We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great food, highly recommended”
Review of Rissington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2007

Stayed here in May at the recommendation of our trusty Frommer's guide and those that wrote in to Tripadvisor before us. We are very glad we did.

Travelling in May affords many opportunities others never experience: low rates, sparse crowds and more personal service. Rissington provided this and so much more. Comfortable garden rooms with an outdoor shower and large patio area - great for viewing sunsets. The service was informative, pleasant and eager to please - almost wanting us to ask them questions that would make our stay even more memorable. The location, close to Kruger and a perfect springboard to the Panorama Route, was hard to beat, making the rather slow, bumpy drive up to the inn very much worthwhile. The bed, linens and turndown service was impeccable but we must admit, what we loved most about Rissington was the fantastic restaurant on site - large, exquisitely prepared, gourmet meals - each for about R60! We ate there each of our three nights, tried something new every time and were never disappointed.

Many thanks to the staff (Gweneviere and all) that really made our stay complete. You'll be hard pressed to find a better value and experience around Hazyview. We highly recommend this property and when back, will not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2007

We stayed here as a group who were visiting a nearby village we are twinned and are supporting fincancially. The welcome was wonderful. The owner - Chris was so knowledgeable about all African knowledge and in particular our endless local questions as we returned each evening.
The staff were friendly and helpfull - nothing was too much trouble, laundry service excellent.
On our last night a special meal was prepared with a beautifully decorated table.
The pool was wondeful an excellent way to unwind after diffcult days in the village.
Would love to return for a proper holiday to really see the wonderful grounds.
Recomend to anyone, excellent Inn at such reasonable rates!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VallyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

We have been visiting Hazyview for 25 years and had never heard of The Rissington Inn before. We had tried all our usual haunts, Casa do Sol, Pine Lake etc and no-one had vacancies. Using Portfolio booklets, we rang every place listed, until the Rissington Inn. Oh well, how bad could it be? The answer was FABULOUS!!!

We stayed two nights in a downstairs room, where the slope up to the bathroom was a little steep, and one night in a garden room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, we made good friends with some of our fellow guests. It is like staying at a Country House for the weekend, not as if you are a paying customer at all. The bar area is small, but well furnished and the terrace is wonderful, with beautiful views.

The food is extrremely good and quite adventurous. Try their 'Bubble and Squeak", quite unlike any I had ever tasted before. A good selaction of wines too, quite reasonably priced. The after supper parties continued until quite late.

Morning walks with one of the dogs, home made biscuits, a bottle of port in our room on the last night, the Weekly Telegraph and owners/managers with a sense of humour.

We are going again in a month, and are really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2006

We were the first guests to stay in the garden rooms. They were huge and we loved the outdoor shower. We were tired after a few days of early starts on safari and decided to stay in the hotel and relax around the pool. Chris and his team were very hospitable and made us feel very welcome without being intrusive.

On the morning of our departure, we loaded up the car and set off up the drive only to find that the car was struggling to keep going. We grove slowly back to Hazyview to explain the situation. This is when we first realised how amazing the service was in this place. They first tried to organise a replacement car but (with time running out to get to Hoedspruit for the flight to Cape Town) they arranged for a taxi to dash to the airport. We got there as the plane was about to take off - but Rissington had called ahead and they were waiting for us so we made it, and the rest of the holiday continued.

Several weeks later back home in Scotland we opened the credit card bill to find that Europecar had charged us over £1,000 for alleged damage to the undercarriage. We tried to explain that we could not have done any damage as we never left the main roads on the way to Hazyview and had remained in the hotel for the two days - but of course they ignored our request. In desperation I contacted Chris to ask if he could corroborate confirm that we never left the Hotel grounds.

To cut a long story short - not only did he corroborate the story but he was so incensed by the potential damage that this would do to tourism in the area that he personally contacted Europecar and arranged for a full refund!

How’s that for customer service. We vowed if we were ever fortunate enough to go back to the area – there would be only one place to stay. Next month we go back – review to follow!

  • Stayed: October 2003, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rivendell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2006

Stayed 5 nights in "Euphorbia" room. Nice balcony but room and bathroom slightly tired, newer rooms probably better option. Very friendly and helpful staff,nothing too much trouble, nice touches like picnic breakfast if you're off early to the Kruger. Bit puzzled by the gourmet reputation, food rather average though will appeal to many from "middle England" in an old fashioned way. Beautiful setting, real retreat, overall a very pleasant stay in a great base for the Kruger.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank earlybird321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2005

We stayed at the Rissington for two one-night stays, based on the recommendation of a friend. It's a comfortable drive out of Johannesburg, and a good staging point on the way to Kruger national park.

We had one of the deluxe rooms - really half a thatch-roof cottage. The room was quite large and very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom and outdoor shower.

The restaurant was excellent, with a wide selection of both traditional and exotic dishes. There is a pool and a well-stocked reading room.

The staff were very friendly, and the pleasantly eccentric host Chris Harvie made us feel like guests rather than customers. I managed to hurt my back and Harvie went to great lengths to arrange a physiotherapist for me.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two short stays at Rissington Inn. If (when) we visit South Africa again, we'll definitely stay at the Rissington.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PerthTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, England
17
Reviewed 9 November 2004

This has got to be our best ever holiday experience - the friendliest spot we have ever stayed. All the staff were amazing - full of information and willing to share their own travel experiences. We are the sort of guests who are normally sneak off to our own room for a quiet read, but at Rissington the host was exceptional at matching guests with similar interests and engaging them in conversation
I will never forget sundowners on our own patio outside the most charming room imaginable - complete with a roll top bath in the lounge ! Excellant food and wine in beautiful surroundings. The personal touches made you feel like house guests not paying visitors - oh and if you love books dont go into the library - my husband had to drag me away screaming.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 41 in Hazyview
536 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 23 in Hazyview
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rissington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rissington Inn

Address: Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range: £61 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rissington Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings.On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rissington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rissington Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing