We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hippos and the Crocs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved the Hippos and the Crocs”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We only got to stay here one night between leaving Kruger and heading back to Jo-Burg but it was a lovely night. Upon arrival we were greeted at the car and brought tea to enjoy during check in. The grounds are beautiful and we loved that you can see Hippos and Crocs on the property. The bar was very nice as was the restaurant on site. The have breakfast in the morning which was also good. The only complaint I would have is the grounds and room are very nice- but the bathroom was a little gross- I don't know if it was mold or just not being cleaned well enough but otherwise really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsaavedra555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We regard guest feedback as very valuable to us and consider each review as an opportunity to upkeep and improve on our products and services that we offer at our establishment. Thank you for providing us with yours.

Please be assured that your concern will be attended to with great urgency.
We do wish that you would return to Hippo Hollow Country Estate and that you’ll consider staying a little while longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    379
    115
    49
    20
See reviews for
219
460
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emalahleni, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Pure bliss! For a peaceful and relaxing getaway, Hippo Hollow is definitely the answer.
Professional friendly staff, and such a cozy atmosphere. What more could you ask for?
A MUST DO when you're in the Hazyview area!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Having had the opportunity to be part of making your trip such a memorable one brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Knowing that your stay with us has met all your expectations is what keeps us motivated. The staff at Hippo Hollow would like to thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Ive never stayed anywhere like it - the rooms had a real african theme and were spacious with a huge double walk in shower.

The restaurant food was amazing with good service from the staff. Lovely terrace area outside overlooking a river/lake inhabited by hippos and crocs. Able to watch the monkeys in the early morning but watch your belongings!

Hotel provided a show with tribal singing/dancing and great african buffet.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Knowing that we were part in making your trip a true African experience brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and the staff would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow Country Estate in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A stunning location as well as being very clean and welcoming.

The rooms are charming and the food at the buffet was just unbelievable and absolutely amazing value for money.

Very close to Krugar park as well as having its own wildlife on site, including hippos, crocodiles and monkeys. Lots of biting insects too so be sure to cover up and spray! All adds to the charm!

You have to try the traditional risks for the early morning brekkie before safari. I'll let you decide whether they are nice or not! Remember to dunk them, or you may break your teeth!!!

Excellent service! Loved it all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Softpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

It brings us great delight knowing that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Our focus is to bring a true African experience to all guests and we are privileged to have it topped off with the incredible nature that surrounds us.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour of South Africa. It is well located for Kruger park and has a pleasant river setting, although it is a shame that the noise from the main road was always audible from the terrace. We did not see hippos but we did see lots of birds and a large crocodile on the banks.

The food was ok although breakfast was a little disappointing as there were no fresh eggs and there were lots of flies on the fruit etc.

We enjoyed the African singing and dancing show.

The pools were lovely, particularly the one near the chalets as it was bigger. They were both refreshing!

The room was spacious with an extremely comfortable bed.

The wifi was a little unreliable and the free allowance seemed to run out very quickly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We strive to upkeep and improve on the products and services we offer at our establishment through guest feedback and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing us with yours.

We are glad that our rooms met your expectations and that the bed provided you with a good nights rest.
Please be assured that all matters mentioned are a great concern to us and will be dealt with in an urgent manner.

We hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently stayed at H H Country Estate. I made the booking via credit card. We stayed two nights and did not have hot water. Management could not rectify the problem and we were given the choice of piling into a vehicle with our toiletries and be shipped elsewhere for a shower or bath. I declined. I complained and mentioned that I shall withhold payment. That was the queue for H H to quickly run the full amount through on my c card before checking out. Upon complaining I was offered a measly 20% discount which I rejected out right.

Be warned since you may suffer the same fate! Also note that this establishment is geared for international visitors and have no time for SA visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Here at Hippo Hollow we stay motivated & inspired through guest feedback, because it creates an opportunity for us to upkeep or improve on the products and services that we offer.

We do our best to handle each unforeseen circumstance we find ourselves in, to the best of our ability. We approach each of these circumstances through direct guest contact and would not take any action without the authorization of our guests. Our establishment is based on policies and procedures that we strictly adhere to. Your booking required pre-payment on which you gave us full permission via email to process payment on your credit card.

Since we were fully booked we were not able to give you another room, yet offered on our expenses to accommodate you the best way we possibly could. Upon trying our best to rectify the matter during your stay, we also offered a discount as compensation on check out.

The staff at Hippo Hollow takes great pride in their work and is disappointed that your experience with us was filled with discontentment. We wish that you would return to us in the future to experience the service we are well renowned for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

oh I loved this hotel mainly - food cheap drink cheap and the market and shopping centre about 15 mins walk amazing
my room was lovely B U T it overlooked the car park and the coaches revving up at 4am woke me up which I really was not pleased about so take care when rooms are allocated and do not accept a room overlooking the car park
initially the signs informing about hippos and crocs did worry me but soon forgotten when sitting on the terrace with my wonderfully priced G&T out of the river came a hippo to graze on the lawn - no it was not the gin really - the lawn is policed by security guards who ensure visitors are on the terrace when the hippo and crocs come out of the river so you are safe but what a lovely afternoon
there is a dance and buffet show which although a little on the amateur side is full of charm and absolutely lovely with the music and dancing
altogether a lovely hotel

Room Tip: do not choose overlooking car park - coaches revving at 4am in morning for trips to kruger will wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We truly are privileged to be surrounded with such extraordinary nature and wildlife and are glad that you were able to experience it on our doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow Country Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
340 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.8 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.9 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Property: Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing