We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, unassuming, authentic place”
Review of Rissington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, unassuming, authentic place”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A little late in writing as our family stayed there last october but worth the wait as they deserve all praise. We had a fabulous experience as we prepared for our Kruger safari and enjoyed the atmosphere tremendously. The food was simple but tasty and delightfully fresh and varied; the staff very accommodating and the rooms well appointed. The General Manager could not have been more hospitable and helpful.

Room Tip: There are some rooms facing a field and you can sit on your verandah with an evening cocktail as zeb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    138
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
134
301
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Returned for my fourth stay, and was as delighted as I have always been with the welcome, accommodation, food and service. "Mahogany"was well placed to enjoy the monkeys and zebra while relaxing on the stoep, sorry the hippos didn't make an appearance! We will be back...(again!)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham sussex
Level Contributor
267 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Super place to relax great rooms and food. The views from the garden rooms is lovely and we had vervet monkeys outside our deck.The staff were friendly and helpful. Nice swimming pool. The road up is very bumpy but fine as long as you drive carefully.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are super and have great view and an outside shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were staying nearby, in a very poor standard B and B and wished we had booked here.

We ate in the restaurant, and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Food was exceptional and wished we had found it earlier in our trip. We had drinks att the bar before our meal, so we could read the menu, and choose at our leisure Couldn't fault it !

Room Tip: We only ate there, but wish we had booked for our 3 nights. The setting was stunning, and all of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueTB2962OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

After a 24 hour journey, we entered paradise. Beautiful gardens, a warm reception and a super suite with a gorgeous view. Upgraded, for witch warmly thanks!
The service is great, the restaurant menu various and the food excellent, bountiful breakfast and an overall very relaxed atmosphere with humor.
The location is perfect for visiting Kruger Park, the Escarpment or just enjoying the beautiful nature when you’re driving to Graskop or Pilgrim’s rest: Blyde Rivier Canyon was my highlight!
But chilling out on the daybed on the suite terrace or by the pool with a nice bottle of south african wine is also an option.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeaTexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Where to start. Rissington Inn was one of my favorites when recently doing a trip in the Hazyview area. The staff were friendly with good humour. It was a great start to our holiday. We felt very relaxed well fed and very informed of what there is to do in the area. The lane leading to Rissington Inn was a bumpy as in deed were many of the lanes to guest houses in this area. We will certainly want to go back to Rissington Inn in the future. The food was excellent and the wine list fabulous and to top it all the prices were all reasonable.

Room Tip: We had the room called Ebony which you could sit out in your hammock and watch the monkeys playing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This Inn is a gift to man kind, hospitality like no other,the staff ever so helpfull ,Owner Chris has created a peacefull haven for a most relaxing holiday,
each room is unique the view fantastic,a good pub after a day out in the krugerpark to take away the thirst,As for the restaurant unforgettable food and service,this is the destination for a quiet holiday,But make no mistake if you chose to be active you can do plenty in the area,Game viewing, pot holes, gods window and gold panning in pilgrims all only a short drive away,
to all friends,and unknown friends this is the place to go!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
462 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rissington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rissington Inn

Property: Rissington Inn
Address: Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rissington Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings.On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rissington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rissington Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing