We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumbago Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Ilara and Robbie really made us feel a part of their family. Traveling with a one year old baby is never easy, and they were so incredibly accommodating, welcoming, and helpful during our stay. I'd recommend their place to anyone visiting the Mpumalanga / Kruger area. I'd also recommend that you have them prepare dinner for you, which is out of this world. Thank you again Ilara & Robbie.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeLiaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
105
152
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germiston
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Absolutely tranquil in beautiful surroundings. iLara and Robbie add to the excellent stay with their genuine and friendly hospitality. Definately needs to be visited more than once. A real gem.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalynGermiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, had a lovely time. Ilara and Robbie are very welcoming and suggested activities to help plan our days. The breakfasts were amazing - best poached eggs in South Africa! The rooms are clean and spacious and filled with little touches like fresh flowers each day. Great base, very peaceful and beautiful. Good facilities - pool and tennis courts, and friendly dogs!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach2782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiseley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

First of all many apologies to Robbie and Illara for the long overdue review of their fabulous guest house. We stayed there all too briefly last September as part of our honeymoon and we still talk about it now as it was our favourite location of all the wonderful places we stayed at during our trip to SA. Great facilities, excellent food and an ideal base for the Hazyview attractions and day trips to Kruger. Would love to go back for longer one day. Many thanks from Paul & Charlotte

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Ttrent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband and I chose this guest house on the recommendations of numerous previous guests. We contacted the guest house to check on the availability and were impressed by the relaxed, informative introduction by Ilara. Prior to our arrival we requested an evening meal.
On our arrival we were greeted by Ilara and Robbie, who then advised us that we had a choice of the rooms. It was an extremely difficult choice as all the rooms are decorated to a very high standard with period furniture, ample complimentary sherry, hot drinks, fresh cold water, toiletries, personal dressing robes and a big king size bed, made up with crisp egyptian cotton linen.
Our evening meal consisted of four courses. It was that nice that we decided to eat in on other nights after not receiving better dinning in Hazy View. We particularly liked the honey bread which was specially made and we were kindly provided with the recipe.
The veranda and lounge as equally as tastefully decorated as the bedroom studios and extremely comfortable.
We utilised the swimming pool, sauna and tennis court with amazing views over the banana and avacado plantations towards the Kruger national park. There were plenty of books to relax with in the lounge and room overlooking the tennis court which again had fresh water in.
Ilara, the staff or Robbie were always at hand to provide an excellent service and offer advice on there surroundings or activities which were available in the vicinity. The Kruger national park, Blythe Canyon and the Elephant sanctuary were outstanding trips that we took following there advice.
The rooms were kept immaculate and the turn down service was excellent with different fresh flowers on a nightly basis to dress the bedrooms. The grounds were also well maintained. We would not hesitate to recommend or visit again on our return to South Africa.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

When we first read the outstanding reactions on TA, we were a bit sceptical, but they are ALL TRUE. I am not going to repeat all that has already been said so I’ll just name the things that stood out for us. We arrived initially for 4 nights and actually left a 5* game lodge to return for another 4 nights in Plumbago. Robbie and Ilara were the most attentive, wonderful hosts we have ever come across (and we have been travelling a lot). You could see they love what they are doing. Ilara was making sure that we were left with nothing to be desired: Dutch treats for the kids, arranging all kinds of activities and giving suggestions about things to do and places to visit. When we encountered problems with our credit card, Ilara and her mother went with us to the bank and made sure we were safe and were not left without cash. They really made us feel as part of the family. Our children got along very well with theirs and we were even (spontaneously) invited to their son’s birthday party which was great fun.
The atmosphere in Plumbago was relaxed, you could sit privately at your own patio or by the swimming pool and enjoy the beautiful garden and surroundings as it sits on a hill among various plantations of avocado’s, mango’s and nuts.

The breakfast table was set in a different manner every morning with lots of care and attention. Actually it one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. We had dinner twice which was very delicious. Fresh flowers and leaves decoration were in our room and bathroom and gave a personal touch. The toiletries in the bathroom were luxurious. We enjoyed reading on the outdoor area in the afternoon or in the living room in the evenings, when Robbie would come for a chat and tell us nice stories about his father’s adventures in the bush, the wildlife and the area. The staff and especially Mercy (what’s in a name) which was a joy, would take care of you with a discrete and friendly manner and left the room spotlessly clean with fresh flowers and chocolates.

Although we would normally never go back to the same accommodation again, we are definitely going back to Plumbago next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliettaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The B&B is a superior B&B accomodation with extra large rooms, only 3 of them, so it feels like you're staying in a private house with staff. The owvers are so friendly and Elora is a fantastic host and cook making great breakfasts and dinners and also take away picnics if requested. The furnishings are beautiful and very stylish with a superb otdoor sitting area overlooking the garden to chat and relax and have pre or post dinner drinks

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iang2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
6.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
6.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
5.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#1 of 20 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 20 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumbago Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumbago Guest House

Property: Plumbago Guest House
Address: P.O. Box 210 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your 5 star experience with affordable rates" Only 20 min from the Kruger National Park Close to the Panorama Route Through the wrought-iron gates at the end of a bougainvillea-lined drive you will find Plumbago - as pretty as the flower that shares its name, set on an avocado and banana farm, it sits above the plantation watching over out to the Kruger National Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plumbago Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing