We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RONé " Unbelievable Stay"”
Review of Rio Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Vista Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Malelane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
“RONé " Unbelievable Stay"”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a Wedding that we attend at Rio Vista Lodge in January this year. We stayed over for the weekend at the Lodge. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, well equipped as well as beautiful decorated. The location is awesome with the Deck Restaurant overlooking the Crocodile river where you can watch the Elephants bathing in the river........we will be back for sure! Thanks to Anita and her Husband for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rone292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    38
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
38
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brakpan, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The staff are friendly and the food is great, The whole family stay there for my daughters wedding some arrived late the Friday evening, And the restaurant did there best at almost closing time, we were 8 people having steak and we all got our steak just the way we ordered it, especially as we were so late in ordering just on closing time. Anita and Shaun went out of their way to made my daughter big day special for all of us. Rooms are lovely and clean with a great view.
Will not think twice about staying there again we all had a great time hope to see you soon all again and thanks again for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Anita and her team took great care of our video production team recently while we travelled through the area. The rooms were comfortable, the food great and the deck area was AMAZING! Such a treat to come back to after a long hard day's work - just to sit and chill with a long cold drink - overlooking the exquisite Crocodile River. We saw elephant frolicking in the water in front of us - hippo eating grass 10 meters from our table on the deck at night - and loads of birdlife. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Choice of bungalows with your own view of the river - or rooms in the area near the deck restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrlryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I had a last minute stop at Malelane, and stayed at Rio Vista. They were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. They include tea and coffee and a fridge. The location is awesome right on the river. I had dinner at the restaurant deck and had a beautiful sunset view over the river. I left early the next morning and the catering staff packed a travel breakfast for me!
Thank you to all the friendly people at Rio vista lodge

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Rio Vista Lodge is the perfect start for a trip into the Kruger NP or as a basis for expeditions into the park, as it is very close to Malelane Gate. We had a very nice room with a balcony facing the Crocodile River.The rooms are simple but neat and confortable and equipped with everything you need. The bathroom is somewhat small, but sufficient. Rio Vista Lodge is situated in a lovely green garden, but its greatest attraction is its terrace with a view on the Crocodile River. which is at the same time the restaurant. This is a perfect spot to observe the animals on the river bank below. We saw hippos, waterbucks and a rhino and plenty of birds. The food is very good, the service is friendly and dedicated. All in all it is great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed in the main building with Crocodile River view, saw elephants right from the room balcony! Large modern room, all amenities (coffee machine, fridge, insect repellent). Excellent price/value. Got picked up and deposited at the long distance bus stop in Malelane, the pick up at 10:30 pm on a Friday. Most helpfull friendly and cheerful receptionist, had arranged to send someone for a take out meal from the town when their restaurant was closed on a Sunday.
Their safari operator turned out excellent, an elederly couple, Chris and Pat, with great knowledge of the animals and a great contact network, so they got to hear about all the animal sighting from the other guides. We managed to see not only the big five, but practically all the animals and a good portion of the birds of the Kruger. Much better than the Kruger staff´s sundown safari we also took.

Room Tip: Go for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your stay in South Africa and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This Lodge is very well located near Malelane Gate of Kruger Park. Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean (but small), the view from Restaurant is magnificent and the menu and food at dinner was very good. Is a perfect choice for couples and a excellent relation quality/price. Highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malelane hotels
2.7 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#4 of 11 in Malelane
93 reviews
8.6 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Khandizwe River Lodge
Khandizwe River Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
98 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#2 of 11 in Malelane
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Vista Lodge

Property: Rio Vista Lodge
Address: Stand 1062 | Monte Vista Estate, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Vista Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Vista 4 star Lodge is situated on the border of The Kruger National Park. Experience spectacular views from The Deck overlooking the Crocodile River as animals come to graze and drink while you eat. A dam with various species of fish for the catch-and-release angler. An ideal location for a much needed relaxing break away. Rio-Vista is 27 roomed lodge, all rooms are air-conditioned with DSTV and bar fridge, swimming pool and secure parking. Our facility is child friendly with spacious gardens. We have a lovely thatched deck and cocktail bar with an open view into the Kruger park. Our a la carte Restaurant serves the best meals in the region. Lino's Lodge consist of eight air-conditioned single or sharing chalets , all with DSTV, private patio, and bar fridge. Relax in a homely atmosphere, close to shops and the Malelane Kruger Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Lodge Malelane, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing