We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Africa Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Stather, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South Africa Tour”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights in February. It was a lovely hotel the managers and staff could not have been more welcoming. The chalets were lovely with all mod cons, very comfortable. A mini tornado on our second night made this visit one never to forget but the hotel staff were brilliant. Recommend this hotel to anyone.

Mr & Mrs Brown

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Mr. & Mrs. Brown

It gives us great pride having to be a part of your unforgettable experience. Thank you for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    368
    113
    49
    20
See reviews for
210
452
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We actually did see some hippos at dusk! We stayed just one night in one of the "chalets" on the edge of the river and had a great view of the hippos when they came at dusk (about 8 pm). If you are looking for a rustic experience, this is it. The chalet had a great deck over looking the river, but the rest was pretty bare bones. No air conditioning, no screens on the windows and the staff told us to shut the windows before dark because of the bugs. I can definitely live without a TV, clock and modern appliances, furniture, etc...but it was WAY too hot--we were there in early January. The chalets definitely need updating and SCREENS! They do have motel-style room that have air conditioning, but we did no go into any of the...they do not have great views.

The breakfast buffet was good, but the rest of the food (diner options) was pretty marginal and there is nothing else near. The pool area is very nice and the pool was clean and refreshing. The staff was helpful and nice.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay during the heat of the summer, select a room with air conditioning. During cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We do keep things simple in the chalets and are happy that you enjoyed the pool area and the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I agree with recent reviews of the helpful staff. However, if you are planning on staying here during the summer months, you need to know that there is no a/c and the room can be quiet stifling. If you can overlook the dismal lighting, the out-dated appliances, no tv, no clocks, and the bugs, then you might find this property "charming". Our brouchere had stated,"airconditioned rooms, with satelite tv". After 3 days at a 5* safari game lodge, this was a complete disappointment! I would never stay here again or recommend this property!We saw a few hippos as we ate dinner in the restaurant- no crocs. I would compare the quality of the room with a Motel 6 room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingram_13, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your comments. You stayed in one of our chalets which do not have air conditioning but are equipped with fans. We do however have 54 hotel rooms that are equipped with satellite TV and air conditioning and would gladly have moved you to one of those if we were aware of your concerns. We value your comments and thank you for taking the time to write to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed in this fabulous hotel in October 2012 for 2 nights as part of an organised tour of South Africa. The accommodation was faultless - our room was in a quad with a lawn and pool in the centre. The food was an excellent buffet with a wide variety of food to choose from including indigenous wild animal meats. The river Sabie ran through the grounds bellow the terrace and Hippos would come in the evening and graze on the grass. Walking along the river a stumbled across a crocodile basking on the bank - so beware your are really in wild africa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 64Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingram_13, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for writing to us about your experience here at Hippo Hollow. It is wonderful to know that you left us with a wonderful experience that you will remember for a long time and that we could make your trip to South Africa a satisfying one.
We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We have arrived home from a wonderful holiday which started with our 5 day stay at this delightful relaxing resort. Nomsa is lovely and very helpful as were all the staff. Service was excellant with a local flavour. Everyone is friendly and we felt part of a big family. There was plenty of choice for breakfast of fresh local produce. We particularly liked the thatched rustic huts we were upgraded to looking out over the river with no TV (yippee)and no internet (double yippee). Plenty of time to relax and catch mother hippo up to her antics.Great beds and very clean. The only thing we could fault was the water sometimes became rusty and didnt taste to good but some bottled water solved that problem. The walk passed the entrance, over the bridge and up the valley is a must for an early morning start to the day. Delightful through the orchards and with some lovely views. Pools were excellant and the Sangara(??) performers were very talented and fun. It is close to activities in the area and a wonderful introduction to South Africa.

Room Tip: The huts facing the river are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingram_13, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience at Hippo Hollow. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and surroundings as well as the Shangaan dancers.
We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I have read recent reviews and I cannot understand the disappointment of some people that the extraordinary luxury was not found there - I am not saying that everything was perfect but if you have a complain and bring it to the attention of the manager or employee, they take action immediately. Water is indeed rusted,the water was running from the shower to the room, but the moment we have announced they sent people to repair it, and in the bathroom were three bottles all with shampon. That was all the discontent. Otherwise: houses are great, each with its her own terrace with table and chairs and barbecue place. Rooms are clean, pool is clean, food is very good, varied and tasty breakfast, staff very helpful, but what makes this place great is the location and the beautiful view. It is located right next Elefants Sanctuary, and other attractions in the area. If you book a safari in Kruger Park, the car coming up the morning and the hotel arrange your to take cold breakfast with you. I do not give 5 stars only because dirty water from bathroom and the lack of toiletries. But I will definitely recommend it - It is a splendid place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingram_13, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review on Hippo Hollow after your stay with us.
We appreciate it and hope to welcome you back here again soon.
Best regards from the whole team at Hippo Hollow Country Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My family booked 2 chalets in December at Hippo hollow, great location with amazing views. But the service from the staff was very bad. When we areived we asked for a small bath as our rooms had showers only and we were travelling with infats and this one lady said we must go and buy one, another lady overheardthe conversation and arranged one for us. Our rooms were not cleaned properly, we never had soap refils during our stay. The one night therewas a storm and the roof was leaking and the blinds were broken, too wet to go outside but could'nt ask for help as there are no phones in the rooms - shocking!!! When we advised the staff at reception the next day all they said was "okay", didn't apilogise, nothing. The stay there was so unpleasant and will not be going there ever again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virgillatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingram_13, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Unfortunately Hippo Hollow Country Estate has experienced industrial action as with the rest of our country over the festive season. A "go slow" was undertaken by a select few staff members and compromised the ability to deliver our usual hospitality standards.
Regarding the thatch roofs, we had exceptionally heavy rain and thatch roofs have a tendency to be compromised with extreme weather.
Thank you for your comments. This helps us to improve on our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.9 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Property: Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing