We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfers paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Golfers paradise!”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Wonderful timeshare resort if you like playing golf. Well maintained course and affordable. We played every day. One word of warning - don't try to fetch any balls that land in the river or lake - hippo's and crocs! Units are well maintained and cleaned daily. The staff were great. East access to the Kruger Park.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    306
    88
    27
    24
See reviews for
440
206
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Swopped our timeshare in UK for a week here in Chalet 30. This was clean and cleaned daily, good fittings and decor, and a marvellous view.
The resort staff were very friendly, golf course looked great, the restaurant and bar welcoming with very acceptable food at very reasonable prices.
The resident hippo's magnificent but surreal!!!
Super location, close to Kruger to drive yourself, near a variety of private game reserves, and driveable to Gods window which is superb.
You need a car but roads are ok.
Hazyview is 1 mile and has a few supermarkets.
Only negative is that the local police are really into portable speed camera's but can be "accomodating" as I left my licence in resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We booked two rooms at the Sabi River Sun, as part of a long weekend spent in Mpumulanga exploring the natural beauty and splendor which abounds in this area. We found the resort to be extremely beautiful, with really scenic grounds, but found the rooms to be a bit disappointing. The bathrooms are in need to a refurbishment - though i managed to find one of the newly renovated rooms - which looks good.

The food was good, if limited in terms of variety, and the staff were friendly and efficient.

All in all, a good base from which to explore the lowveld.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We went on a family holiday to the Sabi River for a few days over a long weekend - we have been there a few times before and always enjoyed it thoroughly. The setting of the hotel is absolutely exquisite and that is what brings us back each time along with the great service that we have always enjoyed and some of the most comfortable mattresses & pillows around that always ensure a good nights' rest. The rooms are regularly refurbished although the hotel is a bit old with very small bathrooms. We always enjoy walking down to the lake at the bottom of the property that has hippos and crocodiles in it. The Kruger Park is just 10 minutes away and the town of Hazyview just one km away. It is always possible to enjoy many of the other attractions in the area - for example the Panorama Route.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We had the very disappointing experience of twice losing cash and golfing equipment to theft during a one week stay at this resort. One episode of theft from a wallet whilst unattended on a golf cart during a round of golf and one episode of theft from our chalet whilst we were playing a further round of golf. Both were obviously opportunistic and confined to articles which could avoid hotel security checks. The response from resort management, whilst on the surface expressing sympathy, was inadequate and ineffective. Junior managers took note of the circumstances, some commenting that this was a regular occurrence, and obviously passed the information to the General Manager and Head of Security without themselves taking any action. The Head of Security visited us personally and facilitated a visit by local police to enable us to make the necessary statements. The response from the General Manager was hostile. He insisted that he could take no action on behalf of the hotel as my complaint was only an allegation and therefore unproven. In my personal opinion, a General Manager should be able to make a judgement – balancing the good reputation of the hotel against the relatively small cost of reimbursing guest losses. Hiding behind a technical nicety is the last resort of junior and administrative staff, not managers paid to exercise good judgement. In fairness the resort does provide safe facilities in each of its chalets. Customer service at this resort remains at the smile/have a nice day level and needs to be reviewed to bring it to the same level as the physical amenities, which are excellent. The General Manager did in fact rebate a small amount from our bill – approximately one third of our cash losses – but this was not obvious until we reached home and received the news via an email. Another lost opportunity to re-establish good relations with a group of disappointed guests. Anyone can be good at customer service when things are going well, it is when things go wrong that good hotel management becomes evident.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudgeDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Room 211.....All guest rooms appeared to have been refurbished., decorated and newly furnished even new carpets, so too were the corridors. However there was a lingering smell of new paint.

The room was a good size with two queen beds which had nice new linens. However the bathroom (which appeared to have been part refurbished, tiles looked very clean but the bath and basin both had chips) was quite small but adequate. A patio door leads to a balcony with chairs a view over the grounds is a little restricted from this room by the trees but is still pleasant.

Room lighting was very good for a hotel, I never find enough light wherever I go.

Bar and restaurant area were extremely nice, modern and stylish. Food in the restaurant both dinner and breakfast was good with attentive staff who were very quick to clear tables of unwanted items. Restaurant has an outside area for dining alfresco when the weather allows.

The grounds of the hotel (which is on a golf and leisure complex) are beautiful and very well tended.

A nice swimming pool and patio area are situated outside the restaurant area but get quite busy at weekends with the visitors to the timeshare cottages on the complex.

A large lake is about a ten minute stroll from reception around the golf course and is a must visit area to see the hippos, crocs, and many varieties of birds.

Between 6pm and 7pm soon after it becomes dark each evening the hippos come out of the lake and make their way to the river to graze. The area is floodlit so that you can see them. The best viewing area is the far side of the wooden bridge....

Next to the golf pro shop is a small very reasonably priced convenience store for bottled water, beers, icecreams and various other items.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SENORAWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

we stayed in the cottages leading off golf course, at the end within clear view is a river with hippos swimming, spotlessly clean friendly staff, place is charming loads to do in area would go back many a time

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahfelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing