We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you enjoy frozen food warmed up?”
Review of The Ant and Elephant Restaurant - CLOSED

The Ant and Elephant Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Do you enjoy frozen food warmed up?”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were four persons each having a different item from the menu. Not one of us were impressed. Clearly most of the meals are items bought from standard shops and kept frozen until required. The vegetables were not fresh and nor did any of the meals require chef intervention.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MES196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real good hosts , great food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A group of likeminded Vespa riders had dinner at the restaurant on Saturday, Wow really great hosts, Simone and Warren . Paid attention to our wants and needs and gave the table a grand experience. All enjoyed their meals. Can absolutely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vis1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“WOW the food is brilliant not to be missed”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

as the title suggests the food is the best I have had in a very long time . (you would have to travel a long way in Africa to find better if you could )
the owners and staff are first rate , the food honestly is to die for , the menu has good choices and servings were very generous.
my family called twice during our 2 week stay in Hazyview and would recommend you try the ant and elephant .
I had pork in sweet chilly (I couldn't eat it all and boy I can eat ) , my wife had the pork chops and ended up with 3 on her plate with all the trimmings , the chicken and prawn curry is also highly recommended as are the steaks . trusts me you wont leave the place disappointed .

if there is a draw back to the place it could do with the drive resurfaces .
but that's neither here or there , don't miss the place ,
its just up the Sabie road about 3-4 Klm from hazyview junction on the left 500 mts past the Tank pub and elephant sanctuary .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOPCATDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazyview, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Meal - relaxed evenning”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Food was good and the hosts were really pleasant people. Service was good - menu had good choices and servings were generous. Value was reasonable and wine prices not too high

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jos883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A fantastic meal with wonderful hosts! Extremely good value for money and our every need was catered for!
Thank you x

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ant and Elephant Restaurant also viewed

 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing