We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”
Review of River House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River House Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Malelane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here with 3 of My friends after being in the bush for a week. A very nice place, you need to spend at least one whole day there. The big-5 is visable from the woodendeck if you're lucky! We rounded up quite a bartab, but I guess that shows that you had a good time! And that about sums the place up: " a very good time!"

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

River House Lodge was a perfect place to spend a long weekend, great hosts, clean rooms, and the outdoor decking area was so good for viewing the wildlife I almost regret spending money on a game drive! Very much hope to return one day even if its just to have a drink ( or 3) at the bar!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just loved Johan, the owner of the place! He was so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We could not have asked for a better welcome to the area. We had some drinks at his little bar, while listening to his stories of the area and people who had visited the Riverhouse. The deck, overlooking crocodile river and Kruger park, is amazing! And the breakfast was the most well-presented we had in the three weeks we spent in South Africa. The rooms are basic but clean. Just an amazing place, I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

On our tour round in South Africa, Swaziland and Lesotho we stayed for a while in River House Lodge. We had lunch and rested at the wonderful terasse where we saw a lot of animals at the river: lots of elefants, rhinos, kudus, impalas and hippos and a single warthog and a waterbuck.
We all enjoyed the house, the surroundings and most of all the friendly host.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToveAbildgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have recently stayed at River House Lodge, and loved every minute. We had a large top floor room which was lovely, overlooking the Crocodile River - soon after our arrival, while sitting on our balcony, it was great to watch some rhino drinking from the river followed by a glorious sunset.
Johen was a wonderful host, nothing was too much trouble for him. We found the Lodge really interesting - full of memorabilia that Johan has collected over the years. It all brought back memories for us of our parents and grandparents possessions
We fully recommend River House Lodge - the attention to detail is second to none, and the breakfasts wonderful.
Thanks Johan for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room with balcony overlooking the Crocodile River. very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely home with loads of soft furnishings to take in, however there were a few things which I felt were a bit of a let down. Firstly, on arrival, I had my 70 year old mother with us and her huge suitcase. There was no help available to assist with her bags and I was left to carry her bags as well as my own up the flight of stairs to the rooms. Secondly. On arrival, we let the owner know that we would like to leave by 05:30 since we were headed to the Kruger National Park and their gates open at 06:00 We inquired about an early breakfast and were informed that breakfast was only from 08:00. Not even an offer of a travel pack or piece of fruit for the early start. Thirdly, on reservation, I was not informed that the viewing deck had burnt down. Since I am an avid photographer, I was looking forward to photographing the sunset and the animals on the river bank. Fourthly, we had traveled a long distance to get to the lodge and had a very early start planned, so it was a bit annoying to hear the sounds of a party happening in the lounge below our rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the bar area as the sound travels at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

To people that are visiting The Kruger Park I would highly recommend this lodge. Especially if you valuable an unique environment, lovely people and beautiful view to the park. Its a beautiful relaxing deck in the garden of the lodge where I have seen hippos, crocodiles and elephants - just amazing. I was here with a big group of people, friends and family and we all loved it. My mum celebrated her birthday and it was an evening where the owners and the staff had made memorable; we were served lovely dinner and the girls sang and danced for us. A really outstanding lodge in my opinion and D and J can expect me within the next few years again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meline85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malelane hotels
3.1 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
109 reviews
8.9 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#4 of 11 in Malelane
83 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mhlati Guest Cottages
Mhlati Guest Cottages
#1 of 11 in Malelane
125 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Malelane
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Lodge

Address: 27 Vis Arend Street | Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range: £95 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River House Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the border of the Kruger National Park which ideally situated to view and explore the Big 5 Game (Buffalo, Leopard, Lion, Rhino and Elephants). We are close to the borders of Mozambique and Swaziland. The KMI airport is only 40 minutes drive from our property. Our property is quirky decorated with personal collections offering old fashioned hospitality. From our furnished covered deck it overlooks the Crocodile river where you can view game drinking and bathing right in front of our lodge. Twitchers can also explore the huge array of birds that frequent our area and on the river. Enjoy a cocktail watching the sunset over the Khandizwe Hills. Open Safaris/ game drives into the famous Kruger National Park can be arranged directly at our lodge or on self drives from Pestana Kruger Lodge (Malelane Gate). Our Twin and Double rooms are tastefully furnished with en suite bathrooms, air conditioners, tea and coffee facilities and private balconies. Golf can be arranged at the famous Leopard Creek Golf course situated 7 km for our lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your River House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Lodge Malelane, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing