We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumbago Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a fantastic relaxing time at Plumbago. Its so nice and welcoming. I could recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone. Ilara is a star and the dogs and cat too. We would definitely go back again.

Thanks a million,
Chris

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
105
154
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This place is just fantastic. We stayed for 4 nights in suite 1 and it could hardly have been better. Lovely warm welcome, great accommodation and super breakfast and dinners. Ilena made us feel like royalty. Could not recommend this place more highly. We will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have visited Plumbago often in the last 5 years. Ilara and Robbie truly understand the hospitality industry and are kind and generous hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and their attention for details is amazing.
The guest house has wonderful views of the surrounding area and there is a relaxed atmosphere to it. The rooms/cottages are set in a lovely garden and offer lots of privacy. They are spotless, spacious and comfortable.
The breakfast on the veranda is sumptuous and so is dinner (you’d have to let Ilara know in advance). No wonder I keep going back…..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliettaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Ilara and Robbie have been very nice and made our stay just wonderful.
We stayed 2 Days. That was perfect for doing the paradise route near by.

If there is a chance to come back we would be pleased to stay at plumbago again.
Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a nice peaceful, warm welcoming place. So much attention for details, Ilara and Robbie care for their guests and have hospitality in their veins. Only thing we would have appreciated was a shower curtain, as we had to shower in the bath and everything went wet. Great place to start your day trip to the amazing environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I chose Plumbago when looking at Summerfield's and the Protea and someone had mentioned them in a review. And I'm glad I did. I found it completely delightful. Ilara and Robbie are wonderful and I left feeling like I had new friends.

I'm not a huge fan of Guest Houses as they often are noisy for me as I am sensitive and a light sleeper. But here, I loved that the King bed suites 1 & 2 are in a building by themselves away from the main house. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated and had everything you want and need. The bed was really comfortable and the shower had amazing water pressure.

I was made to feel at home and offered everything from being able to watch TV or to have a fire built in the fireplace so I could read a book or even a spontaneous toasted sandwich or salad if I didn't want a big dinner. I found everything to be very thoughtful and but not smothering.

I also liked the location just 10KMs out of town. It is a beautiful drive and very quick and found it easy to dash into town for dinner.

It does seem to be a bit higher priced than other similar type accommodations in the area, however I believe it is warranted as it is definitely 5* by SA standards and everything is immaculate and impeccable.

I will definitely stay here again if I need accommodations in the Hazyview area.

Room Tip: Suites 1 and 2 are in their own building away from the house. Suite 3 is under the house with a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemophilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Denis De La Réunion, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our stay here was great, the place is so lovely, a warm welcome, the bedroom very comfortable with a king size bed, we really feel at home. Ilara and Robbie are so nice, with very good advice on where to go and what to do, Ilara's cuisine is great...even the outside and the vue on the Kruger Park are amazing... everything was perfect during our stay, we surely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugues C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
6.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
6.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
333 reviews
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#1 of 20 in Hazyview
355 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 20 in Hazyview
184 reviews
5.9 mi away
Laughing Waters Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumbago Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumbago Guest House

Property: Plumbago Guest House
Address: P.O. Box 210 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your 5 star experience with affordable rates" Only 20 min from the Kruger National Park Close to the Panorama Route Through the wrought-iron gates at the end of a bougainvillea-lined drive you will find Plumbago - as pretty as the flower that shares its name, set on an avocado and banana farm, it sits above the plantation watching over out to the Kruger National Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plumbago Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing