We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Forest place!”
Review of Highgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highgrove House
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical Forest place!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had the most amazing few days at Highgrove House. The rooms were so 'homely" with everything you need right there! The food was amazing, so well presented too! Such friendly and helpful staff, well done to all of you! Our massages at the SPA rounded off an entirely magical weekend! We will be back very soon!

Room Tip: Book the room with private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    14
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
83
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

April 2014. Highgroves was an amazing experience from start to finish. The lodge is well situated within the tranquil and breath taking Hazey view area. The staff were friendly, the facilities were well furnished and clean and the food was excellent, 5 star! Our every need was catered for and service was carried out with a smile. We will definately reccommend Highgroves to friends and family and would like to return soon!

Room Tip: Corner suite is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benbllngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

what a breathe taking scene.if anyone wants the most romantic getaway this is the place to go. From candle light dinners, to bubble baths surrounded with rose petals, well apointed location,friendly staff from the manager to the cheffs,divine cuisine, well planned and brilliantly laid out. I would highly recommend Highgrove House! its like home away from home just better.

Room Tip: room number 8 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Setting is very nice, service is awful. I have never experienced a more incompetent staff then at the Highgrove House. The staff was not trained and the manager did not seem to care. The manager spend most of his time in front of his computer. All the guests joked about how awful the staff was. Some of the staff tried but were just ignorant. This is a place that must have been nice in another era. The owner doesn't care and you should not stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Highgrove House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs E, I'm so sad to hear through this page of your terrible experience at Highgrove House. I wish you had mentioned this to me in person during your 3 day stay.

Graciously you never complaint when the room ladies did a complimentary romantic turndown, neither when the G.M. gave you complimentary lunch and even serving you himself on your first day of the 3 days that you stayed with us. You enjoyed the Tuna Salad and Chicken Salad and ordered lettuce and pea soup at the Gazebo overlooking the valley to Kruger park.
We had 26 other guests in-house during your 3 day stay.All which wrote only lovely reviews about our old charming establishment situated on a farm close to Kruger. The staff got generous gratuities as usual from all our guests, our swiss party of 4 returned for a 5th time to Highgrove House, purely for the old world peaceful and relaxation and this time stayed 7 days, and did game drives into the Kruger daily from here. They were also part of the guests in-house at the time of your stay.
The establishment has several staff in the operations of the business, and I could have dealt with your concern more directly at the time, and to be fair maybe the service staff as you refer to been useless did not understand you American accent, or referral to items or beverages requested. Like maybe flat water would mean still water. Carbonated means Sparkling just to use simple terms. I wish you had rather at the time of your stay addressed this with me in person. And been in front of my computer for some times is needed for business purposes, and if you saw me, this means I was caring for the quint small establishment and doing bookings etc. I hope to see you back in Africa, with a cell phone(satellite phone), and a positive outlook and gear for making a difference and not just generalizing. Kind Regards Highgrove House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent three nights in this place after a short trip in Kruger. The location is perfect - quite easy to get to but once on the property it is very quiet and peaceful. We thought the accommodation was really excellent - del appointed and high quality furnishing and finish. The staff were welcoming and tried very hard to make us feel welcome. They succeeded! I think they only slight fly in the ointment was the fact that the overall effect was slightly diminished by the cuisine, which didn't quite meet the high standards on everything else. Despite that blemish we would still recommend it for a relaxing short break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect little place to stay. The cottages are beautiful. The food is scrumptious. The staff are wonderful, so happy and nothing is too much trouble. I stayed with my mum and we left feeling like a queen and princess. Oo and don't forget to try out there new spa hidden away in the woods - massages were first class. Adrian the manager is doing a fantastic job. Thank you for making our stay so perfect we didn't want yo leave.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here with our grown up family, and where blown away with the facilities..
,The cottages are amazing, will definately stay here again.
The dinner and breakfast were delicious, and having some hot finger food in the bar prior was a good touch.
I would like to say a special Thankyou to Adrian for his kindness and concern he showed to me as I was not feeling very well

Room Tip: We had cottages with individual pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.0 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.0 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.0 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove House

Property: Highgrove House
Address: 1 Highgrove Ave | Off R40 between Hazyview and Whiteriver, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Highgrove House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overview The original Colonial Farmstead constructed around 1893 and renovated and revamped in 1988, when the exquisite accommodation suites were constructed and the Country House opened it's doors in 1991.Situated on a Avocado & Macadamia Farm and surrounded by Forest.Aged Jacaranda trees provide an enchanting entrance avenue. Fine collection of antiques and Persian carpets adorns the reception rooms, warmed by crackling fires when winter's chill sets in. Location Highgrove House is onlt 20 minutes drive to Kruger national Park, 15 km away from Hazyview. Close by Private Game Reserves in the Sabi Sands including Londolozi and Mala Mala, Notten's Camp. Highgrove House is an ideal base for day excursions to the Panorama Route and all the romantic waterfalls. Climate Highgrove is ideally situated at 860 meters above sea level and so avoids the really intense heat and humidity that can sometimes be experienced in lowveld during the summer months. Accommodation: Limited to 17 guests. No children under 10 years. All individual suites are spacious and have veranda's overlooking the scenery and orchards. Maximum privacy is offered in expansive garden surrounds. Executive Orchard Suites: - Two - sleeps 2 each - King beds • Private Saunas • Outside Shower • Private Pool • Private Garden • Mini bar • Tea trays with selection of teas/coffee • Home-baked biscuits/biscotti • Fresh fruit and flowers • Fireplaces • Hairdryers • Large bath sheets • Toweling Bath Gowns • Goose down duvets inner • Egyptian cotton • Current Magazines/books • Complimentary Sherry Decanter • Charlotte Rhys guest amenities • Air- conditioning • Overhead fan • CD player and selection of CD's • Safe • Internet access - WiFi free of charge at manor house and gazebo Luxury Suites: - Six - 12 Guests - 2 twin/4 King (1 twin fits extra bed 3 sharing) • Fireplace • Hairdryer • Large bath sheets • Toweling Bath Gowns • Goose down duvets inner • Egyptian cotton • Current Magazines/books • Tea trays with selection of teas/coffee • Home-baked biscuits/biscotti • Complimentary Sherry Decanter • Charlotte Rhys guest amenities • Air-conditioning • Overhead fans • CD Player and selection of CD's • Safe • Internet access - WiFi free of charge at manor house and gazebo Membership/Accolades: • Highgrove House is 5 Star graded (updated yearly in September) with the Tourism Grading Council of SA • Rated 'Highly Commended' Superior Accommodation with the AA Travel Guides and American Express Accommodation awards Program (winner of 2014 service award) and Lilezela award 2013 • Member of Chaine des Rotisseurs Association Mondiale de la Gastronomie • Member of the Low veld Tourism Board • BnB Insurance • Exclusive Getaways • Portfolio Collection • Fedhasa - Federated Hotel Association of SA • RASA - top ten restaurant in our category 2013 • SA Venues • World Luxury Hotel Awards nominee 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing