We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mhlati Guest Cottages
Ranked #1 of 11 Malelane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Parabiago, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“At home!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family and I ( my husband Carlo, my daughter Emma and myself) stayed at Mhlati Guest Cottages for two nights and we've had the feeling of visiting two dear friends!
Eric and Janet are superb hosts, who make you feel at home even though you live thousands of miles away (we come from Italy).
The whole property is wonderful: the taste of furnishing is worth a design magazine.
The rooms are spacious, superbly appointed , impeccably clean (ours was the elephant room).
Breakfasts are cooked by Eric, Janet and Jeremy, and they are super (tip: ask for the eggs benedict, you'll become instantily addict to them!).
Finally, don't forget the excellent position, just two km away from the Malelane Gate of the Kruger National Park.
What could you ask more?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valentinag302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for those kind words Valentina. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback as it helps us to improve even more. Lovely comments.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
51
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Myself and 5 friends spent two nights recently at the Mhlati Guest Cottages where we had a most enjoyable stay, the accommodation was first class, the breakfasts were great, we made our own meals in the evening the the hosts helped us with salads, etc, but most of all the hospitality of Janet and Eric was just the best, it felt like a home from home. Would certainly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks Iain, we have been hosting you guys for some years now and it is really a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to many more. To Mike, yourself and all the boys, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzini, Swaziland
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The service was excellent, Jeremy our contact person was very professional in handling our bookings, Eric and his wife were very sweet and friendly. Miriam and Margaret who also work there were very sweet. You feel at home, its peaceful and quiet at Mhlati Guest cottages.

In terms of efficiency they were very efficient. Everything was properly done and the rooms were always clean. Their breakfast was awesome and quick to serve.

We just loved it at Mhlati, we are planning to go back there sometime soon.

Keep up the good work guys......

Musa and Pholile

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LileMoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Gracious hosts, comfortable and nicely appointed rooms, five minutes from fine dining at Hamiltons, five minutes from the Malelane Gate into Kruger National Park. (I saw the Big Five the day I went!) I will definitely return if I come back to this part of SA and will recommend this great spot to my friends! Thoroughly enjoying myself! Say hello to my new friends, Eric and Janet when you book your stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The warmth of the hosts touched me. the place is beautiful. It was anusual but a nice welcome touch that Eric joined me for breakfast, which he prepared.
Will definitely visit again.

Regards
Amber Ndlovu-Wudebwe

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I just returned from a stay at the Mhlati Guest Cottages and can't recommend the property enough. The family greeted us with smiles and a comfortable atmosphere. The quiet location is in a gated neighborhood so security is not an issue. The rooms are nicely appointed with large clean bathrooms and plenty of hot water.
After a long drive we chose to bring our own meal to cook on their grill (braai in South Africa). They supply the charcoal and the kitchen is nicely outfitted. The dining area is lovely and open. I'm sure they would recommend restaurants in town if you would prefer.
Eric prepared of tasty breakfast of eggs and meats for us or you can have continental.
The location is very close to the Melalene Gate entrance to Kruger National Park. Perfect to start a day of viewing the animals. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

After over 16 hours traveling we arrived to this lovely property close to Kruger Park. We were welcomed and received a great service from Eric and his family. They accommodated our need for dinner and we sure had a great time. Food was great, rooms were clean and cozy and the ambiance was perfect for our group. We sure will consider further visits to this house with our family and friends.

Room Tip: The house offers rooms as well, but I would suggest to choose the rooms at the garden ( such a Afric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malelane hotels
1.1 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
377 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
103 reviews
5.4 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Malelane
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selati 103 Guest Cottages
Selati 103 Guest Cottages
#7 of 11 in Malelane
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#3 of 11 in Malelane
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mhlati Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mhlati Guest Cottages

Property: Mhlati Guest Cottages
Address: 206 Tambotie Street, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mhlati Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury thatched cottages in a secluded private village in sugar cane country very close to the Kruger National Park Malelane gate and the Worlkd renowned Leopard Creek Golf Course with access to the scenic beauty of Mpumalanga Province, Swaziland and Mozambique. We serve delicious breakfasts and our cottages are serviced daily. A local restaurant close by provides lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mhlati Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mhlati Guest Cottages Malelane, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing