We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippos and crocs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hippos and crocs”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Located 15 minutes from the Gruger National park, I have experience sleeping in a rustic style challet by the river, populated by hippos and crocodiles even a piton paid a visit 10 meter from my terrace, all in a secure and safe stay, you can have dinner watching the hippos grazing by hotels gardens.The elephant sanctuary is just next door in a walking distance you can even book a elephant ride piking you up from the hotels premises. There is small village about 500 meter where you can find anything you need from restaurants, deli, handcraft, stilish Africa gifts. A great and friendly service by Alifia the waiter and the duty manager Melani. I definitely will come back and bring my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Alifi and myself, would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. It is through guest feedback that the staff at Hippo Hollow stay motivated in order to upkeep and improve on our service standards & products that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow, where you arrived as our guest, but left as our friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    383
    117
    49
    20
See reviews for
228
468
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife visited here in September last year & promised to return with me in November
We requested a river view room ( as she had stayed previously ) & although e-mail was received these rooms were taken by a large coach party guests
Our garden room was very adequate but we had to report a toilet door that did not shut & a very dangerous hairdryer where the flex had been taped together !!
Our visit coincided with 3 coach parties so timing of evening dinner & breakfast was advisable
Evening dinner was excellent, my wife had Ostrich which was very good & my steak was perfect
All this whilst sitting by open glass doors overlooking illuminated river bank with 3 hippo's parading for about an hour during dinner, what a bonus

Room Tip: Try to choose the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback.

We are glad to know you had such a wonderful experience in the dining room and that the company provided next to the river, planted some good memories.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Been there twice already, which says a lot since I never revisit hotels or lodges. We stayed for a total of 6 nights and it was simply great. Especially the river chalets!! A true gem! The name of the estate sponsors what you will receive! The staff, facilities etc were all to our uttmost satisfaction. It's also a great location if you are traveling around and just need a place to stay. It is somewhat pricey, but it is worth every single bit of it! The second time we stayed at the garden chalet which was not quite as impressive as the river chalet. Believe me - spend the extra money! Food is great too, rooms great, furniture very inviting and excellently fitting! I will return for sure!

Room Tip: River Chalet is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildChild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Your kind words are what motivate us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly are privileged with the nature and wild surrounding us.

The Hippo Hollow family looks forward to welcoming you back for your third trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

we stayed a couple of nights in august and loved it!
we had a lodge so used the BBQ, we watched the geckos and chameleons run around and had gin and tonics while watching the hippos on the hotel lawn a few feet away.
did a great safari at Kruger and staff couldn't be friendlier.

highly recommended.

Room Tip: book a cottage overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us brings us great joy. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely hotel set on small river that hippos visit at night. Easy access to the Kruger National Park and 2 elephant sanctuaries. Hotel rooms are very nice and the restaurant provides a very good buffet of al a carte menu

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee9798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. It brings us great joy knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding areas.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a three night stay as part of a tour group in November. Our thatched chalet overlooked the Sabie river in a very attractive location, close to Kruger National Park. The room was spacious, a little on the dark side with a very good bathroom with high powered shower. Rooms had effective ceiling fan. The restaurant in the hotel was ok, nice meals but nothing special (there are also restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk which may be worth trying; we only tried the Belgium coffee shop which was very good. Service at the hotel was mixed some good but some staff seemed indifferent, and we had to shout on one occasion to get someone to serve us as we were been ignored. Some of our fellow guests had similar experiences; so overall average. The views on the terrace were lovely and we saw hippos in the evening, a small crocodile and elephants on the hillside during the day. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We strive to upkeep and improve on our services & products through guest feedback and would like to thank you for providing us with yours.

Management regards any guest inconvenience as a very serious matter and assures you that it would have been dealt with great urgency were it brought under their attention.

We truly are privileged with the nature and wild life surrounding us and are happy that you were able to experience it with us. We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow Country Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macroom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and myself stayed at your hotel for two nights (21 - 23 October 2013). we found the hotel and its facilities very satisfactory and the staff all pleasant and helpful. However, having given our postcards (22 in total) to the reception for posting, and being assured that they would do so, we have now been home for over two weeks and not one of the postcards have been delivered. We find this very disappointing.

We would appreciate hearing your views on this matter, and in the meantime remain,

Best regards

Joan and Erwin Mueller

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErwinMuellerMacroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Mueller

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad that you received such warm and friendly service.

Regarding your post cards, we make a point of it to take all our guests post cards through to the post office, though posting post cards through the Hazyview postal office has been known to take a bit longer than from more established CBD areas.

We hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
831 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Property: Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing