to go back and fetch out luggage, and when we come back, our room will be waiting for us.

We had a wonderful few days at this resort.

The atmosphere is fantastic, the staff helpful and friendly, and above all, we were right at the most amazing golf course.

Food at the restaurant was outstanding, and the good part is that you do not have to leave the complex, everything is there.

Thank you to the management and staff of the Sabi River Sun, for saving our holiday. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvWRsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a an excellent stay in the Hotel, which was clean and tidy, the staff helpful and the food was very good, bar the frozen store bought veggies served with dinner. The room suffered with a few plumbing issues like pressure lock on the cold water tap and a leaking fosset, but then again it looks like an old resort so theses things happen. No issues with the rest of the Hotel or grounds. Was cool to see the Hippo's and Crocs in the golf course dam!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Kerushen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Beautiful grounds, 18 hole golf course and amenities. Timeshare chalets all the same size, 3 bedrooms, just have different outlooks. Hotel and restaurant on site too.
Only 20minutes to Kruger Park, Phabeni Gate entrance. Lots to see in area, Hazyview has lots of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
2  Thank susiesquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
423 reviews
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £41 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, bedfinder AG, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing