We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rissington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This hotel is in a great location for both Kruger National Park and Blydes River Canyon. We can see why many of the guests return again and again as you are very close to one of the gates to the Kruger and within easy reach of the canyon, the three rondevals and Bourkes Luck potholes. The room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable, we ate in the restaurant which was good value for money with a nice choice of dishes, The staff were very friendly and they provided us with a picnic breakfast as our flight times were changed and we had to leave early in the morning. We will definitely stay here when we visit this area again but would stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    135
    31
    3
    2
See reviews for
130
284
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ivry-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Warm welcome, excellent service, nice room
a very good place

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Just came back from s.Africa and a friend suggested we go to Rissington don't have any regrets for the food, wine and espcialy for the friendly faces and the good little bottle of port that was left in our room before leaving will go back one day and stay a little longer!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Over the course of a couple of days spent at Rissington Inn during the World Cup we were very warmly received by Chris and his staff. They helped us get to and from matches in Nelspruit and gave us excellent sightseeing suggestions around Hazyview and the Panorama route. The inn itself is comfortable and charming, as well as down-to-earth and unpretentious. A very secure and relaxing relaxing environment with a lovely restaurant and bar. We would happily recommend it to anyone and look forward to going back someday!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicksinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

We were in South Africa for two weeks during the World Cup. We started off our trip with visiting Kruger Park before we tackled the urban atmosphere of Jozy and Cape Town. All I can say is that, out of all the places we stayed in, Rissington was our favorite.. The staff is fantastic. It's like one big family. Chris, the owner, is an absolute delight.
My husband and I had a bit of a trip interruption and missed our first day at the Rissington. When we checked in the following day, they upgraded us to the Acacia room, to compensate for the first night we missed. We thought that was so nice of them. The rooms are all absolutely gorgeous. FYI ladies, they even have great hair dryers :)
The food is delicious. Please try the crocodile kebabs! Wake up for the breakfast, it is quite a spread! If you have them pack a picnic for you, please try the roast beef./spicy mustard sandwich!! To die for!!
If you really want to experience the true essence of Rissington, spend time at the bar. Your glass is never empty and there are multiple mind games to play with while you sip on your drink and chat with the staff. We also spotted baboons running around the front yard.
This is the first review I have ever written about a place. That's how good this place is. Visit South Africa, the country is beautiful and the people are great! Ayoba!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BushraKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

A wonderful place to relax after a day on safari, or from the hectic pace of city life. You know you're in for something special when there are signs on the electric fence warning you about hippos, and open-air showers with beautiful views of the valley below. The staff were charming and saw to our every need. The bar is a great place to hangout and and talk with the owner who is an absolute riot. Food was cooked to order, and plentiful. The staff prepared picnic breakfasts for our safari, and had everything ready to go at the 5AM start. We very much enjoyed the experience and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougF111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed one night at the Rissington Inn and was very satisfied with our stay. The room was spotless clean, food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Chris gave us good advise on our trip to the Kruger and with his route and some good luck we witnessed a Cheetah kill right in front of us. ;-)

Ewan

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jockmctavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
13.7 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rissington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rissington Inn

Property: Rissington Inn
Address: Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rissington Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings.On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rissington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rissington Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing