We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
118
18
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and jacuzziselection of winesincredible foodthe main houseafrican winesbeautiful gardenrose petalssitting roomfull body massagehidden awaystayed longerthree nightspanorama routeblyde river canyonlucindaavocadosuite
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

When we chose Highgrove House for our Parents' " memory tour" of Mpumalanga, whilst at the same time celebrating their 60+ wedding anniversary, little did we know about the gem that awaited them! Thank you to all the staff at Highgrove for your gracious hospitality , impeccable service and kind personal attention which made their stay an experience that they vowed never to forget!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank magpie64cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Good day,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Highgrove House, we really do appreciate the positive comments with regards to our service and hospitality.

We were delighted that you chose our place and it was a pleasure hosting your wonderful parents! They truly are an inspiration to all to have achieved this milestone!

We look forward to hosting you, with your parents, in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We stayed for two nights at Highgrove House. The service was excellent, Staff was friendly and very helpful. The suite that we stayed in was spacious with the private swimming pool, sauna and outside shower. Everything we needed was available. The road to Highgrove House might be a problem went it rains.

If I may have a suggestion, if you could heat up the pool for those could and misty days to use it, I think that would be great.

If you love great food and looking for a place just to relax, I would give Highgrove House my vote.

Thank you for excellent service and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolaasr283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Good day,
Thank you for visiting Highgrove and taking the time to review. We do strive for service excellence and are happy that we managed to achieve this with your recent stay!

We value your comments and will certainly look into heating the pool, but we do have a full SPA on site with a heated jacuzzi which is available. There are two roads available for use when it rains even though they are not tarred, we do not seem to have many problems.

We do appreciate your comments with regards to the food and will certainly pass them on to the chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Highgrove in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Excellent room and superb food. Staff went above and beyond what was expected.
Glorious views from the terraces. Very comfortable bed and accomodation, the room was spotless. Nice touch was the open log fires in the lounge and dining room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs Deborah Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Good day,
Thank you for visiting Highgrove and taking the time to review. We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and highly recommend that you need to stay a while to fully appreciate all we have to offer.

We look forward to your future visit.

Kind regards,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The Staff the view the setting ... out of this world.

The rooms / our room 1 was amazing bed linen decor in all aspects above and beyond .
As soon as possible again

Thank you for your outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L1942JGrichardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Good day,
Thank you for visiting Highgrove and taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased that we met your expectations and more. We do take pride in what we offer and really glad that you appreciate our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you when you next visit the area.

Kind regards,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Before starting our safari, we wanted to spend a night near Hazyview in order to decompress from the 15-hour flight and take in some of the Panorama Route. Highgrove House was the perfect choice! We arrived midday and recieved a warm greeting from the staff before being escorted to our suite. The suite was HUGE (definitely bigger than the average NYC apartment!) with a luxurious bathroom (large soaking tub, large separate shower, two sinks and a separate W/C) and a private deck. We enjoyed a lazy lunch and lounge by the pool, surrounded by lush gardens, dappled sunlight and the chatter of the birds. I gather the other guests were off premises so it was just us and the sweet attention of Minky, the resident Burmese kitty (Minky 1: lizards 0). We had hoped to explore some of the walking trails but somehow the afternoon slipped by. Dinner was delicious and the service was attentive and friendly. After a very sound sleep (comfy bed!!), we had a quick breakfast and were off to the Panorama Route. My only suggestion would be a better selection of wines by the glass...but I managed to enjoy the available offerings. ;-) Overall, this was truly a lovely, private and relaxing experience and we regretted not booking a second night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzala103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Good day,
Thank you for visiting Highgrove House and taking the time to complete your review. We certainly appreciate your positive comments with regards to your stay, as the staff do strive for service excellence.

Highgrove's setting is truly amazing with the trees, forests and tranquility, so we are truly happy you could enjoy your time at the pool with the attention of Minky!

The chefs will be pleased that you enjoyed their food as they really cook with passion. We value your comments with regards to the wine by the glass and will definitely add more choices.

We certainly agree that you need to increase your stay at our magical place and look forward to your next visit soon.

Kind regards,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews