We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation and service, wonderful staff”
Review of Rissington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great accomodation and service, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed for three wonderful nights in October - we initially only intended staying one! We were recommended to try Rissington by a third party, sight unseen. What a wonderful surprise - the rooms were spacious, the staff very friendly and welcoming, thanks Kevin and Will. The food was great, with a very varied menu. We were self driving and found it a great place from which to access both Kruger NP and the Panorama Way. After this first visit, we will definitely be returning next year. Highly recommended. A thoroughly nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    139
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
136
304
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in October 2013. Great place to use as a base for the Panorama Route and as a base to jump off into Kruger.
Great food, relaxed feel.
Staff all pleasant and knowledgeable. Even down to bringing you a cold beer (after a very hot day) to drink on your room's veranda.
Car got cleaned for free every morning!
We will definitely be back and this time will probably stay the night before our flight home to relax after safari.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curhalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crimond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We were booked into The Rissington Inn by a third party to stop over between long flights from Scotland and going on our self drive safari in KNP. On arrival, we were made to feel very welcome. Our garden room was very spacious and well presented with the outdoor shower perfect to wash away the travelling feeling! Food and drinks were first class and very reasonably priced. Chris Harvie was the perfect chatty host without being over bearing. We were almost sad to leave although our main holiday was to be the safari. If we manage to return to SA, Rissington Inn will definitely be on our radar! Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was our fifth visit here and we've been looking forward to it since we booked up a year ago. The friendly welcome, delightful rooms, interesting menu and wine list all add to the experience of being near, but not in, the African bush. Even the tap water is delicious! There is now a herb garden for the kitchen to use: fresh herbs always add a special touch. The jacaranda and frangipani were in flower, adding delicious scent to the grounds. Wi-fi is available in the rooms.

There were a couple of very minor problems in our room and these were dealt with almost before we had reported them.

The bed was very comfortable and we love the outside shower. The rooms have heating, which we used, as well as air-conditioning. Such a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: the garden suites are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyrosie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

After a nine hour flight to London and eleven hours to Jo'berg, the Rissington Inn in Hazyview was the perfect spot to catch our breath and relax before going to Kruger National Park. A large property surrounded by farmland and hills, the Inn offered very clean, large rooms and suites, a swimming pool and a superb restaurant with many South African dishes. The staff was friendly and attentive and the owner, Chris Harvie, himself a noted travel writer, was very helpful. Situated close to the Blyde River Canyon area, many private game reserves as well as Kruger, the Rissington Inn was an excellent introduction the South African culture and hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a hillside suite. It has a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful boutique hotel with great rooms and comfortable beds. Like the idea that the rooms have no phones or tv. All of that and computers are available in the main house. And really appreciate the fact that cell phone use is prohibited in the dining area. The jacarandas were in bloom during our one night. The food at this place can't be beat. Everything is the best you have ever tried. And take the time to read the welcome book in your room. We found it most entertaining. Very accommodating staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bigfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just stopped for three nights at Rissington Inn. It is the perfect place to stay for a relaxed informal break. Very comfortable with a great food. Chris and all the staff were delightful and went to a lot of trouble to ensure we had a great stay. The car was even washed on the day of our departure. Ideally located for the wonderful Panorama Route, God's Window etc. Also close to the Kruger. This is a relaxed and very nice place to spend a few days - If we are lucky enough to return to South Africa Rissington Inn is definitely on our agenda. A very welcoming place and great value, querky but in a very nice way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKirkpatrick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
341 reviews
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
816 reviews
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rissington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rissington Inn

Property: Rissington Inn
Address: Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rissington Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings.On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rissington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rissington Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing