We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pestana Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malelane
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Stayed here for two nights with family. The place is falling into a state disrepair. Super tube not working left kids very disappointed. Not much else worked either. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MansfieldTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2008

We booked at the Kruger Pestana several months in advance and received a room with a terrific view of the Crocodile River and Kruger Park just beyond. What a thrill to watch the animals come to drink at sunset from our balcony. Pestana's food was superior; they have an excellent chef and wait staff. Plus they're located just outside the park entrance so there's no time waisted traveling to the park.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safariharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

Stayed at the Pestana with my Fiance and Sister, in view to have our wedding there in Nov 08. The rooms were comfortable and had great views of the river and hippos. Jane who assited us was fantastic, really helpful and professional, the venue was beautiful.

There are a few dining options at and around the hotel, Croccafellas, just outside the gate of the hotel was great, service really good and the food tasty and good quality.
Hamiltons across the road, well.....left a bad taste in our mouth. As this was meant to be the venue for our wedding dinner..were were less than impressed. Food dry and bland and the chef did not seem interested in us at all. But the venue itself was nice...good to sit outside and have a glass of wine. This was the reason we did not decide on the hotel for our wedding...bit of a shame really.

Only comment on the Pestana restaurant was that service in the breakfast was sometimes slow.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angediko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Hotel is large complex with all type of accomodation from small houses to wooden flats - our was well kitted out and large with balcony overlooking the crocodile river and across to Krugur the other side. Ther is a pool and childrens shoot in another pool for relaxing - I would not say the evening meal was amazing - you could strollup to the bridge in the evening and look at the crocodiles basking in the river below

Website very clear and we booked all in advance and all materialised. The tours were flexible (as they are arranged by an independent company located on the premises) , When we arrived we changed our mind about we did - in the end we stayed 4 nights went on one night drive, 2 day drives and trip to Mohololo conservation park (3hrs both ways) 4 days was just about right - we saw lots of animals - although the lion needed a telescope - it did not rain and the weather was nicely warm . we travelled there in hire car from Jo'berg - took about 5 hours

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We stayed at the Pestana Lodge for one week. The rooms are lovely. The staff are very friendly, except the odd person on reception. Location is great for the Kruger Park but do NOT book it through reception, walk to the entrance of the hotel and book it direct with the Safari people as this wil save you £10 per person. Strongly recommend the Safari. The food at the hotel is nice, and reasonably priced. There are a choice of 2 restaurants just outside the hotel which are safe to walk to.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank Mankeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Pestana Kruger was an amazing place. For the price it's unbeatable if you're unable to enter the park depending on arrival time. When you leave the park it's a great place to end and wind down before travel back to the states or Jo'Berg or Cape Town. I was upgraded to the suites, the dinner was fabulous, the location was great and the service was wonderful. Internet access, parking and lodging was superior. Food was excellent. I recommend the kingclip fish.

The rooms and lodge are in excellent condition. It's very romantic but also a nice place to end the trip. Very refreshing and within 500 yards of one of the main entrance gates to kruger national park.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bugga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2007

We stayed 3 nights at Pestana. Our friends had a standard room which was not very nice, so we were happy that we had booked a luxury room. The room was quite spacious and had a view over the Korkodile River, where we saw krokodiles the whole day, and at one point lots of elephants. The bathroom needed a revamp, and also the carpet was full of marks. The matrass was very good, and the linen as well, but the duvet was very thin and did not feel nice.
There is aircon in every room, as well as TV, minibar and hair-dryer, even the standard rooms.
Breakfast was all right, if something was finished they didn't refill, and there was only 1 tiny fruit salad in a region that has so many fresh fruits to offer.
Service was very good, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
In the restaurant, they switched the aircon on heating when it was hot, and on cooling when it was cold, and it was quite difficult to make them understand how it was supposed to work.
The food was above expectation, we didn't eat from the buffet, although it looked quite nice. The a la carte menu was very good with great salads. Wine list was very disappointing, only 3 wines.
The cushions at the swimming pool where far beyond their time, as the inside came out of their covers.
There is a computer with internet in the reception room for guests free of use, and they also have wireless internet if you have your laptop with you.
I would recommend Pestana especially to people with children, and I would probably return.
Pestana is less than 1 km. from the Kruger Park entrance gate, so keep in mind that you have to pay your daily entrance fee (R30 per person for south africans and R120 p.p. for overseas).

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mellissa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
2.7 mi away
Kruger View Chalets
Kruger View Chalets
#3 of 11 in Malelane
114 reviews
6 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
371 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#3 of 12 in Malelane
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 37 in Marloth Park
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Selati 103 Guest Cottages
Selati 103 Guest Cottages
#5 of 12 in Malelane
53 reviews
23.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 178 in Kruger National Park
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Kruger Lodge

Address: R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malelane
Price Range: £93 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Kruger is a 4 star hotel, situated in South Africa just 70m from the Southern entrance to Kruger National Park and only 150m from Malelane Gate, one of the most important access point to the park. Is surrounded by marvelous gardens and offers a fantastic view of the Crocodile River, where hippos and several wildlife species can be seen. The hotel has many special facilities that includes two outdoor pools and one indoor pool, a restaurant and two bars and one SPA that offers a range of body treatments and a Turkish bath. The rooms have views over the river and gardens, decorated with African motifs. They all have balconies and internet Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Kruger Hotel Malelane
Pestana Kruger Lodge Malelane, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing