We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kruger Boutique Hotel(Marloth Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casterbridge Hollow(White River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
97
163
105
43
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
163
105
43
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalelane gatethe riverdinner buffetmain buildingdeluxe roomliterally minutesmain assettwo couplesbreakfast packshippos and crocodilescape towngame drivesperfect viewgolf courseleopard creeksafaripark
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We visited the hotel during the long weekend in September 2013. We went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The hotel is ideally situated close to Kruger National Park's Malelane gate. It has great views of the river and we saw lots of Elephant, Crocs and Hippo from the viewing deck. The rooms are comfortable and well laid out with all necessities. The service was quite good. The only drawback was the food. Their website advertises an a-la-carte restaurant. However, when we enquired to see the a-la-carte menu, we were informed that during busy times they only serve buffet, not quite the romantic dinner for two I envisaged. That being said, the buffet was not too bad as buffets go and they did offer to prepare a separate meal for us, but only after we made a request. The breakfast buffet was fairly good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blades21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was funtastic being here on the deck of the hotel looking to crocodile river, on sunset and look to nature as it is. Elephants and Rinos on the river eating and enjoying the savana life. Great restaurant with good food and a breakfast to remenber! A place to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I found this hotel to be delightful...ok, the shower head wasleaky, but the room/cabin was roomy, modern, and clean. European or African hotels, hostels, and guesthouses don't always compare as well. The staf was welcoming and courteous. The food was plentiful and delicious.
But the best part is something that doesn't even have a category on Tripadvisor. I was with a group of 6, and we engaged Echo Africa Safaris and Tours. These guys were fantastic. They picked us up at our hotel in Maputo, Mozambique and drove us to a meeting place near Kruger where we met our safari guide, William (ask for him if you are touring Kruger!). Our bags went on ahead to the Pastana lodge while we safari's all day, then William took us to the lodge after our safari. The next day he picked us up at the lodge for another full day of safari-ing. The next day Echo Africa Safaris provided transportation for the 5-hour trip to Johannesburg for our flight home. Great service for a reasonable price!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shibboleth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed in Buffalo Family room.
Old cupboards. Dirty carpets.
Shower head was old and dirty and water leaked out of shower cubicle.
Supper and breakfast buffet had (in my view) a small selection of tasteless food.
Baked pastries awful and doughy.

Terrible stench from a stream close by. Culprit could be the nearby sugar factory.

Only good thing is the location close to the Malelane gate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The lodge is set up to cater for many. If you like buffets you will be satisfied, the food is ok, but not the best quality. The rooms are spacious, but a little old and in need of a makeover. We were in a balcony room which had views of the Crocodile river, so we saw hippos and elephants. Proximity to Malelane gate is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estherMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews