We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tour of South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tour of South Africa”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Lovely room overlooking the pool. It was a bit dark but well equipped. The dining room looked onto the river where the hippos can be seen. Breakfast was good but laid out poorly so queues formed. The packed breakfast we were given for early starts to the Kruger was very good. Staff were very helpful . Welcoming cold towels were provided whenever we returned from visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsearchagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
It is always great to receive feedback from our guests, especially when it could help us improve. We are glad to know you had such a welcoming and relaxing experience at Hippo Hollow. We hope to welcome you back in the not too far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    371
    114
    49
    20
See reviews for
213
455
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seamer
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights iat the end of February. It was a nice hotel the managers and staff could not have been more welcoming. The rooms where big with all mod cons, (if a little dated) and very comfortable. A rain storm erupted on our first night and the power was out - also the hotel stand by generator failed!! so we where in the dark for most of the night. the staff tried to help but there was simply not enough of them at that time of day. we had an early start on 2 mornings and tea/coffee whas available and a packed breakfast was supplied.
I also went for a microlite flight, its just up the road, it was good value for money.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be around a central lobby with a bar and a green overlooking the hippos (on occasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardseamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Mr. Seamer,

It brings us great pride to know that your experience with the staff was so welcoming. Thank you for sharing your thoughts - we are happy to know that your stay here was so comfortable and valued. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

A very welcoming hotel. We saw a hippo at night. Nice enough room, reasonable beds. Slightly dated bathroom. 2 small pool areas, one by conference centre so no ideal when there is a conference! Not really set up for a pool holiday but that's fine as its on the doorstep of Kruger.
I would stay again but wouldn't rush to, I think there would be more interesting or boutique like small hotels.
The African night was a great spectacle but the food was disappointing & so that evening felt over priced.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Redstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Your feedback is very valuable to us & we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. It gives us great pleasure to know that you received such warm welcome and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We truly believe that all your expectations will be exceeded upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Stather, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights in February. It was a lovely hotel the managers and staff could not have been more welcoming. The chalets were lovely with all mod cons, very comfortable. A mini tornado on our second night made this visit one never to forget but the hotel staff were brilliant. Recommend this hotel to anyone.

Mr & Mrs Brown

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Mr. & Mrs. Brown

It gives us great pride having to be a part of your unforgettable experience. Thank you for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We actually did see some hippos at dusk! We stayed just one night in one of the "chalets" on the edge of the river and had a great view of the hippos when they came at dusk (about 8 pm). If you are looking for a rustic experience, this is it. The chalet had a great deck over looking the river, but the rest was pretty bare bones. No air conditioning, no screens on the windows and the staff told us to shut the windows before dark because of the bugs. I can definitely live without a TV, clock and modern appliances, furniture, etc...but it was WAY too hot--we were there in early January. The chalets definitely need updating and SCREENS! They do have motel-style room that have air conditioning, but we did no go into any of the...they do not have great views.

The breakfast buffet was good, but the rest of the food (diner options) was pretty marginal and there is nothing else near. The pool area is very nice and the pool was clean and refreshing. The staff was helpful and nice.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay during the heat of the summer, select a room with air conditioning. During cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We do keep things simple in the chalets and are happy that you enjoyed the pool area and the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I agree with recent reviews of the helpful staff. However, if you are planning on staying here during the summer months, you need to know that there is no a/c and the room can be quiet stifling. If you can overlook the dismal lighting, the out-dated appliances, no tv, no clocks, and the bugs, then you might find this property "charming". Our brouchere had stated,"airconditioned rooms, with satelite tv". After 3 days at a 5* safari game lodge, this was a complete disappointment! I would never stay here again or recommend this property!We saw a few hippos as we ate dinner in the restaurant- no crocs. I would compare the quality of the room with a Motel 6 room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingram_13, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your comments. You stayed in one of our chalets which do not have air conditioning but are equipped with fans. We do however have 54 hotel rooms that are equipped with satellite TV and air conditioning and would gladly have moved you to one of those if we were aware of your concerns. We value your comments and thank you for taking the time to write to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed in this fabulous hotel in October 2012 for 2 nights as part of an organised tour of South Africa. The accommodation was faultless - our room was in a quad with a lawn and pool in the centre. The food was an excellent buffet with a wide variety of food to choose from including indigenous wild animal meats. The river Sabie ran through the grounds bellow the terrace and Hippos would come in the evening and graze on the grass. Walking along the river a stumbled across a crocodile basking on the bank - so beware your are really in wild africa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 64Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingram_13, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for writing to us about your experience here at Hippo Hollow. It is wonderful to know that you left us with a wonderful experience that you will remember for a long time and that we could make your trip to South Africa a satisfying one.
We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.9 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Property: Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing