We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'At one' with the Hippos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“'At one' with the Hippos”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent two nights at this fantastic hotel in the main rooms. Staff were incredibly friendly and sincere with great advice on what to do in the local area. This place is perfectly located for all activities in the hazyview area and there's no shortage of great things to see and do. Kruger is close by as well as the spectacular Blyde River Canyon.

Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Not the largest, but nicely finished with good quality beds and furniture. Large bathrooms with a great shower (which even had a seat!). Brilliant service from the warm and friendly cleaning staff.

We ate breakfast at the restaurant daily as this was included. The food was tasty and good quality. There's a fantastic view of the river from the restaurant itself. Perfectly situated for watching wild hippos, especially at night. Just be careful not to wander onto the grass after sunset as you may find yourself in close proximity to a hippo!

The only slightly negative point was that they also owned a connecting elephant park which they plugged at every opportunity.

Definitely highly recommend this place and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndempster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

It brings us great joy knowing that the products and services that we offer suited all your needs. We are very privileged to be surrounded by these extraordinary wildlife and would like to thank you for your kind words.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    379
    116
    49
    20
See reviews for
221
460
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed for three nights in July. We had hut #1 which had the best view (in my opinion) of the river and the hippos (at night). Very friendly staff, any request was completed with a smile. The food was good and the night of the African experience (dinner and a show) was really good the dancers were excellent.
Will stay here again if we ever return.

Room Tip: The huts with the river view is a must to see the hippos at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Knowing we were part in bringing a true African experience to your trip brings us great joy. Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback.

The staff would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. it what motivates us to upkeep and improve on the products & services which we offer at our establishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow Country Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the 2-storey building while some other people from our tour group stayed at the villas. The room is spacious with good AC and a ceiling fan. The TV is old and small, and only a few English speaking channels available. The restaurant offered our tour group a discount so we ate there. We had dinner buffets for both nights and the food on the first night was much better the second. A hippo was just outside of the restaurant when the sun came down. Unfortunately it's so dark that we couldn't take a good picture of him. The breakfast was very disappointing. There was very limited choices of everything and the staff replenished the food really slow. They showed their frustration when they were asked to replenish food and refill the coffee/tea. I think they did not get use to serving a big tour group? Winnie, the manager was very friendly and always tried to help. Wifi is free at restaurant and the lounge area. I could log in with my ipad but not with my Android device. Overall we had a good stay there for two nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We strive to improve on the products & services that we offer at our establishment through guest feedback and would like to thank you for providing us with yours.

It is very unfortunate that your experience in our dining room was not to your utter satisfaction. Our kitchen staff recently went through re-training on all our menus and can assure you that all matters mentioned has been rectified.
We are very lucky to have such a strong team and Winnie would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words.

We hope that you would return to Hippo Hollow in the near future in order to get the experience we are so well renowned for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here 3 nights as part of a Riviera Tour. Our room was basic but clean and adequately met our needs. We stayed in the thatched rooms in the quadrant next to the swimming pool. We were very fortunate to see Hippo's grazing on the hotel lawns. We had a couple of meals at the hotel which were buffet and breakfast was adequate. Staff were helpful and friendly and whilst it is not the Ritz I would stay again at this lovely hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the rooms, the staff and all we had to offer satisfied your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at Hippo Hollow for 3 days earlier this month--June of 2014. It was fantastic! The facility is amazing--a nice lodge with restaurant on a beautiful river and then many detached/separate 'huts'--our 3 kids (ages 12 through 14) stayed in one hut and my wife and I in another. The 'huts' are really nice--good beds, nice bathroom with hot water, extra blankets and a space heater--June is winter in South Africa (...we're from the United States...), and the 2 huts we had were overlooking the river and had small patios in the back overlooking the river. The staff were AMAZINGLY nice and helpful--all of them--I wish I could remember all of their names. The man who seemed to be the manager was named Esrom and he--and everyone--was excellent. The restaurant at the lodge is very very good--I won't say excellent but definitely very very good. We had great breakfasts there every morning and dinner every night and we were pleased with all of our meals. We saw many many hippos every day and also many crocodiles. There is a business/attraction right across the river that gives elephant rides (...we did that activity as well and it was great but it is not part of Hippo Hollow...) and all day long we could sit on the patio of our 'hut' and watch the elephants walking around across the river--often carrying people. We can't say enough good things about Hippo Hollow--we highly recommend it. Oh--one more thing--I see another reviewer mentioned t.v.s...our huts did not have t.v.s--which was fine because we did not want t.v.s... But if you want a t.v. you may need to ask for a hut that has one. (...but I would advise getting a hut with no t.v....you can just enjoyed reading on the little patio over-looking the river!!!)

Room Tip: If any of the 'huts' along the river are available--we think that would be best--that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
It brings us great joy knowing that we were part of making your trip a memorable one. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

We are very privileged to be located next to the river and to be surrounded by such beautiful nature and wildlife and we are extremely glad that you were able to see all of this on our doorstep.

We do have a strong team at Hippo Hollow and are very luck, in particular, to have Esrom on our team. He would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. it what motivates us.

We wish that you would return to Hippo Hollow in the future where you arrived as our guests, but left as our friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at Hippo Hollow for only 1x night this past week, and I was completely satisfied with the hotel. From the moment I arrived for check-in, the staff were superb ! The restaurant manager was so incredibly hospitable ! In short, the staff treated me with so much warmth, I had to remind myself that this was actually my first stay here and they did not even know me ! Dinner was awesome ... Food quality great and presentation superb ! I loved choosing from a set menu because after a long day, I actually felt too tired to think. The set menu offers a starter, main and dessert. My room was perfectly fine ... Neat, presentable and very, very clean. I often find that wi-fi in hotels can be very frustrating, sometimes it is so slow that one loses patience, or you can only pick up signal in specific areas, but this was not all at the case at Hippo Hollow .... Their signal is great and I could connect to wifi in my room as well. Hippo Hollow is a lovely hotel, and the embracing enthusiasm and friendliness of the staff makes a stay here wonderful. The hippo did come up onto the lawns while we were at dinner ... Which had many excited guests flocking to the terrace to take photographs ... And here too, their smiling and enthusiastic security guard keeps check that nobody wanders too close to the wildlife! Would I go back ... Definitely !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourEssence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Knowing that the rooms, the restaurant, the staff and all we had to offer satisfied your needs, brings us absolute joy. It’s what motivates us to upkeep and improve on the products and services at our establishment.

The staff would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words and wishes that you would return very soon and consider staying a few days longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent two days here in May 2014. The location is great but the room we were in was average. Our room was missing any information on the Hotel and its facilities, the TV remote was the wrong one for our TV. We were told not to drink the water but no bottle water was supplied - this had to be bought. Our room was also noisy as the large tour buses pulled up outside our room. Dinning was ok and we did see a couple of Hippos grazing in the evening while eating at the restaurant. Maybe it was just a cheaper room that was booked by our tour operator but we would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewandleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is disappointing to only hear about your unfortunate experience after your stay as management would have made it their priority to rectify any matters during your stay, had it been brought under their attention.

We take great pride in the products and services that we offer at Hippo Hollow and hope that you would return to us in the future to experience the service that we are so well renowned for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
341 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.8 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.9 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Property: Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing