We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent service.”
Review of Rissington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent service.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

A great hotel in a great location. We spent two night in the garden rooms and were well taken care off by the staff. Particularly liked the outside shower. The restaurant was good and the bar a friendly place for a pre dinner drink. Relaxed but professional. Very clean and comfortable rooms in a very nice garden setting. highly recommended if you are in this region.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    142
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
143
306
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Chris, the owner has created a gem here: No detail is left out. Almost a reincarnation of olden colonial times, but with all the luxuries of a top class facility. I have stayed in many lodges/ hotels/ game park facilities, this ranks right up there with the very best. Very attentive yet discreet staff, varied menu, great wines. Our room called the baobab overlooked the field with zebra roaming. I will return.

Room Tip: Garden room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brentcaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a beautiful spot. The staff were excellent. We had a garden room with a balcony and hammock. The breakfasts lovely and evening meals really good.
Make sure you look at the stars as it is so dark and you can see the milky way so well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in April 2014, the staff were very attentive and could not have been more helpful.

The hotel is located on the edge of Hazyview and is ideally located for local sightseeing.

We were in a garden suite, which was large and comfortable with a bathroom and outside shower.

The grounds were well kept - the only downside was that we didn't get to see the wild Zebras on the lawns while we were there - but that may have been because they had recently cut the grass!!

The food was very good, with large portions and was well presented, but it could do with a larger menu (or more daily specials) for the evening meal if you are staying for more than 3-4 days - not a criticism just a suggestion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallam_Blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This great little hotel is in an ideal location for sightseeing and entry into the Kruger. The staff gave us a very warm welcome and the room was large and comfortable, had to share the outside shower with a frog who didn't seem to mind the shampoo and shower gel. The food in the restaurant was first class and very reasonable. We chose not to have a hire car which, with hindsight, may have been a good idea as the hotel is a little off the beaten track. However we had a great guided trip out to the Blyde River Canyon, the Silk Farm and the Animal Rescue Centre which the staff at the hotel arranged for us. It's not luxury but if you're looking for a small friendly place in a fabulous location you wont go far wrong

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algidaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We loved it. After a long drive from Johannesburg we truly appreciated to arrive to such a quiet and beautiful place. It was just a night, just a stop before the Panorama Route and the game reserve, but it was enough to gain our hearts. It is away from the town centre as all good accomodation in African towns: they have nothing but a bunch of poorly arranged houses and they are not safe to walk, especially when dark.

Service is great. They are very helpful and pleasing. It has a family feel.
Food is also very nice: the crocodile with curry is absolutely gorgeous.

Our room was an independent cottage. They are arranged in a way that your neighbours will never spoil your views. The porch is lovely.
The cottages are beautiful: they have every detail and a huge bathroom - you can choose to shower in the sunshine or inside, a bit of luxury for the country lovers.

And if you are lucky, you will see wild animals in the front yard... We had zebras at sunset :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Inn was a very nice choice. The spacious room was comfortable, clean and well arranged. The restaurant also has a good choice of menu and the meal service was timely and offered generous portions! A good place to stay for Kruger Park. Would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
833 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#3 of 39 in Hazyview
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rissington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rissington Inn

Property: Rissington Inn
Address: Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rissington Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings.On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rissington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rissington Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing