We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
Review of Umbhaba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Umbhaba Lodge
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay and excellent service. The hotel and restaurant staff were very accommodating. Great food and excellent room. It was rather cool to watch the wildebeest wander through the grounds while having dinner.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Thank you, and hope to see you soon!

Kind regards

Taryn Knight
Guest Services & Conference/Wedding Coordinator
Umbhaba Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    39
    38
    15
    15
See reviews for
37
89
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have stayed at this lodge once before and was most impressed, so much so, my wife and I went back. Sadly, the lodge has become a crime hot spot. We experienced a break-in to our room while attempting to sleep at night. Bottom line is this. The night manager apologised and was understanding, he did however advise that this is a regular problem for them, so much so that they continue to swap the cheap locks that they use, with other rooms so as to try and curtail the theft activties of the staff who make copies of the keys. With that experience,We were unable to remain there, so at 2 am, we drove back to Johannnesburg.

The management to this day have refused to respond in writing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
6 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienneumbh, General Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time complete the survey on trip advisor, sincere apologies for not replying earlier but have only been able to register recently on tripadvisor, subsequently we conducted a full investigation and have dismissed 3 staff members as well as a manager at the property.

Regards

Etienne Soiné
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hazyview hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We only stayed one night on our way into the Kruger but we were more than satisfied with our choice. The room we had was huge, a bit sparce and dark in some places but had everything that we needed with a nice small verandah looking over the small dam.

The staff were great although our waiter battled a little with our accent he didn't give up and provided very good service. The wine list is a little lacking if you are a connoisseur but adequate for a reasonably priced bottle of local wine.

Give the lodge a try If you are planning a trip to the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balerno0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Thank you, and hope to see you soon!

Kind regards

Taryn Knight
Guest Services & Conference/Wedding Coordinator
Umbhaba Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This Lodge has a great location for exploring the Kruger National Park - about 10 minutes away, and many of the areas attractions. It has a great atmosphere and fantastic staff and service. However, in one corner there was clearly a space and they added on two smaller rooms. We got one of those. For a four star facility, this clearly degrades them as the room was barely capable of achieving three stars. a cupboard big enough for one person, damp smell, discoloured pillow slips, sloppy repair work, a hole in the mattress, old box TV that didn't work properly and had horrible sound. We did enjoy the food and service which was four star, but to give us a room that was clearly low grade was an insult and we did complain and were offered another room which we did not move to as we could not be bothered to repack and unpack again for one last night. If you go there, make sure you don't get room 15!!!

Room Tip: Don't get room 15 or 16 whatever you do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced with respect to your stay at the lodge.
At Umbhaba Lodge we take pride in ensuring our guests satisfaction. Unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations entirely.

Thank you for pointing out the issues you experianced on arrival in you room and can assure you this hase been addressed with our housekeeping manager.
We deeply value your relationship with Umbhaba and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

Kind regards

Taryn Knight
Guest Services & Conference/Wedding Coordinator
Umbhaba Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I Travelled all over the Lowveld area and when I got to the Lodge, I was suprized with a very large room, wooden deck overlooking a dam, little setting area and it was very nice to take a good break from the Roads. This room is very private and I had a good nights rest after a very nice Buffet.

Room Tip: Room 18 is closed to the stairs leading to the Restaurant and Parking area. The view from this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We only stayed one night. We arrived late after a long drive from Johannesburg and a tour of the surrounding area. An interesting a day to say the least and it came to a very good end at the Umbhaba Lodge. Our room was very large, complete with a separate bedroom and setting area complete with a real fireplace. Really very homey, very clean, and neat. I should also mention that our room had a balcony overlooking a small lake. The overall effect was very scenic and charming. If we had had our own transportation it is the kind of place we could have stayed in for several days quite happily. Overall, a very good base for exploring the surrounding area. An outstanding room, friendly staff, a good restaurant, and an equally good bar what more could you ask for? Definitely value for money. I have not rated the Umbhaba Lodge excellent only because we stayed one night.and I did not have time to really fully appreciate it. My only negative comment is that at night the living area in our room was poorly lighted. It would have been difficult, if not impossible, to read a book at night in the living area. Other than that very satisfied. Definitely value for money..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We recently stayed at Umbhaba lodged & I'm surprised by its four star rating. The room was dark, smelled, & required a good clean (particularly the very dirty bathroom). There were marks on the manchester, the bath was constantly dirty & the bottom of the shower slimely & mouldy. The doors& walls were also stained. The doors were difficult to lock and unlock & they barely shut. The grounds were ok, the pool dirty.

The service was mixed- service staff in the restaurant was very friendly but food/ drink delivery was slow & the bland food often served cold. Room service was very slow & issues raised with management went unresolved despite repeated attempts to address a booking issue.

Upon leaving the lodge a 'tourist' fee was applied to our bill- this never occurred anywhere else we stayed in SA. Sadly, when gratuity was added to our bill we were told by wait staff that they would not receive it unless it was given in cash.

Parts of the shared areas were nicely presented & 'homely' but unfortunately this did not make up for this lodge's downfalls.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug_274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.8 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
3.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.9 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbhaba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbhaba Lodge

Property: Umbhaba Lodge
Address: 1 R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Umbhaba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a leisurely drive or slight detour through the artistic towns of Dullstroom or White River before relaxing into the peaceful surrounds of Umbhaba Lodge, in Hazyview. The tranquility at Umbhaba, along with the seclusion of the bushveld, is the ideal departure point for excursions in to the Kruger National Park, the majestic Blyde River Canyon, God's Window and Bourke's Luck Pot Holes. The Kruger National Airport is minutes away. Umbhaba Lodge lies on a hillside overlooking the Sabie Valley, on the edge of the Drakensberg escarpment. The lodge is picture-perfect for leisure breakaways, weddings and executive conferences. Lodge facilities include an a la carte restaurant, the safari-style Burn Out Bar and a quiet lounge. A crystal-clear rock pool amid sprawling lawns is a glorious invitation in the heat of a Lowveld day Activities at Umbhaba Lodge include day and night safaris, helicopter excursions, hot air ballooning, fishing, hiking and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Umbhaba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbhaba Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Hazyview
Umbhaba Lodge And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing