We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Numbi Revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Numbi Revisited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

In July 2008 I stayed again at the Numbi hotel and once more found it a friendly, welcoming place to overnight.
Each time I have been impressed with the jolly staff ,clean and comfortable rooms and secure/safe locality.

  • Liked — Jovial staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suewegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    69
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
32
72
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

I and my wife have just spent a wonderful weekend at Hotel Numbi. From the moment we arrived the friendly personnel (Philip in particular) made us feel at home. The room was spacious and well decorated. The veranda overlooked a lovely garden and swimming pool. Being on a motorbike we did not want to travel at night to look for restaurants – no problem – we had 2 very good dinners in the hotel – atmosphere very cosy and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. The 2 breakfasts were also impeccable. We felt sorry to leave on Sunday morning and will surely return. Etienne & Reneé Louw

  • Liked — Great room and very friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

I had the great misfortune of staying at the Hotel Numbi for four nights while visiting Kruger National Park in October 2006 with a group of six. The only thing that made our nights at this hotel tolerable were the magnificent days we spent at Kruger. Coming back to the hotel every evening, we dreaded what else would go wrong.

On our first night, the air conditioning in two of our rooms was not working, and the staff were unable to fix it that night -- and they did not seem to be the least bothered by the outage. Worse, the maid had left the window open in my room, letting the mosquitoes in. (Considering that Kruger is a malaria-endemic area, the hotel's lackadaisical attitude toward mosquito control is horrifying: There are no mosquito nets, the windows have no screens, the balcony doors do not seal well, and the staff appears to have absolutely no malaria-control training. When I asked for mosquito repellent, I was handed a can of cockroach spray instead, with the comment "That's what we use.")

On check-in, my linens were filthy. The sheets were dingy with dirt stains, and the blanket had what appeared to be an unspeakable masculine-type stain on it. There were a couple of small insects in the bed (but as the manager informed me: "This is Africa").

On our second night, although the two air conditioners that had been broken the first night had been fixed, yet another of our group's rooms was without air conditioning.

On our third morning, when we woke up at 4:30 a.m. for our safari, we found no water whatsoever in our sinks, toilets, or showers. (I discovered days later in my conversation with the hotel owner that there had been an outage in the town's water main, but the hotel management made no effort to inform the guests of the cause of the problem or to apologize for the inconvenience.)

On our fourth morning, when most of our group left before breakfast for a bush walk, one person in our party who had decided not to join us on the outing discovered that breakfast (which was included in our room rate) had been canceled because the hotel management "thought everybody would be gone." He also had no hot water in his shower.

Although the hotel's physical facilities appear quite nice in the brochure and on the website, we were very disappointed. The lobby is Spartan, dark, and hot. The main restaurant is hot and not air conditioned, with mosquitoes. Despite the "no pets" policy, there were at least two cats apparently living in the hotel lobby and restaurant. There were no laundry facilities, and the laundry service was expensive (US$1 for a piece of underwear). The rooms are decently furnished, but the TV service is substandard (no CNN), and the room doors don't have chains or double-locks and use with old-fashioned keys. The maid unceremoniously walked in on one member of our group while he was on the toilet, without knocking. On the positive side, the bathrooms are nicely renovated in most (but not all) rooms, there are large closets in most (but not all) rooms, the premium restaurant is nicely appointed, and the hotel is set back sufficiently from the street to prevent any traffic noise.

The food in the main dining room for the evening meal was abundant, but it was the same stuff from night to night, and we found few of the offerings tasty. Breakfast was just fair. Service was pleasant but very slow; when the orange juice ran out every morning, for example, it would take a very long time for it to be refilled. Although the management had promised to accommodate my vegan diet, they failed miserable every night, despite their repeated promises that they would do better the following evening. For some reason, the words "no dairy" didn't seem to register, resulting in spinach with feta cheese one night and cream sauce the next. (On the final night, I instead had the best dinner of my stay at the yummy Indian restaurant in the adjoining mall.)

The final and biggest insult, though, came at the end of my stay. When I tried to complain to the manager about all the problems, he told me he was "too busy" to speak with me. When I called the owner by telephone the next day to report the problems, he told me quite clearly that I was "a very difficult customer to please." I acknowledge that I have a difficult diet to accommodate, but I do not think demanding air conditioning, hot water, and reasonable malaria control is being difficult.

I would never return to the Hotel Numbi, and regret my ever having stayed there. Had I not been with a group, I would have checked out on my first night.

  • Liked — Location, very easy walking distance to town and shopping centres
  • Disliked — Horrible staff, bad air conditioning, bad food, mosquitoes, very dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank GlobeHop2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.4 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.0 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites

Property: Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Address: R40 Main Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Numbi and Garden Suites is less than 10 minutes drive from Phabeni Gate of the world famous Kruger National Park. Situated in Hazyview, in the heart of the Magical Mpumalanga Province this owner-managed hotel has for more than fifty years enjoyed making every customer feel special and welcome. A Hotel and Garden Suites with 50 rooms, Main House with 7 and Numbi Caravan Park has 24 stands. An airstrip and our locality provide for a centralised position from where to visit the main scenic attractions and enjoy the adventure activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Numbi And Garden Suites
Hotel Numbi & Garden Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing