We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A REAL GEM!!”
Review of Rissington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A REAL GEM!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We return to Rissington time and time again and it never disappoints.

The accommodation is spacious, very clean and very comfortable. The restaurant is simply superb and the staff are friendly and efficient and really go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

If you are planning to stay in the Kruger then I highly recommend a night at Rissington before you go in and again after you come out. If you don't want to stay in the Park then base yourself at Rissington. It's only a ten/fifteen minute drive to the Phabeni Gate so you can easily get to the Park each day and enjoy the game viewing knowing you will be returning to a fabulous meal and comfy bed each night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    137
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
134
298
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Spent 2 nights here at beginning of June and wished it could have been more.
Wonderful accomodation and great food in the restaurant. The little touches In the room such as refreshments and a weather forecast for the next day left during turn down were lovely.
The staff were so helpful and went the extra mile for us and Chris the owner made a great effort to make us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: the cabins overlooking the plain were beautifully presented with great views and were so peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Wonderful staff makes this a great place to stay for a few days. My thanks to Josh, the intern from the UK who makes a great drink at the bar and was attentive about service in general. The turn-down service in the evening was a pleasant surprise. The cookies in the room were a real treat after a long day touring the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odessa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here after a day of exploring the Blyde's river canyon area. The Inn is located down a dirt road that is easy to navigate with a rental car. We were greeted on arrival by a soft spoken friendly staff member and offered a refreshing drink while we checked in. To our delight, we were upgraded to the fabulous "ebony" suite with a private outdoor shower and veranda. We opted to have dinner at the Inn's restaurant and were treated to a delicious meal of lamb and vegetable curry while enjoying the crackling warmth of the lovely fireplace. Very special and romantic experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravel3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Rissigton Inn is nicely located, very close to both the Kruger National Park as the Blyde River Canyon. The rooms a nice and clean, the service outstanding. The food is also very good and a lot of choice...
If you are looking for a stay near Kruger, stop looking and book this lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our second visit- we stayed here 10 years ago. Its got more rooms now but thankfully some things have not changed- immediate feeling of being at home, best food and incredible bird life in the gardens. You relax the minute you arrive.
This time round we had had the trauma of our bags failing to make the trip-left behind in Jo burg. Rissington got on the phone to the airport and I dont know what they said/did but next morning at 7 am we were called to say the bags were found and on a flight due to land at 7.30. Rissington organised a taxi to ferry them to us- saving us a trip back to the airport and allowing us to go ahead with our plans for the day. Great service.

Room Tip: We had Ivory and ebony garden rooms- both big with indoor and outdoor showers- not air conditioned b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Location: Originally a farm but now much extended on a raised elevation looking down on farm land, partially obscured by trees. Investigate directions carefully as not too easy to spot as you drive through Hazyview. Watch out for the sign to the Rissington Inn on the roadside. Then follow a rough track suitable for normal vehicles for about 0.5 mile to the hotel. Hazyview is not a nice place. Do not bother to explore but enjoy the hotel. The town is very busy and bustling, and probably not the safest place to be walking around, definitely at dusk.

Description: a really lovely place owned by a well known writer with obviously lots of character. Plenty to read and inspect such as newspaper articles, photo albums etc all about the owner, his life and the place itself.

Facilities: free internet, good restaurant with great menu choice and friendly young staff. Possible to eat outside on decking if weather OK. Book a table quite early with a nice view. Swimming pool small and warm.

Rooms: En-suite,basic but large and quite adequate..

Parking: very good, possible under shade. Came back to find my car washed! Safe.

Summary: Suggest two nights here as very relaxing. Do not bother to go to town. Take in the easy atmosphere. When you leave and if heading south from Hazyview, be very careful of the road as many serious potholes or big deep ruts across the main road

Room Tip: Try to go for an uipper room. No reason to suggest this, but maybe better security, as ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thanks for the very satisfied review. We are all very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Just a couple of quick points to set any uneasy minds at rest!

Firstly, Hazyview is generally a very safe town for tourists to wander around and Rissington takes security very seriously, so there's no need to worry about that when choosing a room.

Secondly - to avoid the potholed road to/from White River, ignore your GPS and take the R40, not the R538. It is very slightly longer but the road is in much better condition - no potholes and much less traffic.

Hope to see you here again one of these days ...
All the best
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
13.6 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rissington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rissington Inn

Property: Rissington Inn
Address: Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rissington Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings.On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rissington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rissington Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing