We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After traveling for what seemed like a lifetime, we arrived at this quaint, welcoming spot of Hippo Hollow. We were greeted outside like they were waiting for us the entire time. From the outside it felt authentic South African, but when they took us to our rooms you thought you were in a quaint countryside with brick building laden with ivy. The staff was more than accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. The food was superb, and the view! The view was exciting. We had dinner with a Hippo! I would recommend Hippo Hollow to everyone who wants to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaytread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

It brings us great joy knowing that you received such a warm and friendly welcome. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are very lucky to have such a strong team who take great pride in what they do and they would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. Knowing that all your expectations were met is certainly what motivates us.

We hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow Country Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at Hippo Hollow for two nights while a one week trip with a group in South Africa, organized by a german travel agencx. Next gate to Kruger Park is about 20 minutes away and so ideal for start a safari in early morning.
The Hotel is surrounded by a beautyful garden with river view, where you can see Hippos also from dining room and terrasse at night while eating. In morning I saw also elephants from the sanctuary across the river.
The restaurant was nice and menue offered some local food (I had Kudu staek). Rooms in main building where clean and comfortable with a small balcony,
I liked the short stay in hotel surrounded by nature and animals.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Having had the opportunity to being part of your trip brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

We are very privileged with our surroundings and in particular very lucky to have such a dedicated team to maintain it.
Our restaurant focuses on traditional African cuisines and is very happy that you enjoyed the meals we had to offer.

Thank you for your kind words and we wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed here for a portion of my honey-moon to relax and spend time on a Safari in Kruger National Park. This is a wonderful setting only 15 minutes from the gate at Kruger. Two of the 4 nights hippos were grazing outside my chalet (#2) overlooking the Sabie River. Great food in the restaurant and great staff made this a wonderful experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It brings us great joy knowing that we were part of such a special occasion. We are delighted that you found all our products and services suitable for your needs and hope that you managed to take a lot of photos in order to take all the precious memories back home.

We hope that you will return to Hippo Hollow in the future for a celebratory anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Hippo Hollow for two nights, with my wife’s sister and husband from Australia. The hotel is ideal situated for the Kruger Park with the Phabeni Gate only 15 minutes away. It is close to Sabie and Graskop so the Panorama Route is within easy access. You can visit numerous waterfalls, God’s Window, Bourke’s Luck Potholes and the Blyde River Canyon with the Three Rondavels View. The old historical mining town of Pilgrim’s Rest is also worth a visit.
The Hippo Hollow estate is set in gardens, with beautiful river front views, along with Hippos in the river. There is also the Shangaan native dancing display arranged in the evenings which was enjoyable and not to be missed.
The Restaurant has good views over the river and you can eat while watching the Hippos in the river. If you are lucky you may also see the elephants in the sanctuary across the river. The food is good and plenty of it. If there is one criticism of the staff. It was our experiance that they tend to pander to the “foreign” tourist at the expense of locals.
We stayed in the main Hotel building, although had asked for a river front Chalet, so we were somewhat disappointed with this. Although the rooms were clean and neat and adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

We are very privileged to be located in a area where we are surrounded by such beautiful nature and the extraordinary wild life it has to offer. We are in particular very glad that you got to experience this on our door step.

We offer a variety of African based cuisines and are delighted to know that you enjoyed it.
Not sure how you never got your room as we are decorum on assigning the correct room types to our guests. We process these requests or allocations if you will, on a daily basis.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Hippo Hollow for three nights. The booking had been made by an Australian travel agent through contacts in South Africa. The only complaint we had was that the South African travel agent said that Hippo Hollow was only 10 minutes from Kruger - we think 20 minutes more accurate however there did not seem too much accommodation closer. The Hippo Hollow room surroundings were very nice and the gardens beautiful. The vista from the bar and restaurant down to the waterway was great. An unusual aspect was the hippos that came up to graze on the lawn just in front of the windows each evening. The display of native dancing arranged for two of the evenings was very exciting.We enjoyed ourselves and felt we received value for the money we spent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Terence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us. It brings us great joy knowing we were able to be a part in making your trip such a memorable one.

We are privileged to be surrounded by true African nature and are very lucky to have such a strong team to maintain and upkeep the beauty thereof. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we stayed in hippo hollow for 2 nights and we must say it was one of the best experiences of our 15 day long honeymoon trip.... it was a pleasant weather in Dec 2013 and the excitement of being close to Kruger was nice... the hotel is situated on the banks of a small river which has a dam just upstream from the hotel... this water body is home to 3-4 hippos who come outside in the grassland to graze... u are very close to them while sitting in the open restaurant (just a few metres away)... so u kinda eat with the hippos... we enjoyed the swimming pool a lot as well which is there in the center of the courtyard... the rooms also have a normal, forest touch so don't expect a modern, luxurious feel.. !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fear1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Knowing we were part in making your trip such a memorable one is what motivates us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed all our restaurant has to offer as well as our pool facilities. Thank you for your kind words.
We hope you took a lot of photos to take these memories back home and to cherish for a long time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow for your first and many more to come anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at Hippo Hollow for 1 night; 30 April 2014; having booked there because we had eaten at the restaurant previously and were happy with the overall experience.
I was quoted R1200 bb by Senna but when I called back I was told by the gentleman who helped me that it was R1,600 bb. He offered no explanation or apology for the change in price whatsoever.

We were booked in by a very friendly lady but were very disappointed when we got to our room to see that there was no airconditioner or television. There was also no key for the patio door. The impression of the room was that it had not been maintained properly for some time. The shower did not drain and the kitchen counter had ants all over it. Three of the lights were not working.

For R1,600 per night we expected better and will most certainly not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Thank you.
Ken Cant 083 250 3260 "kencant@gmail.com"
Charmaine Dettmer 082455 9467"charmaine.dettmer@gmail.com"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kencant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We strive to improve on our products and services through guest feedback and would like to take this opportunity to thank your for providing us with yours.

We are very glad that you enjoyed all the restaurant has to offer.

Your booking was made over the Easter period and our rates do vary over busy periods and tends to fluctuate with demand.

We approach all issues through direct guest contact and had these matters been brought under the attention of management I assure you it would have been rectified immediately. Our patio doors all secured with 3 door latches that is operated from the inside.

We are disappointed that you left us with such discontent but hope that you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
882 reviews
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £80 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing