We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great step-off to Kruger”
Review of Sanbonani Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanbonani Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed one week in a 2 bedroom 2 bath chalet on the Sabi river. The unit would serve well as a home, with a complete kitchen, comfortable living room, and a great patio and barbeque.The units and the grounds are well maintained. There are lots of extras on the grounds (restaurant, bar, gift shop, gym, etc., but we made little use of them. We were there to see Kruger and all the other nearby sites, like Blyde River Canyon's God's Window, Bourkes Luck Potholes (absolutely awesome - don't miss it), the Sudwala Caves (okay), etc.

Room Tip: Yes, you need a car. And being from the U.S., it did take some time to get aclimated to a car with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraniteBayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just got back home after spending a week (8/2-8/9) at Sanbonani. Our "room" was a 2 story chalet right on the Sabi river. The surroundings were very nice and peaceful. Staff was friendly and attentive. My complaints are: 1. You need a car to go anywhere off the hotel grounds. There is no shuttle. 2. They do not exchange foreign currency. Besides these 2 issues, I highly recommend this resort.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank 511GaryK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a beautiful resort, so clean and well maintained! The chalets are clean and comfortable, and we were lucky enough to have the Hippo's come eat right outside our chalet at night! Staff were helpful and it is a close enough drive to tourist attractions like "God's Window" and "Bourke's Luck Potholes" and a cute Monkey place called "Monkey Birds". I also think it is really nice that they have feeding stations for the stray cats, most places just chase the poor cats away. Would defiantly go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Beware, they count babies as adults. We booked an 8sleeper, 6 adults and 2children under 6. In addition we had 2babies under 2years of age and were asked to book an additional room for them. They were rude and threatened to throw us out. We paid for the room which we didnt use but their attitude upset us and spoilt our holiday. They desperately need to change that female manager they currently have or they need to teach her some manners.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank IndianTourist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a 3 bedroom 3 baths cottage kitchen was full equipped,very comfortable,nice porch with view to the river,barbecue grill the cleaning lady's very helpfull and polite,the buffet dinner is very basic but you can order a la carte and is much better. Sanbonani has guards in different points at the property and that was very important to us,there is a small shopping center 10 minutes away(we rented a car) the supermarket had everything we nedded for our breakfast even blueberries.People at the desk where respectful check in was on time lady at the information desk was nice and helpful ,the only problem we encounter we did not have phone line for three days do to a storm the week before. We love Mpumalanga province and we are people thatt adapt to every country we travel and we more or less know what to spect.

Room Tip: We where here in the month of march in unit 16A , no complaints but if you want to see the hippos t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Recently booked for a week in April 2013...We found the managers attitude terrible and extremely rude and she had a very dont care attitude .We were booked in a six sleeper and we were six people plus a one year old baby.We were rudely told that the baby was and extra person and that we should book one person into a hotel room..I understand if that is the resorts policy but it was more the manner in which we were told that upset us and she even threatened to have us removed from the resort instead of trying to assist us in resolving the problem.Two of our group were forced to drive all the way back to Joburg, needless to say that spoilt our whole holiday.
I will never recommend anyone there

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

5 of us were booked into a 2 bedroom accomodation. The living room/ kitchen area was spacious and well maintained. The living room opened out to a beautiful sit-out complete with a backyard and a babbling brook. We were afraid to walk around because of the warning of occasional stray hippos / stray wildlife but luckily didn't encounter any of them. The walk from the lobby area to the villa was quite a bit and in pitch dark post sunset it was even scary. We had a freak day during our stay when the nearby power station caught fire and we were out of power, and on that day only, the temperatures had gone up to 49 degrees celcius during the day (we enjoyed a cool 25 odd degrees before and after this day). We were provided with candles but thts only what could be done until the power cam back 4 hrs later. The place overall is very pretty and well maintained, complete with a swimming pool, kids area, restaurants, gift shop. If you need to get into town to shop at the supermarket, its around a 7-10 minute drive and definitely nothing at walkable distance since the resort is situated beyond a few small farmlands. A self driven car is definitely a must! Driving around was easy, and traffic was organised. Also if you plan on walking within the resort post sunset, a torchlight is a must..you don't want to be bumping into a stray hippo!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScherIrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.3 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
5.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.1 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
419 reviews
4.9 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanbonani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanbonani Resort

Address: Stormvoel Avenue, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £69 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well equipped chalets are situated on the banks of The Sabie and Sand Rivers and comprise of 64 two bedroom chalets and 22 three bedroom chalets. The fully equipped chalets are serviced on a daily basis. With Microwave, shower and a limited Hotel Bouquet DSTV. In addition, each chalet has its own braai area on the patio and a covered parking bay nearby. For your convenience Wi-Fi is available at Reception - enquire with regards to costs and availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanbonani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanbonani Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing