We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and good breakfast/dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malelane
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and good breakfast/dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family of four (two adults, children of 13 and 15) stayed at Pestana Kruger Lodge one week in July. Unfortunately, the first three nights vere unusual cold (-1 oC), so the rooms were a bit uncomfortable this period. However, I asked for extra blankets and they were delivered to our rooms promptly. The dining room was always warm and nice all the time. When the night temperature increased to a normal level, the rooms were very comfortable.

I am a bit surprised by some of the negative comments regarding the food. We experienced that the service was a bit slow when ordering lunch on the terrace, and that most of the dishes included french fries (which we are not that fond of). However, when we asked for something else instead of chips, the staff really made an effort serving us delicious sandwiches with more bread and salad. The breakfast and dinner buffet was always very delicious presented and contained a lot of different and tasty dishes. We really enjoyed eating there.

The view from the terrace was stunning, and we spent all our time not being on safari looking at the animals coming down to the river. Å perfect combination with a glass of wine or cold sparkling water.

Room Tip: The upgraded room have a fantastic view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ifsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback from your stay with us. I am very pleased that our service and the food and beverages met the standards you expected.

I will pass on your comments to the kitchen staff who are in the process of preparing a new menu for the lodge and will take your suggestions about the fries into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    137
    89
    33
    20
See reviews for
96
148
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Pestana the first week of July with a family member from Australia.
Our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable.
Geronimo,ladies at the front desk and the rest of the staff members were always friendly!
Rooms were clean,viewing deck lovely.
I would suggest that you look at the food at the diiner buffet.
We will return again.

Marieke Drawbridge,Randburg

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drawbridge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Marieke Drawbridge

Thank you for your very positive comments, I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable. Your feedback has been given to the staff and particularly Jeronimo.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stunning trees and beautifully maintained gardens.These are the only plus points at Pestana Kruger.The shoddy furniture everywhere needs a revamp; the staff certainly do not have the guest-relations training as in Kruger.And then the'food'.Oi.As a South African I was truly concerned about the impression the numerous foreign guests were gaining about South African cuisine.Very poor standards in this department- limp lettuce and yesterday's old fruit salad- Aikona!!!
Lilli (Western Cape)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LillianvonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Lillian

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us last week. I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding poor material and service standards at our property.

My sincere apologies for this unsatisfactory experience, your observations have been noted and will be conveyed to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malelane hotels

East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The buildings and the site of this hotel are very nice, and the terrace overlooking the Crocodile River allows you to watch crocodiles and hippos as you have your breakfast. But the food at the evening buffet was poor and bland and expensive, the staff were disorganized, the rooms were poorly serviced and fittings often didn't work. You got the feeling that the management had given up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rodbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mr Bally

Thank you for your review of our property. Please accept my apologies that your experience was not to the standard you had expected.

Having recently taken over management of this property I can assure you that Management have not given up; I will be addressing your concerns with all staff as a matter of priority and initiate the necessary re-training where required to ensure that standards reflect that of a Pestana property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We were thoroughly underwhelmed. Showers were cold, plugs didn't work, food was really bland. The dinner staff were also really unhelpful. Very disappointing for something that calls itself four star. But the one definite plus is the scenery. There is a lovely view of the river from the dining hall.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Louise B

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Pestana Kruger Lodge, I am very disappointed that standards were clearly not what you expected of a 4 star establishment. Please accept my sincere apologies for these service failures. I would be very grateful if you could contact myself at the Lodge (kruger.lodge@pestana.com) for further detail regarding your complaints so I can address these specifically as a matter of urgency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is ideal for a getaway to be away from it all. Perfect for couples or with a family . So close to kRUGER you can walk over the bridge to the entrance. Overlook the river and into Kruger. Very well kept gardens and safe to walk around. Staff all very friendly and wiling to help. Food excellence , the dinners were really something special especially the lamb chops and a chicken dish. Nothing to small and if not on the menu they will do it for you, I asked for oats and got it tasefully done. We picked up some weight . A few swimming pools to relax and cool down. Perfect place to have sundowners. on the deck overlooking Kruger and sunset.

Car washed after day in Kruger on the sand roads, car looked brand new again. Was a surprize. There is a company on site that does trips into Kruger and offers a day trip if you dont have a car or want someone to drive you around.

Down side - rooms needs a bit of attention , TV fuzzy in both rooms. Knob off cupboard kept falling off. Soapdish very loose on the bath. Stain on the carpet.

Also we celebrated our wedding annerversiry and birthday while there , nothing was mentioned or even a little letter althought they new about it. Was a dissapointment . So dont bother if it is a special occassion to mention it on the form.

We stayed in both the delux and standard room. To be honest I think the standard room was better. Rooms were cleaned very well and the public restrooms very well kept. Shower in the standard room very nice as you could look out through the window , the top part. They turned down the beds every night .

All in all I would recommend it and go back again.

Room Tip: If you go for the standard room dont do room 402 , lovely tree which blocks the view of the river .H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianpat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay with us, I will be sharing your comments with the staff who do appreciate positive feedback.
Your observations regarding maintenance in the rooms has been noted; we will attend to these immediately. My apologies that no notice was taken of your Wedding Anniversary and Birthday whilst staying with us, I will be addressing this service failure with the reservations and reception staff.
Regarding the tree which blocks one's view of the Crocodile River; we have recently cleared large sections of the bush in front of the bedrooms in order to enhance the view of the river but just could not bear to cut down such a beautiful tree as I'm sure you will understand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My 4th visit to this hotel which lost the wonderful manager Mary at the end of December. During our visit both managers were off duty - 'cats away - mice play"!
First of all the 'good'. Rooms, grounds, cleaning. location , views, reception & bar staff

Not so good. Food - Buffet style with nobody managing. Deserts being picked up with guests fingers - despite being a warm evening no cooling table or ice underneath causing the trifle, tiramasu & cakes a squigy mess, the cheese was curling ( same for 3 nights).

Breakfast on over the weekend - arrived at 0945 to be told they were closing at 1000 and we were just in time - 1 sausage, 2 pieces of bacon - burners removed so remaining food was now cold. I asked for fresh to be cooked as the closing time was 1030 , blank looks all around. I then noted that staff were arriving and being given freshly cooked food at which point we complained - the receptionist came over as did the assistant maintenance manager to calm the situation and problems. The burners re-appeared as did fresh food. Too late breakfast ruined.
We pre-booked a table to be laid outside (warm evening) not arranged - they hastily prepared for us.
The deck is the jewel in the crown and should be utilised all day, create an African Bush experience with cosy basket furniture instead of glass tables and iron chairs. Sun loungers overlooking the croc river. Sundowners between 6-7 - divine!

I must add that the maintenance manager came to our room and apologised for the kitchen staff, stating they were all on warnings? A barman called computer was also charming.

Sad that such a stunningly located hotel is not being utilised to its full potential.

Room Tip: Deluxe River View - Downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familybrown176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mrs Brown,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Pestana Kruger Lodge. I am very pleased to hear your positive comments regarding the rooms, grounds, cleaning, location views, reception & bar staff.

I am however very disappointed to hear that the Restaurant staff have let the side down in my absence. There can be no excuses for these poor standards of material and personal service and I will be addressing these with the relevant Management.

My sincere apologies for these service failures, this is not the standard to which we aspire and I will be taking the apprpriate action to ensure that this is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
3.0 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#3 of 11 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.3 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
17.9 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 30 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
23.2 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#78 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Kruger Lodge

Property: Pestana Kruger Lodge
Address: R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded TGCSA 4-star, Pestana Kruger Lodge is situated 700 meters away from Malelane Gate, the most southern entrance to the Kruger National Park. The Lodge is surrounded by 22ha of indigenous gardens and bush with magnificent views of the Crocodile River, which forms the border with the Kruger National Park. Accommodation comprises 74 well-appointed rooms, all with modern facilities. The Lodge is a great choice for families wanting a relaxing holiday in the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Kruger Hotel Malelane
Pestana Kruger Lodge Malelane, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing