We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mhlati Guest Cottages
Ranked #1 of 11 Malelane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Eric and Jan Maritz, the owners of Mhlati have obviously made it their mission to make their guests as comfortable as possible. This friendly couple have created an 'Out Of Africa' home from home. The African theme and style is refelected throughout the lodge and comfortable accommodation. Breakfast in the thatched lapa prepared by either Eric or Jan is a treat and it is a nice personal touch that they invariably join you for breakfast and share their knowledge of things to do and places to go in the area and the nearby Kruger Park. We stayed in the Elephant suite giving us a self catering option in a private haven overlooking the pool. No hesitation in recommending Mhlati, you will arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTraveloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you so much for the great reviews. As always it is our pleasure and we hope to be able to serve you again. Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and it is our best accomodation we have had in South-Africa during our travelling for the 5:th time, from Cape Town-Durban and now Kruger Park.
The Elefant cottage was perfekt with 2 separate doors to the garden and pool.
Every day we took a morning swim and finish the day in the lovely garden!
The 2 rooms was perfekt with a separate livingroom and kitchen.
The whole house was very nice and tastefully decorated.
Breakfast was exellent and servered in the lovelly "patio". We do not forgett the "eggs benidict"!
Jane, Erik and Jeremy provided us with the best services, as booking golf at Malalene golf club and Kambaku golf club. We even could use Eriks golfcart to Malalene golf club ( 1 km).
Mhlati Guest cottages is close to the Kruger Park, 2 nice restaurangs ( 2 km), golfcourses like Malalene, Leopard Creek and Kambaku.
Even close to shopping-center a.s.o in the center of Malalene.
We will never forgett our play at Leopard Creek, with the execellent service and a fantastic course. Our best golf-experience ever!
We can highly rekommand Mhlati guest cottages to all!
Mr Anders Larsson,
Mrs Kerstin Hili
Sweden
ps. sorry for my bad English.!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi Anders, thank you so much for your exceptional review of Mhlati. It was an absolute pleasure to be able to help you with golf and restaurants bookings in order to make your stay more enjoyable. we look forward to having you back with us again shortly. Best wishes from a hot South Africa. Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

There is little we can add to what has already been said. We (a family of four with kids aged 9 and 11) just spent three nights at the Mhlati Guest Cottages and fully enjoyed the tastefully decorated and spacious Elephant Cottage and even more the great hospitality of our hosts, Jane, Eric and Jeremy. After a long days drive we found complimentary beer in the fridge, as we had lost a nut to one screw in the car, Eric was happy to replace it immediately, we were invited to join their brai with friends and family and benefitted from all the tips and stories they had to tell. Amazing hospitality - thanks a lot. Moreover, breakfast was yummy, the gate to the Kruger park close and all the tips helpful, including the advice where to buy great mango on our way back to Gaborone. What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you so much Andrea for the wonderful review. It is our guests that make the business so much fun and so rewarding. Thank you again and we hope you will be back soon. Best wishes, Jeremy, Eric and Jan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We can thoroughly recommend this lovely guest house. Very comfortable rooms. Excellent hosts only too ready to help and so hospitable. Order the eggs benedict a breakfast not to be forgotten. We will be back. Hazel and Phil.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HazelDevereux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to having you back with us soon. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We can recommand everyone to stay at Mhlati, it's very close to the Malelane Gate so perfect to visit Kruger on your own.
The rooms are very cosy and clean and Janet and Eric will tell you everything you want to know about their country.
Special thanks to Eric for telling us about their corrupt police, we did met them on our last trip from Bergville to Pretoria. They claimed us 750 rand but we did what Eric told us, so we could leave in peace after ten minutes :-).
We hope to visit Mhlati again in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendygoesaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great thanks goes out to Eric and Janet for which was one of the best weekends we had . Our stay at Mhlati was beyond wonderful it felt like we were visiting long time friends their hospitality and friendliness will be not forgotten. Return visit in near future guaranteed!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi Larry,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Mhlati. It is reviews like yours that drive us to do better and better.
Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Jeremy Maritz
Mhlati Guest Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family and I ( my husband Carlo, my daughter Emma and myself) stayed at Mhlati Guest Cottages for two nights and we've had the feeling of visiting two dear friends!
Eric and Janet are superb hosts, who make you feel at home even though you live thousands of miles away (we come from Italy).
The whole property is wonderful: the taste of furnishing is worth a design magazine.
The rooms are spacious, superbly appointed , impeccably clean (ours was the elephant room).
Breakfasts are cooked by Eric, Janet and Jeremy, and they are super (tip: ask for the eggs benedict, you'll become instantily addict to them!).
Finally, don't forget the excellent position, just two km away from the Malelane Gate of the Kruger National Park.
What could you ask more?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valentinag302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for those kind words Valentina. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback as it helps us to improve even more. Lovely comments.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malelane hotels
1.1 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
407 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#3 of 11 in Malelane
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barnstormers Rest
Barnstormers Rest
#2 of 11 in Malelane
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
116 reviews
5.4 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kruger View Chalets
Kruger View Chalets
#4 of 11 in Malelane
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mhlati Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mhlati Guest Cottages

Address: 206 Tambotie Street, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range: £76 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mhlati Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury thatched cottages in a secluded private village in sugar cane country very close to the Kruger National Park Malelane gate and the Worlkd renowned Leopard Creek Golf Course with access to the scenic beauty of Mpumalanga Province, Swaziland and Mozambique. We serve delicious breakfasts and our cottages are serviced daily. A local restaurant close by provides lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mhlati Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mhlati Guest Cottages Malelane, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing