We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Highgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highgrove House
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here with our grown up family, and where blown away with the facilities..
,The cottages are amazing, will definately stay here again.
The dinner and breakfast were delicious, and having some hot finger food in the bar prior was a good touch.
I would like to say a special Thankyou to Adrian for his kindness and concern he showed to me as I was not feeling very well

Room Tip: We had cottages with individual pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Staying at Highgrove House was a wonderful experience. The general manager Adrian was a perfect host, and his high standards were certainly reflected throughout the hotel. The food was of an excellent quality and quantity. The accommodation was superb, and the location for the various Kruger Park gates was good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A group of us went down for a few days in December 2013 and after a wonderful drive we arrived at this wonderful gem tucked away in a forest of blue-gum trees. We were greeted by the owner Kathy at the entrance. After a brief discussion on the history of High Grove, I was taken to my room. I am personally not a fan of over the top ultra modern finishes which is why I loved the 5 star lodge feel to the room. It felt very welcoming, warm and like home.

The food was simply outstanding with dinner in a classic dining room. We are difficult eaters being fitness fanatics but every request was fulfilled with a smile. Breakfast overlooking the Kruger Park was sensational. It truly feels like you are a million miles away from civilization.

The spa was extremely well equipped and I had one of the best massages I have ever had.

I highly recommend Highgrove House and we will all definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I spent 3 wonderful nights at this establishment and i must say it was amazing! Driving down the entrance with avo orchards left and right and to a welcoming staff who really made my stay magical! The room was spacious and had the finest quality linen i have ever slept on! The food is worldclass and i would definately reccomend anyone to stay there,its fit for any King or Queen! Thanks again to all the staff,will see you soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent three nights at Highgrove House to celebrate our thirteenth anniversary. We were upgraded to an Orchid suite which was lovely with a private plunge pool, sauna and outdoor shower. Although the outside area needs some revamping, we quickly forgot about it as the staff made our stay a time never to be forgotten. The welcome was warm, the meals delicious and there were lots of small luxuries such as a fruit basket on arrival, fresh flowers, chocolates on our pillow each night, toiletries, ear buds, coffee, a selection of teas with milk and biscottis, and free water. The bed was very comfortable and the king size mattress was firm and in excellent condition (no caving in in the middle).The dinners, 5 courses, were delicious. Bottled water was served free of charge. The chef even made my husband a special main dish on the last night as he had some stomach issues.

On the second night, we walked back to our room after dinner to find our room decorated with pink flowers all over. There was a heart on our bed made of petals and one in the bathroom with our robes and slippers arranged nicely and decorated with flowers. The edge of the bath was decorated with tea candles and flowers and the lights were dimmed. There was a bottle of champagne and two glasses at the end of our bed. It was so special. My husband had only asked for the beds to be turned nicely but they went way beyond his request.

Such is the spirit of Highgrove House. Nothing is too much of an effort when it comes to pleasing the guests. We had a couple full body massage at the newly opened spa which we were not satisfied (the two therapists lacked finesse and definitely needed some more training). Not only did they not charge us for the treatment but they also gave us a complimentary Indian head massage to make sure we had a good experience. Megan was excellent as a therapist and we are extremely grateful to her for going out of her way to make us happy,

I highly recommend Highgrove House. Adrian, the manager, who has a lot of expertise and years of experience at other establishments, is planning some revamping. Hence Highgrove will only be getting better in the coming months. Willie, who was our attentive waiter, was fantastic, with a great sense of humour, always bringing a smile to our lips.

Thank you, Highgrove House, and in particular Adrian, Megan and Willie, for all the wonderful memories that we will cherish for the rest of our lives.

Room Tip: Orchid suite for privacy, your own sauna, pool and outside shower under the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tortues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your kind response. Highgrove is constantly updating and upgrading our premises to ensure guest satisfaction at all times.

With regards to your treatments in the new spa, we do in-house training for the disadvantaged from the local area as part of our community project. These ladies are given the opportunity to train with us as they are not able to afford formal training. We will certainly look at refining their skills as the guests are our first priority. We do however, have three internationally CIDESCO qualified therapists at our new spa, but unfortunately two were on leave during your recent stay.

We will certainly welcome you back in the near future to join you in celebrating your life together for many years to come!
Kind regards,
Kathy Russell - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having recently spend 2 wonderful nights at Highgrove House in a large cosy comfortable suite with a separate sitting room including a fireplace, 3 terasses with a view of the mountains and with own pool and sauna, it was a real treat.
The rooms are situated in a wonderful garden that I can only imagine looks fabulous during summer.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and always with a big smile.
The meals were yet another treat, 4 course dinners with a choice of both starters and main and the nice sorbert as an in between, were just adding to the high standard.
This is a place we will return to, given time and opportunity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsondergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at Highgrove House over the recent long weekend. Kathy was present at all times to ensure that the lodge runs to perfection. The accommodation is beautifully decorated with many extra touches added to make your stay really special. The breakfasts and dinners are a real gourmet experience. The lodge is ideally situated to all amenities in the area - particularly the Kruger National Park. We would highly recommend this guest house and will definitely be visiting it again. All rooms have their own lounge, balcony and fireplaces.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar - there are rooms with their own plunge pool but we were in a standard room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
7.6 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
5.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
419 reviews
6.5 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
323 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove House

Address: 1 Highgrove Ave | Off R40 between Hazyview and Whiteriver, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range: £240 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highgrove House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overview The original Colonial Farmstead constructed around 1893 and renovated and revamped in 1988, when the exquisite accommodation suites were constructed and the Country House opened it's doors in 1991.Situated on a Avocado & Macadamia Farm and surrounded by Forest.Aged Jacaranda trees provide an enchanting entrance avenue. Fine collection of antiques and Persian carpets adorns the reception rooms, warmed by crackling fires when winter's chill sets in. Location Highgrove House is onlt 20 minutes drive to Kruger national Park, 15 km away from Hazyview. Close by Private Game Reserves in the Sabi Sands including Londolozi and Mala Mala, Notten's Camp. Highgrove House is an ideal base for day excursions to the Panorama Route and all the romantic waterfalls. Climate Highgrove is ideally situated at 860 meters above sea level and so avoids the really intense heat and humidity that can sometimes be experienced in lowveld during the summer months. Accommodation: Limited to 17 guests. No children under 10 years. All individual suites are spacious and have veranda's overlooking the scenery and orchards. Maximum privacy is offered in expansive garden surrounds. Executive Orchard Suites: - Two - sleeps 2 each - King beds • Private Saunas • Outside Shower • Private Pool • Private Garden • Mini bar • Tea trays with selection of teas/coffee • Home-baked biscuits/biscotti • Fresh fruit and flowers • Fireplaces • Hairdryers • Large bath sheets • Toweling Bath Gowns • Goose down duvets inner • Egyptian cotton • Current Magazines/books • Complimentary Sherry Decanter • Charlotte Rhys guest amenities • Air- conditioning • Overhead fan • CD player and selection of CD's • Safe • Internet access - WiFi free of charge at manor house and gazebo Luxury Suites: - Six - 12 Guests - 2 twin/4 King (1 twin fits extra bed 3 sharing) • Fireplace • Hairdryer • Large bath sheets • Toweling Bath Gowns • Goose down duvets inner • Egyptian cotton • Current Magazines/books • Tea trays with selection of teas/coffee • Home-baked biscuits/biscotti • Complimentary Sherry Decanter • Charlotte Rhys guest amenities • Air-conditioning • Overhead fans • CD Player and selection of CD's • Safe • Internet access - WiFi free of charge at manor house and gazebo Membership/Accolades: • Highgrove House is 5 Star graded (updated yearly in September) with the Tourism Grading Council of SA • Rated 'Highly Commended' Superior Accommodation with the AA Travel Guides and American Express Accommodation awards Program (winner of 2014 service award) and Lilezela award 2013 • Member of Chaine des Rotisseurs Association Mondiale de la Gastronomie • Member of the Low veld Tourism Board • BnB Insurance • Exclusive Getaways • Portfolio Collection • Fedhasa - Federated Hotel Association of SA • RASA - top ten restaurant in our category 2013 • SA Venues • World Luxury Hotel Awards nominee 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing