We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy bush retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hazyview
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages
Ranked #12 of 22 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy bush retreat”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

great place to get away, no TV or technology to distract you. clean and comfortable, but our linen was ripped. although we stayed in the 'Self catering cabins we found it difficult to cook/prepare in the tiny kitchen and ants posed an issue for anything left out on the bench. we had hoped to get a cheese platter (as advertised) from the shop, only to find there was no such thing and the cheeses in the shop were past their expiry. dont expect much from this place, basic is the go.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Owner at Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the review always great to get feedback although conflicting.

RE: Linen - thank you for drawing this to our attention and sorry for this oversight. I will look into the issue and resolve it immediately.

RE: Kitchen - we do advertise exactly what is in the 'mini kitchenettes' and with no stove / oven they are not meant as a real 'cooking' kitchen hence the name 'kitchenette' which hints to the fact that they are not big. The ants are a summer time pest and we continually spray trying to prevent them coming in but with all the rain the horrid poisons are washed away.

RE: Cheeses - the platters are available on a 'self-service' basis apologies if we over looked an out of date cheese but I know they were not all out of date.

We are really sorry not everything was to your liking better luck next time :)
Kindest
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in the Self Catering Windmill House during December 2013. The accommodation was comfortable and definitely provided good value for money. The unit itself was a 4 bedroom / 8 sleeper unit. The rooms were very basic with very bland / outdated décor (my main criticism of the place). Two of the rooms opened directly onto the huge porch which was great for relaxing outside. Whilst there was no aircon, the ceiling fans were definitely powerful enough to keep the units at a comfortable temperature.

The location itself was great, especially for exploring the surrounding areas as the property is situated roughly midway between Hazyview and Sabie. The closest Kruger Gate is Phabeni which is roughly a 30 minute drive.

In summary; peaceful, clean, comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asif_Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Owner at Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review.

All the best for 2014!

Kindest
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullinan, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have stayed at this lodge at least 5 times and every time have been happy with the clean comfortable rooms. The surrounding are peaceful and beautiful. A real treat is the light lunch they offer. It is situated perfectly in order for one to discover everything the Lowveld has on offer.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the main road is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B, Owner at Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi Karen,

Thank you, there's no greater satisfaction than a satisfied guest and thanks for taking the time to let me know.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windmill at least another 5 time :)

Kindest
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Klip, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

(Booked at Honeymoon Suite 14/6/13)...Due to the Stop/Goes and numerous road works we arrived after dark at the venue on a Motorcycle...we spoke to the owner via the security guards phone requesting her to open the deli/wine shop which officially closed at 5pm so we could get some supplies for supper only to be told that our breakfast was in the fridge and we must make do with that as she was busy elsewhere. A little flexibility would have been appreciated but for future visits to the area there is an abundance of accomodation options which will consider in future. It was not a good start to our Honeymoon. Thankfully the other places we stayed on the following nights more than made up for this regretable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HazyviewDiva, Owner at Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Mr. McGuigan,

Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the Windmill and that it did not live up to your expectations :(

Sounds like a horrible trip down with the road works which we also experienced on our last rip to the Cape, they seem to be country wide :(

With all due respect the shop times are clearly stated in the quote & confirmation and we are just a B&B and don't promise dinners.

Sadly I had already committed to assist another establishment whose owner was away in Germany and just tried to assist by suggesting you have your breakfast as dinner that evening (unfair to say I told you to make do with that) and go out for breakfast in the light of day, sorry I couldn't have been of more assistance.

I hope you do come back to our wonderful area and have better experiences in the many accommodation choices our area has to offer :)

Once again apologies
Kindest
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite - what a pleasure! The owners definitely know what they are doing! The setting was extraordinary and amazingly romantic! Tasteful and rustic, with everything you need to spend a most memorable weekend with your loved one - worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisavdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HazyviewDiva, Owner at Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for staying at The Windmill. We glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, and had the most gorgeous view over the valley. The jacuzzi on the deck was great, and the bath also had a beautiful view across the valley. The outside shower on the deck was intimidating at first but what a lovely experience. The bottle of bubbly in the fridge waiting for us was a nice touch.

There's not a lot to do at the venue itself, but you're well placed for the region, and the food at The Windmill is superb. Highly recommend the cheese platter!

Beautiful and tranquil. A gem.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HazyviewDiva, Owner at Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Windmill, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Set 17KM from Hazyview and 27KM from Sabie, the cottages are truly a romantic get away. They are furnished to the highest standard, king size bed with quality linens. Bathroom with walk in shower and lovely toiletries. There is a small kitchenette which includes a microwave, toaster, fridge but no oven or hob. There is tea and coffee plus fresh milk.
An excellent breakfast is provided on your wooden deck at the front of the cottage and includes cereal, wide selection of fruit, yoghurt, croissant and fabulous sandwiches.
The property is well located for visiting Kruger, Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest and other local sites.
Highly recommended although driving up and down the Sabie/Hazyview road may become a little tiresome during an extended stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.3 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dreamfields Guesthouse
Dreamfields Guesthouse
#7 of 22 in Hazyview
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 39 in Hazyview
549 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 22 in Hazyview
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 174 in Kruger National Park
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages

Property: Windmill Wine Shop and Cottages
Address: On the R536 Btwn. Hazyview & Sabie | Sabie River Valley, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing