We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
118
18
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and jacuzziselection of winesincredible foodthe main houseafrican winesbeautiful gardenrose petalssitting roomfull body massagehidden awaystayed longerthree nightspanorama routeblyde river canyonlucindaavocadosuite
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

A beautiful stop between Pretoria and the Krueger.A real haven of serenity where every mealtime is an excuse to be pampered and spoiled. Service and food amazing. Particularly enjoyed the breakfast which was everything from fruit, pastries, cheeses and then a full English. Accommodation is superb. A real home from home if you live in luxury. Only complaint - they really don't make enough of their superb spa. Had the best massage I have ever had - and there've been a few.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shirley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good day,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Highgrove. We are truly thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations, and more. Thank you for your most valued compliments as these have been conveyed to the staff who really appreciate it for their dedicated work.

We do strive for service excellence and glad that this was provided. We promote our SPA to all guests during their stay and also welcome outside visitors. We have received the World Travel Award for the SPA as well and are very proud. We are pleased that you enjoyed your massage treatment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

By far the best small luxury hotel.. a true hidden gem. I have stayed at a few five star rated lodges and I can honestly say, the service excellence and treatment you receive at Highgrove cannot be matched.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GLAMOUR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Good day,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate your positive comments and as we strive for service excellence, we are really pleased that you were able to experience this.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Kathy Russell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

My partner and I spent a romantic night at Highgrove House to celebrate my birthday- It was simply Fabulous! Highgrove is nestled among majestic trees, and beautiful foliage, with a British Colonial theme that runs through the property. Our cottage was stunning, and the attention to detail carefully thought out. The service was excellent, and the food was honestly out of this world delicious. The staff made sure that we never wanted for anything, and I was extra spoilt for my birthday with a cake, and the staff singing to me. We will definitely be back for another visit. Thank you Highgrove House for making my birthday extra special. We'd definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to unwind in a little piece of countryside paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleS4868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Danielle,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Highgrove House! We are really pleased that we could share this special occasion with you and that all your needs were met! We certainly strive for personal and excellent service and am glad you got to experience this for your birthday! We have passed on all your comments with regards to the food as well to our Chefs and they were delighted as they cook with passion!

Highgrove is a special piece of paradise and will certainly welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Kathy Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a short but delightful stay at Highgrove House. Wonderful and spacious accommodation, excellent dinner but the highlight is just how friendly and helpful everyone was. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LakesMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Good day,
Thank you so much for taking a moment to review Highgrove House during your recent stay.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and that all your needs were taken care of by our wonderful staff! We certainly strive for service excellence and as all the staff are very happy to be able to work in the beautiful surroundings, it surely shows!

We definitely recommend that everyone stays at least 2 days, but longer to appreciate the beauty we have to offer in both setting, food and ambiance! We look forward to your next visit soon.

Kind regards,
Kathy Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We only had one night at Highgrove as the next day we were going to the Kruger but would have loved to stay a few more days. It is in a beautiful setting with lush gardens, the suite was stunning with everything you could possibly want and more. Furnishings were amazing.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cox961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Good day
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful Lodge!

We are very close to the Kruger and also offer day trips for the guests utilising our own vehicles, so would love to share this amazing part of the world with you during your next visit.

We certainly recommend everyone stay at least 2 nights to truly appreciate our amazing setting, service and food!

We look forward to welcoming you for a return visit soon!

Kind regards,
Kathy Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews