We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Thatched roof gets you in the mood for Safari.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at Hippo Hollow for two nights while visiting Krugar. Loved the traditional look of the hotel and the gardens. First impressions were great. Disappointing that you could hear the traffic from the main road while on the beautiful patio overlooking the river. We only had a very basic room and wished for a better one overlooking the river. We kept a close look out for the advertised hippos or crocs but nothing but a pair of geese. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service was good. I found it difficult to get a drink at the bar before dinner. The bar was only ever manned by one member of staff. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkEvertonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the food and appreciate any comments that could help us improve our services in the bar.

I wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Extremely attentive and helpful staff, wonderful food and incomparable location. Grounds alive with not only the well-publicised hippos and crocs, but dozens of beautiful bird species, Vervet monkeys and, at the right time of day, the elephants from neighbouring Elephant Whispers, bathing in the river. Try to get a table for breakfast at the front of the Restaurant overlooking the river - absolutely perfect.

Stewart & Jean Cross

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking one of the pools, which we loved because of the bird life. But all accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewartCrossCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Having had the opportunity to be a part of making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. I am so happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed nature on your doorstep. The staff was so grateful for your kind words and wishes to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a special place for our family. We had a chalet on the river. Cozy, lovely grass roof and wood beams and our daughter loved the loft. Seeing Hippos on the lawn was awesome and the staff and food were great.

Room Tip: loved the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family into ours and we would like to thank you for your feedback.

Knowing that you enjoyed the room and the food brings us great joy.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow, where you arrived as guests but left as our friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Another good surprise during our trip to South Africa. Never being here before you just don't know what to expect. We were very pleased with the facilities. From the start we were met by friendly staff that welcomed us to the hotel and showed us to our rooms. Unfortunately, after we unpacked we found that we did not have any water. They immediately moved us to another room. No problem. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly and the food at dinner was very good. Recommend trying the crocodile skewers and the Springbock roast. The breakfast buffet was also good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfdmedicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Having the opportunity to be a part of making your trip such a memorable one brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. I am very happy to know that you received a true warm welcome and that you were taken care of. I look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly staff, escorted to our cabin and that is when the friendliness ceased. The rest of the staff were quite surly and we felt that they were doing us a favour by serving us. The exception to the rule was Gustav the manager who could not do enough for us and ensured that our needs were met.

The cabin was tired and dark and the lack of heating in winter made it quite uncomfortable. The river views from the veranda were beautiful but unfortunately we were not blessed with seeing any hippos.

The breakfasts were very good but the buffet dinner was uninspiring, cold and frankly overpriced. The a la carte menu on the other hand was very good and the food was freshly prepared and very tasty.

The location close to elephant Whispers and the Kruger park is excellent and the biggest draw to the hotel.

Room Tip: The river view cabins are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy to know that you received such a warm welcome. We are very lucky to have Gustav on our team and he would like to take this oppertunity to thank you for your kind words.

The Lowveld does tend to get quite cold during winter nights therefore each chalet is fully equipped with a heater and blankets in the cupboards. Management would have been more than happy to provide you with extra blankets, had it been brought under their attention.

Our dinner menu is based on African Cuisines and I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed it. I wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed together with an organised 15 day S African tour package for the first 3 nights in this wonderful setting, and loved it. The resort is a mixture of old style thatched cottages, some of them for self catering families right beside the river, and a square brick-built two-story block of Indiviual en-suite rooms overlooking a garden and pool. I had one of these, with a view of the pool on one side and the car park on the other and although I have read a critical review from a previous guest, about noise from the car park, this was probably caused by an early morning departure on a game drive by some guests and not the fault of the hotel. I did have one problem with the fire alarm high up in my room bleeping all through the night, probably needing its battery replacing, and since there is no phone in the room I had to go over to Reception in person to try to get something done about it, which was not really forthcoming at 10.30 at night, so perhaps telephonic connection with Reception should be installed - we don't all travel with mobile phones! However, apart from that the staff were all willing and friendly, my room was clean and everything else worked. The grounds are well maintained and very pretty in a lovely setting beside the Sabie River. I thought the buffet food was very good indeed - especially the meat barbequed before us. We were a large group all wanting to eat at once so we did have to queue but how else could it be handled? The resort is only a short drive to any of the nearby gates to Kruger National Park, and the hotel provides an adequate packed breakfast for early mornings, if required. It feels safe and even the monkeys which try to invade the main reception and restaurant area at times are kept a safe distance and we saw a crocodile basking on one of the far sandbanks of the river, but no hippos on this occasion, despite its name!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

It is an absolute delight knowing that you thoroughly got to experience true African nature at Hippo Hollow.

I take great pride in the Hippo Hollow team and I am grateful that you were treated with care. Thank you for your kind and honest words.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of our South African tour . It is a perfect stopover for Kruger park being only 20-30 min from the gate. The accommodation we stayed in was in individual thatched huts for 2 some have tvs and fridges and others don't so ask for these when booking . Rooms a bit dark but its all part of the charm with the thatched roof . Two nice heated pools and even though it was winter we had a lovely swim. Hotel is on the Sabi river and seemingly hippos can sometimes be seen on the hotel grounds in the evening but we didn't see any. We did see a crocodile however.
There is free internet only in the reception area but it is very slow and doesn't always work . A good buffet dinner was 165 rand ( about £12) and had roast springbok at the carvery. Desserts were very good. Breakfast was usual fare and very tasty but dishes of food could be organised a little better to avoid congestion
Rooms comfortable and very quiet at night.Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share it with us.
I am glad to know that you enjoyed our swimming facilities and in particular the friendliness of the staff. I do hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
410 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
920 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: R40, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £67 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing