We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star treatment for 3 star prices!”
Review of Rissington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“5 star treatment for 3 star prices!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Rissington Inn back in September, during our first trip to South Africa. We were very warmly welcomed by the friendly staff, and after a very welcome cold beer, were shown to our room which was overlooking the beautiful immaculately kept garden. The room was spacious and airy and spotlessly clean. It had an amazing outside shower (very private!) which was very refreshing after a hard days sight seeing in the heat. The menu was really interesting, and everything we tried was delicious and well cooked. The fillet of beef was the best I've ever tasted. We took a picnic each day with us, supplied by the hotel which were always delicious and very civilized as we were provided with proper lates, knives, forks and even cloth napkins! Chris, the owner, has a great sense of humour and he had us chuckling every time we came across him. He was very knowledgable about the area, and told of us a beautiful walk along the Sabi river, where there was a plethora of birds and butterflies which we thoroughly enjoyed. When we settled the bill on our departure, we were very pleasantly surprised as we'd had 5 star treatment for 3 star prices! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area, you will get a very warm welcome and have a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    142
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
143
306
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Rissington is a lovely friendly hotel which for us at least would have been improved by hot weather. We were unlucky with cold rain! Our room was very spacious and we enjoyed both dinner and breakfast very much. The staff were very friendly and eager to please. If I had a comment it would be about slight lack of upkeep and 'finish'.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Unnamed Critic
Thanks for the positive comments about our lovely Rissington. You don't say who you are or in which room or on what date you stayed, which would have helped us to narrow down where what you refer to as the 'finish' might have been lacking, but we had weeks and weeks of rain in December and even after 32 years of praying and running hotels in the Lowveld, I have been unable either to change the weather or paint in the rain. Sorry about that - maybe you know the secret? - but I can assure you that the moment the sun came out, any lack of upkeep or finish would immediately have rectified! Next time come in the winter. The sun shines every single day from March until October. But as you rightly point out, the welcome is sunny every day. Guaranteed. And the food and rooms are excellent too.
All the best
The Named Owner, Chris Harvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice relaxing location, we had a lovely thatched property in the grounds, with a lazy hammock and an outside shower, which was a bit of fun! Sitting on the patio watching a troupe of monkeys. The Inn was staffed by a selection of young people including several gap students, everybody was very friendly and accommodating. We commented that the bedding was a little tired the first day, this was rectified the next day as the owner had just been on a shopping trip to replace all the bedding. Manager very informative and recommended best places to visit and best times to go. The food was very nice and the evenings were warm enough to sit out side on the veranda over looking the pool and grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

we spent two nights at the Rissington Inn. it is a very good run hotel in a nice and quiet location. The staff ist fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. the variety of the menu and the possibility to eat half portions is great. We will come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very good location for Kruger. Lovely basic clean accommodation. The menus is excellent as well as the standard of food and wine. The views from the room are brilliant as you watch the wild life.
Will return ...

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiep389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a very tranquil, relaxed and most. Pleasant place to stay, and very convenient for early entry to Kruger National Park and other fantastic Mpumulanga attractions. The staff are wonderful and it feels like being home from home. The rooms are spacious, rustic, clean and pleasant to stay in. There are no tv's in the room, but really the environment is so pleasant, a tv is the last thing one want. And then.....there is the food. Wow! I have stayed in hundreds of Hotels in my life time, and the breakfast surpasses all - gourmet food with a home cooked feel- most delicious . The lunch and evening meal is of equal standard - very very good. If you don't enjoy the food and atmosphere here then you don't appreciate good food, period. A great place to stay

Room Tip: Overlooking the open felt space is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent only two nights at the Rissington but it was enough to tell us we shall be going back!
Superb, peaceful and relaxed stay. The food was first class and the staff were 'the best'. Here is a hotelier who knows what he's doing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynM656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
837 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 39 in Hazyview
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rissington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rissington Inn

Property: Rissington Inn
Address: Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rissington Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings.On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rissington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rissington Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing